We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“American Retro Hangout”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Atomic Pizza

Atomic Pizza
Ranked #172 of 627 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $23
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: An out of this world, some may say unique place for dinner. Come and feast your eyes and bellies on this retro pop culture pizza pad.We are related to the fabulous Atomic Burger, just down the road with a bit more space (and a fab party room)As Bones McCoy once said..It's Pizza Jim, but not as we know it
Headington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“American Retro Hangout”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We've been here a few times and never had a bad meal. The menu is american retro inspired by comic, film & gaming characters. For example the margarita pizza is called the Pac Man. It has a 70's/ 80's feel and the place is adored with retro toys and posters. Basically it takes you back to your childhood and if you have kids they love it too as they relate to Scooby Doo, Star Wars, Mario etc. The food is actually good. The pizzas are well made with a thin crispy base and the burgers are big and juicy. The chicken wings are a little on the small side but tasty. It's a really fun place to go for American food and milkshakes and the service is helpful and friendly. Take the kids, or just take the kid in you.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank winkywonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    76
    46
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

We have been to the sister restaurant atomic burger before, but this was closed so we dicided to go a bit further up the Cowley road and try this one.. Wednesday night and a good few were in but not full.
We had the starter of Buffalo Wings (chicken wings), it said on the menu they were hot, but these were just smoothered in a chilli sauce with nother other flavour.. So bad we did not eat them all (very unusual for us) next came the burgers... Mine was a double stack one and was great... I can not knock it, but my wifes was a mexican themed one with refried beans... Nothing but the taste of that chilli sauce again.. Not very good.
I order chilli garlic frys with my burger.. These were really bad, just fries with a chilli garlic salt seasoning sprinkled in large quantities over the top.. Most of those were left as well. 100mtrs down the road is a little noodle place called RedStar, these guys do brilliant chilli garlic chips, i suggest you send your chefs down there to see how it should be done... Overall, wont be going back there......

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious pizzas and burgers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

I cannot recommend this place enough if you're looking for pizza or burgers in Oxford! My husband and I moved from the U.S. to Cowley for a few years and ate Atomic Pizza at least once a week. All the pizzas are delicious and they have such creative menu items. My husband loves trying the monthly Joker special burgers but I have a soft spot for the Lost Boys pizza! The staff are fantastic as well and always fun to chat with. We will miss this place the most out of everything in Oxford now that we have moved back to the U.S. We love you Atomic!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best burger in Oxford!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Loved the burgers and fries and there is a great range to choose from. Pizzas are great too! Quirky fun atmosphere and good service. The coleslaw is delicious. Try the lagerita!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank OxfordBecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A very quirky place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is definitely something outside of the norm. The staff are friendly if occasionally a bit OTT in that over-friendly, hyper-American way. However the food is always good, definitely different and the décor is loads of fun. I'd definitely recommend booking as this place is hugely popular and gets busy fast!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mdf500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atomic Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Atomic Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing