We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian on Cowley Road”
Review of Majliss

Majliss
Ranked #146 of 629 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Indian on Cowley Road”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Whether you're eating in or getting take away, you will be guaranteed an amazing meal. Best food I've had down Cowley Road - try the Chicken Tikka Masala, it's amazing! The staff are always happy to chat, and it has a really nice atmosphere inside. Nearly always busy, even during the week. Make sure to book at weekends. Love it!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    35
    15
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We tried the majliss restaurant for the first time on a saturday night last week.
Wish we'd have tried it sooner! The service was excellent, the starters and mains were absolutely delicious, we had samosa, labra kebab and chicken tikka starters, mains of Dopiaza, Honey Duck and Garlic Chicken, we were all swapping dishes and thought they were all superb, the Honey duck was tried by our 12 year old and it was exquisite.

we will definitely be back

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nobberOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best Indian restaurant ever!”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Recently discovered this fantastic restaurant. Elegant decor, welcoming staff, extensive menu, not expensive. We love it . Given a bottle of wine, beautifully wrapped on husband's birthday.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ventureaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“One to return to”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

The decor here is crisp, clean and modern -- and the cooking matches it. The chefs have a delicate touch which allows the full flavours of the individual dishes to come through. The service was friendly and efficient. Very pleased to have found it -- will be returning soon.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheddar111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service, Great Prices”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We booked a table in advance as there was 5 of us on a Saturday night on Cowley Road - and glad we did.

The menu offers a fantastic variety of dishes, from the classic curry house favourites to other new and exciting dishes that I had not seen on other indian restaurant menu's. Between the 5 of us we got a good variety of what the menu had to offer and it came to about £15 each (that's also with each of us having an alcoholic drink). The Naan bread is fresh and the keema Naan is full of meat. The curries are full of flavour and some of them quiet spicy.

Though it was busy the atmosphere was nice and you didn't feel like you had to shout above each other to get heard, the service was quick and our waiters were very accommodating.

My boyfriend woke up the next morning and first thing he said was 'I'm so glad I found a good curry house in Oxford - that's one less problem to worry about'

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugMandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Majliss also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Majliss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing