We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, lovely people”

Yeti Nepalese Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 628 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $23
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Yeti Nepalese Restaurant is situated on the vibrant Cowley Road, Oxford. We are small family run business with passion of excellent customer services and delicious foods, where our customers to feel they are visiting family home not a restaurant. We always use fresh ingredients with Nepalese herbs & spices to give excellent taste in our foods. We are proud to serve authentic Nepalese cuisine to our customers in our restaurant. Our food is based on "Eat Healthy" concept and our contemporary dining atmosphere offers comfortable sitting for families and groups. We are the proud Winner of Oxfordshire Restaurant Awards 2013 and 2015 in Asian category.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely food, lovely people”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We dined here last night. I must admit when the taxi drew up we were a bit dubious as the outside of the restaurant doesn't do the place justice. Walking through the door we were reassured as it was very busy, good job we had booked!
The staff were very friendly, the lady especially. We ordered a selection of Nepalese food, having never eaten it before. I would recommend the lamb Moma. It was all very tasty and had an abundance of flavours. All reasonably priced too!
If I visited Oxford again I would come back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TraceyAnnT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    502
    137
    36
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The extra mile”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We're working our way through the list of restaurants in Oxford and really liked Yeti. The sign outside doesn't do it justice and needs to be updated to reflect the quality food, different menu and friendly service. The staff went the extra mile which stands this restaurant apart from the restaurant chains in the city centre.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaHutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Home delivery service”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Ordered a home delivered meal recently for myself and my parents. Extensive menu with variety of food. Very friendly, efficient service. Arrived within the specified time, despite being a busy Saturday night. Food was tasty and plentiful. Would definitely use again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marcellCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food, great service!”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

If you visit Oxford and want to try somewhere different, please visit Yeti Nepalese. The service and food was excellent. Mumma Yeti (we didn't get her real name) is a really friendly lady.

We wanted to try something different, so had all Nepalese cuisine. The Lamb Moma (dumplings) were lovely and so was the king prawn starter. We tried the spicy meatballs which were big and stuffed with apricots. The sauce was a bit too spicy for us but lovely, as was the Lamb curry we ordered. The Gurkha beer is really tasty and goes very well with the meal. We had Jeera rice (cumin seed) and a Dall which was found a little salty but tasty. Overall the food was well spiced and very tasty.

We were also given a complimentary spinach dish which was really delicious.

When our waitress found it out it was our anniversary and my Birthday the next day she gave us some confetti for the table, and at the end of the meal they staff sang Happy Birthday and gave us a lovely Chocolate cake! Unfortunately we had eaten so much we couldn't make our way through the whole cake so we had a little bit and offered it back to the staff as an after work treat!

The restaurant is about a 20 minute walk from the city-centre, down Cowley Road but there are loads of pubs and bars to stop off at along the way.

We can highly recommend this restaurant for anybody wishing to try something different and be well fed !!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JemnTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Nepalese food 101...fail”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I went to this restaurant because it ranked so highly in the Trip Advisor list. I'm sorry to say this, but this was one of the worst dining experiences for me this year. The worst was a chilli at a Little Chef somewhere on the road to Stonehenge, the other one was a Carluccio's in Pinner where I got food poisoning. Yeti was the third worst.

I ordered the lamb momos. They were so bland that I had to ask for salt. I also had some specialty lamb chops, they had a lot of seasoning, but no meat. The waiters took soooo long to bring any of the food that I was given an extra plate of dahl. Once I got the lamb chops, there was no meat. The dipping sauce tasted like marshmallows. Weird. I'm sorry that I ate here. This restaurant gives Nepalese food a bad name.

The staff was attentive and friendly, so I feel bad writing a negative review. But the honest truth is that the food was barely edible. After the meal I bought myself some crisps because I was still hungry...

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Lawrence23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxfordSam, Manager at Yeti Nepalese Restaurant, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Lawrence23,

We are very disappointed to see your review about our restaurant. We know we not 100% all the times, but we have been doing our best to make our customers happy and make them feel welcomed by us.

In your case, after reading the review we have done our investigation to found out what went wrong. We have noticed from the beginning that you were not happy to sit on that particular table. May be that was the reason which prompted you to write such a low rated review, we don't know. Lamb momos are one of the best selling foods since we opened our restaurant almost Three years ago. We haven't had any complain for the quality of the momo so far. You said you had to ask salt to get the taste of the momos, but that was not the case. We asked our staffs but they said you did not make any request for salt.

You had ordered lamb chops and Nan bread which is dry dish. Our staff advised you about that while taking order. That is why we gave you complimentary dall. They are both tandoori items. We don't know how expert you are on Nepalese cuisine. There is no indication of your expertise. But one thing makes us very proud is we are contributing to spread our Nepalese tastes all over the Oxford and beyond, it's not like you think we are giving bad name to Nepalese foods. These type of comments hurts us. You did finish all your foods, but you are now saying the food was barely edible, you had to buy packet of crisp. We don't have any idea how could you write such low graded comment after eating all the foods. We asked you few times while you were eating, you said everything was fine. If you had any issue with the food quality you could have mention to our staff. We would be happy to change your food. But you left after eating all your foods and wrote this negative review.

We believe that the food was not only issue for you to write one of the worst negative review for us so far. May be you were upset with some other reason . We don't know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yeti Nepalese Restaurant also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Yeti Nepalese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing