We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good and reasonably priced Nepalese food in Oxford”

Yeti Nepalese Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 637 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $23
Cuisines: Indian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Yeti Nepalese Restaurant is situated on the vibrant Cowley Road, Oxford. We are small family run business with passion of excellent customer services and delicious foods, where our customers to feel they are visiting family home not a restaurant. We always use fresh ingredients with Nepalese herbs & spices to give excellent taste in our foods. We are proud to serve authentic Nepalese cuisine to our customers in our restaurant. Our food is based on "Eat Healthy" concept and our contemporary dining atmosphere offers comfortable sitting for families and groups. We are the proud Winner of Oxfordshire Restaurant Awards 2013 and 2015 in Asian category.
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Very good and reasonably priced Nepalese food in Oxford”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

A great informal restaurant with attentive and friendly service and very good Nepalese food on the Cowley Road in Oxford. Varied menu gives the opportunity to try a number of unique and tasty dishes, drawing influences and flavours from a wider range of South Easta Asian cuisines than a regular Indian restaurant. Prices very good too with bill coming to £43 for 2 people having 2 starters, 2 main courses, 2 vegetable side dishes, rice and bread, all washed down with 2 pints of draught Cobra and a mango lassi!
Stand out dishes were both starters/sides, but may also be available as mains. Khasi Chhyola, which was shredded lamb with a nicely balanced blend of aromatic spices, mustard heat and lemon and herbs (coriander and mint), along with Bhute Ko Kera which was fried plantain with a great texture (soft but crunchy), balanced with mild Keralan style spices (curry leaf, mustard seeds) tomatoes and onions. Both of these were truly unique and delicious.
Chicken Momo (spicy dumplings) with mild achar (pickle), Masu Aloo (lamb and potatoes with a good tangy flavour and nice heat build at the end, Malekhu Machha (salmon tikka in a sweet and tangy sauce flavoured with Himalayan pepper, which is similar to szechuan) and Bodi Tama Aloo (black eyed beans, bamboo shoots, and potatoes in a spicy tomato sauce) were also very good.
We very much enjoyed our lunch (and we had plenty to take away for another meal after this huge feed) and will definitley return as we have only scratched the surface of the extensive menu. They also have regular Indian dishes available as well though if you are feeling less adventurous.
Parking can be tricky but do ask the staff who will help you to find a legal spot for your vehicle in this busy area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 342SteveO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    537
    138
    36
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Unbelievable food, so flavoursome!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Myself and my boyfriend ate at Yeti on a Sunday evening, and couldn't have been happier. The service was impeccable- attentive but not awkward service, and unbelievable food. So flavoursome, fresh, tender, and well-presented.
Wouldn't hesitate to go back- it may even be our new favourite!
Perfect!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThisIs_LJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely atmosphere and service, great food”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We enjoyed a gorgeous meal here. The service was fabulous - particularly from the lady at front of house. The menu is varied and not over priced.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice food and atmosphere”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Good flavours and relaxing atmosphere, although tables close together and probably lively when busy. Food portions could have been bigger.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xxReviewerxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant on earth”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

It's been 2 years and 5 month since Yeti opened its door and we started our affair with this amazing restaurant. We love this place so much that we choose here most of the time (I'd say about 85%) rather than anywhere else when we want to dine out, and we cannot recommend Yeti enough.

The food is super delicious - by now we have tried most of their Nepalese speciality dishes (apart from very spicy ones) and every time, everything is cooked to perfection. It's always difficult to choose from the big selection. We particularly love Lamb Momo so we always order those gorgeous dumplings for a starter. Chicken and Lamb are always wonderfully tender, and their vegetarian options are great too. They use relatively small amount of oil in their curries so it's healthier too!

The staff is fantastic. The owner couple will make you feel special every time, and we've also got to know other staff members so it's really like visiting a friends' house for a meal. Their friendliness, kindness and politeness are just perfect. We enjoy chatting with the staff every time.
I like the fact that they keep the restaurant (including toilets) very clean all the time.

It's not expensive either (especially considering the fact that they are so generous and often give you complimentary dishes and drinks).

Seriously, we cannot ask for more. Make sure you book (or go very early) on weekend evenings!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lilafeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yeti Nepalese Restaurant also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Yeti Nepalese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing