We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SoJo

SoJo
Ranked #52 of 622 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Always Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We go here at least once a month and it is consistantly good - I recomend the salt and pepper squid and the clay pot chicken.The service is excellent too. Booking is necessary though as they are always busy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SamJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    127
    42
    9
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham
Level Contributor
92 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We arrived at six thirty on Saturday night to see they were already fully booked (good job we had booked in advance!) which was a good sign, very friendly maitre de met us and gave us a table and when we explained we had to get to the theatre in an hour she went out of her way to help us get fed and out quickly. Same we had to be so quick however as the food was divine, both my partner and I are now discussing traveling an hour one night to go back and have longer there. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dorisandthehoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Bad food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Just faty and bad quality and poor combination. Maybe it is just what we ended choosing among the 500 dishes list but it was terrible. Now i feel sick and fat, even though i had only one dish. Staff was friendly enough.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PhafaLeHardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Food Outside China”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I have now been to this amazing Chinese eatery twice, it's over 400 miles from home so not just round the corner, and have to say it is magnificent. Having been to China and experienced the real deal so to speak, this is the most authentic Chinese I have eaten since there. Yes you can have the usual British taste Chinese like sweet and sour etc, but hey be brave and go for something totally different and out with your comfort zone, you will not be disappointed I promise

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Graeme2701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaziabad, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Decided to go here for my birthday dinner. It was amazing.. especially the salt and pepper squid..I am surprised how i missed this place last 3 years in Oxford... Will definitely go again... seating was a bit crowded.. staff was very friendly and we enjoyed our meal thoroughly.. the dishes are marked according to spice level..even though i eat very spicy food the 2 chilli rating was extremely spicy for me.. so will go for the less spice version on my next visit.. huge menu is another plus! :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ankita189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SoJo also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to SoJo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing