We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive staff serving great food.”
Review of Dong Dong Noodle House - CLOSED

Dong Dong Noodle House
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Attentive staff serving great food.”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

I've never had a bad meal here. Always decent portions and hot tasty food. The staff are always attentive and friendly. Good, honest food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank compound1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    31
    9
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Food was beautiful and well executed. The staff were attentive and friendly. Wonderful ambience and we will definitely be returning.

Helpful?
Thank LottieDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“2 out of 5 food hygiene rating.”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

So at last dong dong have gone from 0 out 5 to 2 out of 5 food hygiene rating. Why???

This place has potential to be a nice place so why on earth don't they sort out their hygiene issues whatever they are?

Helpful?
1 Thank Londondiners999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisin669, Manager at Dong Dong Noodle House, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Hi,

With your negative review regarding to our hygiene rate, I would like to take this opportunity to clarify to you. The sole reason of the 2 star rate is because of the structural issue to our kitchen. Health and safety officer advise us the change all the flooring and wall tiles since some are cracked. Since this involve a substantial investment, we are not generating fund to do so and are planing to carry out the renovation of the kitchen in the near future. Apart from the structural and hardware issue, we have received quite a good feedback from our annual health and safety check. We were advise that we could get 4/5 stars if the building isn't that old. I hope all our customers can understand this has no direct relation to the general hygiene of our catering process. We have actually followed all of the instruction from local health and safety officer, such as staff training, hazard analysis, temperature records etc.

We would also like to point out that user of the trip adviser provide review to establishments should be basing on their experience with their visit, such as food quality and service. If it's only basing on national rating from the Internet, perhaps you should only go to big chain restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delish”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I loved the food at the Dong Dong noodle house, so much I went back 2 days later, and the service was excellent. I liked the atmosphere in the restaurant.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Very good - knocks the Red Star Noodle bar off its perch”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Excellent and friendly service, pleasant atmosphere and very good food. Would have rated excellent but for two minor blemishes - a slightly over vinegared hot and sour soup and a rather tired, tasteless apple in the toffee apple pudding.

Helpful?
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dong Dong Noodle House also viewed

Sandford-on-Thames, Oxford
 
Stanton Saint John, Oxford
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing