We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, shame about the breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oxford Spires Hotel
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Godalming, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great service, shame about the breakfast”
Reviewed January 25, 2011

This modern hotel is very convenient for the main shops and Ashmolean Museum (10-15 mins walk). We received a warm welcome and efficient service from all staff including reception, bar and restaurant. The restaurant was spotless with plenty of room/tables; dinner was of reasonable quality with a varied wine list. A nice large (clean) bedroom with comfy bed and good shower. The only real downside was the overpriced and overcooked breakfast; a common problem with buffet food that has been standing for too long.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank contact_kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    703
    378
    118
    41
See reviews for
230
823
44
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Stopped at the Four Pillars for a getaway weekend. Easy to get to from the Oxford ring road after a pleasant drive through the Cotswolds. Hotel looked very impressive from the outside even though it was dark when we arrived. Plenty of parking space and no extra charges for this which is great in Oxford. Check in was very quick and efficient with the staff being very helpful. We upgraded on arrival to a bigger room with balcony. The room was a perfect size for 2 and the balcony was much lager than expected. We were south facing so I can imaging it would be lovely in the Summer. Views were very nice and the road noise was minimal.

The fixtures and fitting in the room were the usual hotel type - everything you needed but not a lot of character. Everything was very clean and the only small gripe was that there were a couple of broken tiles in the bathroom which didnt look very nice. The bed was firm and very comfortable. 8 channels on the TV including a couple of Sky ones. We also had free Wi-fi during our stay and complimentary newspapers.

Included in the price was a 3 course meal and breakfast on both days. Ate on the Friday night and the food was exceptionally good. My husband said it was one of the best steaks he had every eaten! Service was quick and very helpful. Full English Breakfasts were very good as well, especially the quality of the sausages. Plenty of fruit, cereal, yoghurt etc but the continental offering was rather sparse. Having said that there was plenty of choice and everything was fresh and appetising.

We used the leisure centre on both days and found the gym perfectly ok for all round fitness. The pool was lovely and warm and very clean. Changing rooms clean if a little crowded at times.

The thing that impressed us most though was the staff. Everyone was really friendly and made us feel very welcome. They all come across as being very proud of their hotel which was very refreshing.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artoisdobes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

We stayed here on a Saturday night in mid January. My husband's company booked the room for us as we were using it as a base to and from Le Manoir aux Quat Saisons.
Location is great for Oxford City Centre - about 10 minutes walk away but the hotel is set back from the road in parkland so you don't feel in the city centre.
We had a Connosieur room and this was a large room with all mod cons. Both the TV and bathroom were slightly dated but these are minor issues. I liked the fact there were plenty of toiletries, tea/coffee and a free mini bar (soft drinks only!). There were also bathrobes which are rare in most hotels I've stayed in recently.
We used the lounge bar in the evening which was pleasant enough with a large TV in the corner. We also used the pool/spa the next morning and found it very nice although rather warm!
Would recommend it as a base for Oxford or the surrounding area.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstycarter78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

The hotel is about a 15-20 minute walk from Old Tom in the centre of Oxford but there is a bus stop outside the hotel with regular buses. The hotel is off set from the street with a drive way.

The staff throughout our stay were very polite and helpful. Breakfast was the usual fare of buffet of cooked food and continental stuff and of reasonable quality. Our room was good size but a bit tired looking (it still had a CRT TV and a metal key for the door lock).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petebot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

+ Only 10/15 minutes walk by the river into oxford town centre.

+ Restaurant Food & Service was Fantastic

+ The Outside of the building looks very inviting

+ Plenty of Parking

- The room was terrible and a real let down - old worn out brown furniture that was more suited to a hostel or a boot sale, horrible dated old curtains and the bathroom had an old small bath with a panel that did not fit and mold in the grout etc etc. The whole interior of the building is 3* or less and if fully refurbished and modernised this hotel would be a real gem, as it is i would not return.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mralexandercooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Stayed here for a couple of nights whilst visiting family. Great location and easy to walk to town centre. That's the main advantage. Didn't use restaurant or bar area but bar didn't look very inviting and the TV was on the whole time. There seemed to be no atmosphere and it all looked very characterless. We chose this hotel as it has a pool and spa facilities, however, it was pretty dirty and didn't make you want to linger. Needs a revamp, the plastic seats in the steam room were cracked and dirty, the wood in the sauna was flaky and the changing rooms and showers weren't very nice at all. Plastic chairs in the pool area. Used the gym and that seemed fine. I read the reviews which mentioned excellent service but didn't really find this to be the case on our visit, though staff were polite and helpful enough. There was something about it which I found a bit spooky (I had a nightmare the first night I stayed there) and I didn't look forward to going back there at all, though clearly that is just my experience, not something others have mentioned!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaffidiGatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

The hotels location was perfect for getting in and out of the centre of Oxford. It's about a 10 Minute walk to the centre of Oxford, with a whole bunch of nice restaurants and pubs along the way. The price for a room was not bad at all, for what you were getting. Oh yes and there breakfasts are really good and all of the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnyPrinsloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
2.1 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
2.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Spires Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Spires Hotel

Property: Oxford Spires Hotel
Address: Abingdon Road, Oxford OX1 4PS, England (Formerly Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#9 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oxford Spires Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Oxford Spires Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Spires 4 Pillars Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing