We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oxford Spires Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newton House(Oxford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,965)
Filter reviews
1,965 results
Traveler rating
556
806
423
135
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
556
806
423
135
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseastwyke housefour pillarsleisure facilitieswalk along the rivertow pathleisure clubplenty of parkingminute walklarge hotelgood sizeabingdon roaddeluxe roomsteam roomweekend breaklovely hoteltown centrebuffet style
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,725 - 1,730 of 1,965 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2011

The hotel is about a 15-20 minute walk from Old Tom in the centre of Oxford but there is a bus stop outside the hotel with regular buses. The hotel is off set from the street with a drive way.

The staff throughout our stay were very polite and helpful. Breakfast was the usual fare of buffet of cooked food and continental stuff and of reasonable quality. Our room was good size but a bit tired looking (it still had a CRT TV and a metal key for the door lock).

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petebot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

+ Only 10/15 minutes walk by the river into oxford town centre.

+ Restaurant Food & Service was Fantastic

+ The Outside of the building looks very inviting

+ Plenty of Parking

- The room was terrible and a real let down - old worn out brown furniture that was more suited to a hostel or a boot sale, horrible dated old curtains and the bathroom had an old small bath with a panel that did not fit and mold in the grout etc etc. The whole interior of the building is 3* or less and if fully refurbished and modernised this hotel would be a real gem, as it is i would not return.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mralexandercooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Stayed here for a couple of nights whilst visiting family. Great location and easy to walk to town centre. That's the main advantage. Didn't use restaurant or bar area but bar didn't look very inviting and the TV was on the whole time. There seemed to be no atmosphere and it all looked very characterless. We chose this hotel as it has a pool and spa facilities, however, it was pretty dirty and didn't make you want to linger. Needs a revamp, the plastic seats in the steam room were cracked and dirty, the wood in the sauna was flaky and the changing rooms and showers weren't very nice at all. Plastic chairs in the pool area. Used the gym and that seemed fine. I read the reviews which mentioned excellent service but didn't really find this to be the case on our visit, though staff were polite and helpful enough. There was something about it which I found a bit spooky (I had a nightmare the first night I stayed there) and I didn't look forward to going back there at all, though clearly that is just my experience, not something others have mentioned!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaffidiGatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

The hotels location was perfect for getting in and out of the centre of Oxford. It's about a 10 Minute walk to the centre of Oxford, with a whole bunch of nice restaurants and pubs along the way. The price for a room was not bad at all, for what you were getting. Oh yes and there breakfasts are really good and all of the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnyPrinsloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2010

We had a one night stay at the hotel, which was just fantastic. We had been upgraded to a large room with sofas and a balcony allowing wonderful views of the grounds.

The hotel is a 15 min walk to Oxford city centre so very convenient for leaving your car at the hotel. There are also plenty of buses to and from the hotel into town.

We used the leisure facilities twice, although the swimming pool is small it has a lovely jacuzzi plus steam and sauna rooms.

Dinner at the hotel was just fantastic. We had a three course meal with plenty of choice and it was super tasty!

I was so impressed with this hotel and would definitely go back again. Superb!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missD07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews