We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Things are looking up...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oxford Spires Hotel
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Things are looking up...”
Reviewed November 18, 2010

Almost a year ago I wrote that the 'Spires was akin to an Extinct Volcano... well, it seems things are afoot to improve, judged from my recent stay ...the Volcano is awakening perhaps.

Noticeable improvements (that I bemoaned the lack of, last time) include free internet and common areas beginning to be updated and refreshed. The builders were in during my stay (mid-November 2010) - but importantly didn't disrupt my stay.

From my experience, this is a hotel that offers easy access, free parking, some very spacious rooms, with decent bathrooms, an indoor pool and basic small gym, reasonable bar, and agreeable breakfast service all for reasonable room rates. And free internet of course.

They still have a few bizarre detail things to sort such as an exec room with a king size bed but which is two single beds pushed together yet with two single duvets(!) atop, or the huge bathroom that has no lighting in the shower-over-bath area(!) or the shower curtain that is only 750mm wide(!) and still the proverbial mould around the bath. Nearly there...

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManOnAMissi0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    722
    392
    120
    41
See reviews for
238
860
45
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2010

Stayed here two nights for a 35 year reunion with my old uni mates. In my view, this hotel is ideal only for short stay occasions like this. I had the sense of being in a library rather than a hotel when walking through corridors, the ambience being one of polite silence. Our room was small, and plainly decorated, but clean and well maintained. The bathroom was clean, but the hot water was scalding and I wondered why it had to be so, in this green age. The parking facilities were also good, but on the night we arrived I think we were lucky to find a space as the car park was full. New buildings in a historic town like Oxford are bound to be compared to the city's beautiful architecture, but this hotel does look out of place looking more like a motel (remember Crossroads motel?) than a four star hotel. The immediate surroundings were of a neglected, overgrown field as you exit the hotel to get to the main road. On the plus side, the food and service was good with friendly, helpful staff. For some reason, though, I found it difficult to sleep at night as did one of my colleagues. City centre is as close as other reviewers have said, so no clambering on and off buses. I also agree with others that a four star status for this hotel is too high. We paid a £90 deposit earlier on in the year and then another £198 for the two nights, two meals and two full English breakfasts included. However, I was rather put out that we had to pay extra for our drinks with our meals and other bits and pieces. We didn't use any amenities such as the pool, but I still do not agree with a friend of mine we met at the reunion that it is good value for money, forking out around £300 in total for two nights. To be fair others, including my wife, found the hotel very good. In short and in my view, the good points of the hotel outlined above does not justify the price we paid. If you can find comparable cheaper accomodation near to the city centre, I would invite you to seriously consider this alternative. Pros: Ideal location form Oxford. Pleasant, friendly staff and food was good.
Cons: Pricey. Decor dated, albeit pleasant. Bland surroundings.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASuperGav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2010

We stayed for a couple of nights earlier this monthand were glad it wasn't any longer, mainly because of the noise. Our room was on the first floor.

The staff were fine, the situation of the hotel was ok (about 10/15 minutes walk to the centre of Oxford), the room was clean and well presented, the bed was fairly comfortable (apart from the pillows), lovely hot shower, breakfast was fair to middling and there was plenty of car parking space.

But, unfortunately, there was building work going on and being greeted with a skip by the front entrance wasn't too welcoming, nor was the sound of driiling while we sat and had a coffee. Noise seemed to be a problem, and not just with the builders. The hotel seemed quite full and we were woken up after midnight by people coming and going, banging doors and talking in neighbouring rooms and along the corridor. The same thing happened In the morning. We were again woken up just after six o clock with the same problems plus the sounds of televisions, showers, talking and general movement. Perhaps we should have asked for another room for the second night. We didn't because we thought the first night might have been a one off. It wasn't.

A few other guests that we spoke to said they had no problems of that kind where they were - in the more remote parts of the building. It didn't make us feel any better. Perhaps it was just a bit of bad luck being given a room on the first floor - but having paid a not inconsiderable amount for a decent room it was hardly value for money.

So, if you want a decent sleep, a room on the first foor of this hotel might be a bit chancy.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bajesma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2010

The hotel is a short walk from the city centre, set in fields near the river (Thames). The hotel is pleasant enough but not special. Rooms are a reasonable size, but the decor is plain. The food quality does not match the rating for the hotel - tinned grapefruit, cheap sausages and poor quality plastic wrapped cheese portions. Staff are very courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyReview186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
434 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2010

My husband and I have wanted to visit Oxford for some time and chose the Oxford Spires as a quality, well-located hotel.
Reception, bar and restaurant staff were welcoming, friendly and efficient, and the quality of the breakfast and bar food was good.
Our room was huge with a large bathroom, both immaculately clean, and a lack of towels was speedily rectified.
My husband was delighted with the ample free parking, a major consideration in Oxford.
We were well able to walk the distance into Oxford and back, but older residents may have struggled and might have believed the hotel was nearer the city centre than it is.
My only criticism, if it can be considered a criticism, is that the hotel is short on character if you are choosing it as a tourist.
But it is ideal for the business traveller, and there were many there during our stay, with a conference and a dinner taking place.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittyginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

We stayed one night in the Oxford Spires Four Pillars for a stop from Wales to London.
Its a bit outside of Oxford center and it takes you 15-20 minutes to walk into the town. A busstop is near the hotel, but we did not use it. Because of the location, it is a quiet place to stay.

The hotel is on an enclosed area with a lot of parking facilities. We stayed in room 8 which was spaceious and clean. From the standard that is provided, we would say this is at least what you can expect for the price. The stuff was friendly, but as we did not use any special service, we cannot say how helpful they are.

Free WiFi is provided, but only with a limited time and traffic package.

Breakfast is served as a British breakfast buffet, so you have the typical choise of coocked stuff. As usual for a buffet, you cannot gurantee that everything that should be hot is still hot...

Overall, the say was ok, but for the price, you could have expected a bit more.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoeNoeBaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

My wife and I had a lovely time staying at this hotel whilst attending a wedding there. It has ample parking and it is possible to walk into Oxford along the banks of the river. Our room was quite spacious and very clean. There is a health club where we both enjoyed a swim and several minutes in the steam room. Breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyGPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
2.1 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#12 of 44 in Oxford
1,070 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Spires Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Spires Hotel

Property: Oxford Spires Hotel
Address: Abingdon Road, Oxford OX1 4PS, England (Formerly Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#7 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oxford Spires Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Oxford Spires Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Spires 4 Pillars Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing