We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value leisure break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oxford Spires Hotel
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Good value leisure break”
Reviewed February 8, 2009

My wife and I went on a two night Leisure Break on January 30th.
The hotel is well maintained, the rooms more than adequate and the staff were friendly and efficient. The evening meals were tasty and the wine reasonably priced. The breakfast buffet offered a tremendous variety, I didn't need lunch after them.
The pool in the Spa was very pleasant although the staff were less than friendly, apparently we should 'come back later as the pool was busy', there were 4 people in it! Luckily there is a screen showing the pool so we just signed in and added 50% to the numbers. The jacuzzi was OK and you could basically get in when you wanted.
It took us 18 minutes to stroll into Oxford so the location is more than convenient.
Overall, a pleasant relaxing break, good value for money.

  • Liked — Hotel staff/service
  • Disliked — Spa staff
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Del-&-Mags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    722
    392
    120
    41
See reviews for
238
860
45
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2009

I have returned from a wonderful weekend at the Oxford Spires. The hotel is very, very nice and its location (10 mins walk from the city centre) is superb.

All aspects of the hotel were to a very high standard - cleanliness, friendliness and helpfullness of all staff and the quality of the food served in the Deacons Restaurant.

The only small disappointment was the size of the room. I booked the basic double room and although it was well appointed and very clean, it was smaller than expected - it would be worth an upgrade next time!

  • Liked — Comfort and location
  • Disliked — Small double room
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cosmicgirl-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2009

We stayed one night for a family reunion. Most things about the hotel were OK or better (see more below) with the major exception that I got a lousy night's sleep. Although we had paid for a 'connoisseur' , i.e. supposedly superior room, we only got a small bed (4'6") and no bedside table or lamps. We are both tall (though not wide!) and for part of the night were bumping into each other so much (unintentionally!) that I had to sleep on the floor - in a 4* hotel!!

The food however was good - an excellent dinner and good breakfast quality for the usual buffet items & the coffee.

Also the spa facility is good with a nice pool, jacuzzi, steam rooms & sauna. The treatments arewell priced. I wished I had booked a 30 min massage for £25, it would have loosened me up after a night on the carpet.

Considering the hotel was purpose built the design is very poor with miles of rambling corridors and unimposing public rooms

  • Liked — Check what size of bed you are getting!
  • Disliked — Lousy night's sleep
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbgeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2009

Inn is located 10 minutes walk from Oxford University, and is set back from the road. Room was spacious and comfortable, and the food was outstanding.

If you want to eat classic English food, you may find it difficult in London where restaurants are expensive and quality is iffy. So we usually eat middle Eastern, Chinese or Indian food in London. Oxford, on the other hand, is a great place for English food and drink. I recommend you try Hendrick's gin and tonic (usually served with a cucumber garnish).

  • Liked — comfort, cleanliness and good food
  • Disliked — Internet access is overpriced.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Artaficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagshot Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2009

We stayed for a New Year Break. We found the staff fantastic. They were polite, helpful and friendly. The room was good, we could have been the first people to have used the bathroom. It was fresh and very clean. Excellent toiletries, good tea making facilities, comfortable bed and a good sized room. The food was 1st class and the entertainment was very good. Disco on New Years Eve was superb. Cannot wait to return. Value for money.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank partypeople08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2008

Stayed here for one night while on a business trip to Oxford.

Overall, the hotel will do just fine, though certainly nothing extraordinary. As has been noted by other reviewers, I also noticed that the rooms were in need of a renovation, but to be fair, the bed is okay and I personally think that is the most important part! Plenty of hot water in the showers. Cleanliness OK. I thought the price okay for the location, really. An easy 10-15 minute walk to downtown oxford and shopping/dining. I previously stayed at the Oxford Mercure and this was certainly a better hotel for the money (I also reviewed that property).

The hotel has a pool and fitness area. The wierd thing about the locker rooms and pool area was that there was a really bad smell there. It smelled like body odour and smelly farts--I had to get out. It was like there wasn't any ventilation at all and the smell had built up. I also though the general cleaniness in the pool/locker room area left a lot to be desired but maybe I caught them on a bad day. I did use the gym and it was pretty well equipped--no complaints there (but I went back to my own rooms for a shower rather than use the locker room showers).

After reading the reviews of the food I was expecting the worst, but I thought the breakfast buffet to be good (I didn't eat dinner there though)--though not cheap at 13 pounds.

To sum up, not the best, not the worst. Hope the smell has improved in the pool area.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank american_expat_CPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2008

Having read the latest reviews we were a little worried about what we may find.But all was well.We stayed half board for 3 nights.The evening meal was very good for the price..limited choice but well cooked and hot.The staff were uber friendly and could not be faulted...especially Tiina (from Finland) in the restaurant.Everywhere was clean and the bed very comfortable.so good value all round

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
2.1 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#13 of 44 in Oxford
1,070 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Spires Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Spires Hotel

Property: Oxford Spires Hotel
Address: Abingdon Road, Oxford OX1 4PS, England (Formerly Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#8 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oxford Spires Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Oxford Spires Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Spires 4 Pillars Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing