We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oxford Spires Hotel
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
wales
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed August 9, 2008

Pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the nice setting of the hotel - set back from the road in its own grounds. It is much nicer than the pictures of the front suggest. Inside, you get a pleasing feeling of a large hotel with a foyer, bars, dining area etc. and the reception staff were most helpful. We arrived on a stifling hot day and were given room 405 which was directly over an extremely noisy air vent which would have been a nightmare with the window open (and was noisy enough with the window shut) but we were happily moved to a lovely, quiet four-poster room (217) with a great view looking out over fields. The bar area is pleasant enough, though drinks not cheap. Extremely easy to get into the city - there is a bus stop within feet of the hotel entrance, with buses going very regularly and really cheap and taking a matter of minutes to get to the centre. It is probably a 10 - 15 minute walk. Be careful getting the bus back as we didn't recognise our stop and got off 5 stops too late. Nice pool and jacuzzi helped make this a very relaxing stay. Breakfast was fine, though we chose not to eat here in the evening based on other reviews on this site. Also, there are some really good places to eat in Oxford that are worth checking out - Jamie's Italian is superb as is Wagamama's. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PipesWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    722
    393
    120
    42
See reviews for
238
860
45
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2008

I can see there are a few negative comments about this hotel, but the Oxford Spires is just right for tourists with ample parking. We had just come from staying at a delightful Wolsey Lodge B&B with a more personal service, but parking issues and with one mirror in the bathroom, not ideal for doing your hair or makeup. So I think this puts things in perspective. The Oxford Spires is a perfectly adequate hotel, 15 minutes walk into Oxford, with enough pubs to distract you (The Head of the River is ideal and also serves food). We didn't bother eating at the hotel, there are plenty of places in Oxford including a super Chinese called Shanghai '30s just up the road. The hotel bar service was good and friendly, as was checking in. We had a standard package and the breakfast was £15 each, which we bypassed. There are enough establishments in Oxford that will serve the first meal of the day, try Brasserie Chez Gérard in George Street, they open at 10.00 am and have an extensive menu at a fraction of the price plus veggie options.

  • Liked — The ample parking and the close proximity to Oxtford town centre.
  • Disliked — The price of breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dylan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2008

This hotel is slightly out of town, on the way to Abingdon, which suited us because we were working in Abingdon but may not be suitable for those wishing to actually stay in Oxford. That said, its only a 20 min walk into the town centre, and you can follow the river if you get off the main road which is a lot more pleasurable, weather depending!

Re the hotel, neither myself or my two work colleagues were impressed. Rooms are dated, and breakfast average. The hotel is out towards the countryside and I didn't get a mobile phone reception in my room, whilst wireless internet access was available but at a ludicrous £15 per day. How a hotel can justify this reckless profiteering is beyond me - although I was on expenses I couldn't bring myself to pay this, especially when 99% of the hotels I stay in allow internet access for free as they actually want to encourage guests to use their hotel.

The hotel also fails to offer a laundry service, or so I was told by one person on reception, subsequent discussion with a colleague revealing that a different had taken his shirts for pressing. Service is inconistent, although this is more due to staff not being properly trained or being too stretched rather than them not being nice.

In summary, look elsewhere first - there are better places, and if you do think you'll be using the internet, price an additional £15 per day into your budget.

  • Liked — There was very little to actually 'like'
  • Disliked — Dated rooms, lack of basic amenities (laundry, free internet), rip-off webaccess (£15 per day)
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bucko_globetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2008

I stayed here for a weekend in June. The hotel was clean and bright. Staff were very welcoming and helpful.
Our room was a connoisseur room and was good. Bathroom clean and efficient. Free mini bar.
There was a notice at reception warning that breakfast was very busy on saturday and sunday mornings. Our weekend deal included breakfast, so we opted to pay an extra £5 per day to have breakfast in our room. Glad we did, because the dining room looked small for the size of the hotel.
Would definitely stay again, but only on a special deal as the full price looks a bit steep (but is probably the average cost of a stay in Oxford.)

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happylassy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2008

This hotel is huge and lacks the personal touch, charm and friendliness you get with smaller establishements, but that's to be expected. The hotel itself is very clean and the staff are friendly in a 'professional' way. The bathroom in a standard room is a good size with a good power shower. The breakfast is good whichever option you choose. We didn't eat in the hotel for dinner as there are so many eateries in Oxford, but the hotel is perfectly situated to reach most parts of Oxford on foot for any site seeing during the day, and we paid a maximum of £5.00 for a taxi to the center on the evening. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, location
  • Disliked — Impersonnal
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wifey01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2008

When we arrived they had got our booking wrong, but they rectified their mistake by upgrading us to the honeymoon suite which was spacious and comfortable.
The nightmare started when we went down to dinner in the restaurant. The waitress couldn't undo the cork on the wine and then eventually split it. However she proceeded to serve us the wine with pieces of cork included.
Next came the starters - I had the calves liver which was very dry. For main we both had steak, which was very chewy and stringy. Flavour was OK but not great quality. The veg consisted of one potato and very undercooked broccoli, which was so undercooked that I struggled to even cut it with a steak knife.
For dessert we chose the 'selection of ice creams and sorbets'.
The waitress gave us no option for which ice cream we wanted. Indeed, the waitress did not speak English very well and the entire thing was a struggle for her.
When the desserts arrived they were both strawberry, chocolate and vanilla. No sign of any sorbets.
I asked the waitress where the sorbets were but she didn't understand me. She said she would go and ask. When she returned she told me that sorbets were frozen fruits.
I tried to explain that I knew exactly what sorbets were but enquired where they were. She went away agan to ask the chef. When she returned she gave no explanation but asked if I wanted another one. I asked what the chef had said and she said 'the chef said nothing'!
I then spoke with the manager who explained our waitress was new and needed training further. There was no real excuse for the poor food.
However, he was very polite and took the cost of the wine off the bill.
Breakfasts were OK, but the fried eggs were extremely hard and had been there ages. My husband tried to ask for runny fried eggs but they didn't understand him. Eventually, he explained that he wanted the yolk runny. When they brought them out, they were runny, but they had cut away all the whites around them, so all he got was a blob of yolk!
The language barrier is certainly an issue in the restaurant.

The food and service was so poor that we refused to eat there the second night.
However, the spa was quite nice and my husband had a massage which he said was excellent.
The beds were comfortable and overall the room was good apart from the fact that there was no air conditioning.
The food and service really spoilt the entire stay for us, but the location was good and the hotel was very clean.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samprice1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2008

A very nice hotel close to the City center. A nice pool and gym are available. The food in the weekend is poor, on sundayevening an mondaymorning it is better. We get a bit sick due to the food. So enjoy the hotel but eat outside

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WillemH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
2.1 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#13 of 44 in Oxford
1,072 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Spires Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Spires Hotel

Property: Oxford Spires Hotel
Address: Abingdon Road, Oxford OX1 4PS, England (Formerly Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#7 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oxford Spires Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Oxford Spires Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Spires 4 Pillars Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing