We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oxford Spires Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oxford Spires Hotel
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed here a couple of nights this week in a standard double room. Greeted by free car parking and friendly check-in staff. I emailed the hotel a few days before getting there to request a room on the top floor at the rear of the hotel, overlooking the fields. Room was larger than expected and the bathroom was so big I'm surprised the hotel didn't try and make another room out of it! Very comfortable bed and good noise insulation from other rooms.

Would have loved to award 5/5, however cannot owed to the presence of mould around the bath. Also, the window blinds are not great and allow a lot of light through.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel overlook the car park. Rooms at the rear overlook fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beaconoutbound16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    680
    371
    111
    40
See reviews for
220
778
40
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed here recently for one of my son's graduation. The hotel is very nice and we had great sized rooms which were clean and comfortable. Did not eat there, but had breakfast which was good in terms of quality of food. Service was a bit slow to get coffee though.

All in all I would recommend it. It is very easy to find and only a few pounds by taxi if you want to get to the centre quickly. Alternatively you can walk up the riverbank to the centre in about 15-20 minutes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishman101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

A quiet location with plenty of parking so close to the city. The large first floor room with a Juliet balcony had nice view across fields. Good pool for a quick swim, but small sauna, and closed steam room. Expensive for 1night , but so are the rest, had evening meal & breakfast in town,

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steven m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

A bit of mixed review for this busy hotel - a short walk from the Oxford town centre. Check in took quite a while as we noted that this is a popular hotel for weddings and their guests. Almost always a line at the front desk.
Getting to the room was a bit of a pill, going from the lobby thru sets of doors and corridors squishing past the housekeeping cart but the end result gave us a room with a peaceful setting and a view of a green pasture with grazing horses that would often come over to our window.
The room and bed were dated, tired but nice enough to not bother changing rooms -it would do.
The breakfast was included and the hotel had a large bright dinning area with wonderfully trained professional staff looking after your needs - almost felt like a royal.
Pro's: Nice quiet location, we had a lovely room view, professional staff, free parking, good wifi
Con's: Old, tired hotel that needs a desperate update, getting to your room
Would we return? Probably not, been there done that. Suggest to look for another hotel unless you are attending a wedding here then it would be ideal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the pasture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank advcardio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel is about a mile outside Oxford City Centre and as parking in Oxfordis impossible it is necessary to take a bus to reach the central attractions, but there is a regular service and the fare is only£1.00, or use a taxi.The reception staff were brilliant in arranging taxis and recommending and booking restaurants, nothing was too much trouble.Our room,which was a complimentary upgrade, was beautifully decorated and maintained and of more than ample size.The common areas were spotless and the extensive grounds superbly tended. The bar and restaurant staff were polite and efficient. We would happily return.

Room Tip: Room 200 is vast with a large seating area, 4 poster bed and separate bath and shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This places gets top marks for most things.
There are a few areas which we could find a need for improvement.
Although the rooms are clean and comfortable, we could suggest they include a radio and a clock. And, as they do in America, a facecloth would be nice.
The mattress on the bed needs to be updated.
The shower set up needs a few minutes to figure out how it works.
Breakfast is well done with plenty of hot and cold choices. Although, at 8.30 am we had trouble finding a table which was not covered in used dishes.
The dinner was adequate, but not overly inspiring. The servers tend to be very young and a bit inexperienced. After delivering our main course, the server never came back to see if everything was ok. No bread or rolls was offered.
The dining room is bright and well laid out with views of the garden.
The bar and lounge are excellent, as was the service in this area.
Having said all the above, we would not hesitate to return. Overall, it was a good experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willrude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Have stayed here several times and NEVER had a bad stay - am getting married there in less than 6 weeks. All staff are great and Cerris the events coordinator is fantastic. Well worth the money :) and am looking forward to another amazing stay

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ntheakstonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
2.2 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
1.4 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Spires Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Spires Hotel

Property: Oxford Spires Hotel
Address: Abingdon Road, Oxford OX1 4PS, England (Formerly Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#8 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oxford Spires Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Oxford Spires Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Spires 4 Pillars Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing