We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for our first oxford visit, countryside view & a short stroll into the centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oxford Spires Hotel
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed September 27, 2012

A quiet location with plenty of parking so close to the city. The large first floor room with a Juliet balcony had nice view across fields. Good pool for a quick swim, but small sauna, and closed steam room. Expensive for 1night , but so are the rest, had evening meal & breakfast in town,

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steven m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,809)
There are newer reviews for Oxford Spires Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,367 - 1,373 of 1,809 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

A bit of mixed review for this busy hotel - a short walk from the Oxford town centre. Check in took quite a while as we noted that this is a popular hotel for weddings and their guests. Almost always a line at the front desk.
Getting to the room was a bit of a pill, going from the lobby thru sets of doors and corridors squishing past the housekeeping cart but the end result gave us a room with a peaceful setting and a view of a green pasture with grazing horses that would often come over to our window.
The room and bed were dated, tired but nice enough to not bother changing rooms -it would do.
The breakfast was included and the hotel had a large bright dinning area with wonderfully trained professional staff looking after your needs - almost felt like a royal.
Pro's: Nice quiet location, we had a lovely room view, professional staff, free parking, good wifi
Con's: Old, tired hotel that needs a desperate update, getting to your room
Would we return? Probably not, been there done that. Suggest to look for another hotel unless you are attending a wedding here then it would be ideal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the pasture.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank advcardio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel is about a mile outside Oxford City Centre and as parking in Oxfordis impossible it is necessary to take a bus to reach the central attractions, but there is a regular service and the fare is only£1.00, or use a taxi.The reception staff were brilliant in arranging taxis and recommending and booking restaurants, nothing was too much trouble.Our room,which was a complimentary upgrade, was beautifully decorated and maintained and of more than ample size.The common areas were spotless and the extensive grounds superbly tended. The bar and restaurant staff were polite and efficient. We would happily return.

Room Tip: Room 200 is vast with a large seating area, 4 poster bed and separate bath and shower
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victor069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This places gets top marks for most things.
There are a few areas which we could find a need for improvement.
Although the rooms are clean and comfortable, we could suggest they include a radio and a clock. And, as they do in America, a facecloth would be nice.
The mattress on the bed needs to be updated.
The shower set up needs a few minutes to figure out how it works.
Breakfast is well done with plenty of hot and cold choices. Although, at 8.30 am we had trouble finding a table which was not covered in used dishes.
The dinner was adequate, but not overly inspiring. The servers tend to be very young and a bit inexperienced. After delivering our main course, the server never came back to see if everything was ok. No bread or rolls was offered.
The dining room is bright and well laid out with views of the garden.
The bar and lounge are excellent, as was the service in this area.
Having said all the above, we would not hesitate to return. Overall, it was a good experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willrude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Have stayed here several times and NEVER had a bad stay - am getting married there in less than 6 weeks. All staff are great and Cerris the events coordinator is fantastic. Well worth the money :) and am looking forward to another amazing stay

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ntheakstonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed in a very spacious suite that had been newly remodeled, so everything was fresh and immaculate and comfortable. The walk to the town center is 15 minutes or so, but it's along a busy road, so it's more relaxing to take the bus downtown. 



The breakfast buffet was fairly good, although some foods kept running out due to the fact that the dining room was packed with convention travelers. This hotel is definitely geared to conventions, so the staff wasn't all that helpful for orienting independent travelers. 



The pool was fabulous after a long day of sightseeing, and getting out of the bustle of the city center and to an area with trees, outdoor tables, and grazing horses was refreshing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I booked this hotel several months in advance for a treat spa break with my mother, and we were anticipating a luxurious 'Connoisseur' room with a balcony and all the accoutrements - free mini bar, gowns, slippers, toiletries, etc. However, our dark ground floor room was a very long way down a tortuous corridor, tucked into an inner corner of the quadrangle, with a small window directly looking out at other guests' cars. The very first impression was of a gloomy utility room - the door opened to not one, but two, ironing boards, and two irons. No mini bar at all, let alone free drinks, no opening doors to balcony or terrace, no easy chairs, no attractive outlook.

On querying with reception, I was told we'd been given a lower-grade 'Chic' room, which was what Four Pillars' Spa Breaks offered as part of the spa package. Not what we had booked - I produced evidence from the internet at the time of my booking months before, (which the receptionist, surprised, then photocopied) showing that we should have had a Connoisseur room. In fact, the promotional spa leaflet in the room also offered Connoisseur rooms for their spa break package.

After some time, hotel management advised us that the hotel was fully booked for all three nights of our stay, and a move to a more acceptable room would not be possible on any of the three nights of our stay (despite the fact that there was a consider changeover of guests staying during the weekend). We were offered a rate reduction and a small fridge with some drinks. As there seemed to be no other alternative, and we were keen to finally unpack and relax, we had little choice but to accept what was offered.

Unfortunately, the fridge was so noisy that we had to turn it off at night, and it then froze and burst the drinks bottles when switched back on next day. The tap on the handbasin only ever produced a trickle of water, despite us advising reception. The bath/shower mixer taps have invisible labels for hot/cold, bath/shower, resulting in cold, wet hair from the overhead shower while trying to fathom out how to operate them. Instructions would be most helpful.

However, to be more positive - the breakfasts and dinners in the restaurant were superb, and all the restaurant staff were very well trained, efficient and courteous. Even when a large group of guests ate in the dining room, and the hotel was catering for a wedding reception, standards never faltered. The swimming pool, sauna and steam room were excellent and generally well maintained. The treatments included in our package were relaxing and enjoyable, with a professional therapist in a suitably clean treatment room. The situation of the hotel is excellent, in country surroundings with plenty of free parking, yet within a half mile walk of the city centre, either by the picturesque tow path or along the main road, which has a frequent bus service into town. City centre car parking is astronomically expensive - leave the car at the hotel.

In all, with the added benefit of good weather, we had a superb break at Oxford Spires. We just wished we could have enjoyed relaxing in the lovely room we had anticipated, rather than trying to enjoy our pre-dinner drinks in a gloomy 'utility room' with blind drawn, albeit at a reduced tariff.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the quality of room you are expecting - there are no room rates displayed. Ground...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kompo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
2.1 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
727 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#12 of 44 in Oxford
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Spires Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Spires Hotel

Address: Abingdon Road, Oxford OX1 4PS, England (Formerly Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#8 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: $162 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oxford Spires Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oxford Spires Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Spires 4 Pillars Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing