We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter at Eastwyke”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oxford Spires Hotel
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a three night break over Easter. The package was great value for money with breakfast and dinner included with the added benefits of free car parking (plenty of spaces) and free Wifi.

Only a ten minute walk into Oxford.

The hotel has lots of kerb appeal and is set back off the road. Obviously very popular given the number of functions taking place and returning guests.

Reception and Housekeeping were prepared for the onslaught of early check-ins for Easter – a nice touch.

We booked the Donnington Room in Eastwyke House. Beautifully renovated and a roll top bath. Unfortunately, I didn’t think about the low ceilings and door frames for my very tall husband!

The House is generally very quiet (we have read the many reviews referring to noisy guests in the hotel!). The hotel offers an evening turndown service in the House however this amounted to little more than ‘turning down’ the bed. In my opinion, don’t do it at all unless you are going to make it special.

There were nice touches in the room such a hot chocolate, chocolate bars and Clarins toiletries.

Have a look at the stunning photographs of Oxford in the rooms and public areas.

Service in the Bar was very good. A little bit pricey but certainly cheaper than the lunchtime drinks we had in Woodstock on Sunday lunchtime! Please can the stain on the TV screen be cleaned or a new TV installed.

The service and quality of food in the Restaurant was much better than we expected given this was a very busy weekend. We particularly enjoyed the salmon and beef. My husband had the chocolate brownie each night. Service on Sunday night was decidedly iffy. We and a number of other tables were left for at least 40 minutes before finally being approached by the Maitre D. The restaurant was quiet and well staffed, so the only explanation is poor organisation.

DEFINITELY go for an early breakfast………….Saturday at 9:30am was like a ‘bun fight’……..best avoided.

In all, a lovely weekend in a nice hotel at a good price.

Would we return? Yes.

Room Tip: Choose Eastwyke House rather than the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sal_Mark2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,886)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,513 - 1,519 of 1,887 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2012

Free parking and free pool and spa were the main attractions to this modern hotel, a 15 minute walk from south of the city centre.
We had a spacious comfortable room and en suite. Large bed and sofa and chair and a tranquil view of the gardens.
We did not take breakfast there as it seemed quite expensive.
Some noise as the corridoors are long with many rooms and the hotel was full, but a clean simple base for a stay in Oxford.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skiingcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night whilst showing them around the Oxford colleges. The hotel is located in excellent grounds with the ability to walk along the river. The rooms are small and normal for that type of hotel and the food fine but nothing special. The pool was a godsend as there is nothing much else for the children to do on a hot summer evening. On the night that we were staying there was a large high school party. Despite numerous calls to reception asking them to deal with children being sick outside of our bedroom window this was not addressed. We were told when it would end and were expected to suffer until then. Guests should be warned in advance if there is going to be an event in the hotel so that they can choose to stay elsewhere. This place could be fabulous but it is not.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatandDogBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

So this hotel is rated 4 star, and while it does charge those prices - I think 4 star is pushing it.

The good things are
- free wifi (caveat below)
- free parking
- less than 15 minutes from the centre of Oxford (Carfax tower)
- warm pool

However, I would define my room as basic at best. There were plumbing issues - shower fine but loo struggled to flush and there was no plug for the bathroom sink.

The wifi was free but the reception rendered it unusable in the room we were staying in.

Most staff were ok. The exceptions were the guy manning the gym front desk on Saturday the 17th evening - was really nice, friendly and helpful. The guy who checked us in ... how can I phrase it... he was not rude but my husband walked away and actually said "goodness he wasn't going out of his way to make us feel welcome"

They seem to have a weird room cleaning schedule - we were out of our room from 10 am to 3 pm, and it hadn't been cleaned. Not a problem but I found that strange.

If you fancy a wander - may I stress you turn right outside the hotel. This is not a fault of the hotel but 5 minutes down the road when you go left and it starts getting "interesting", I am not a fan of "interesting" in a place I don't know.

I wouldn't go out of my way to stay here again but I also wouldn't panic if I had to.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

This was our second stay. We use it as: easy to access by car; plenty of free parking; 15-20 minute stroll from city centre and clean and modern. Despite the parkland location and design it feels functional rather than comfortable. Good value if can get a reduced price online. Rooms can be small and the corridors a confusing maze.
Staff very polite.

Room Tip: If you cannot walk far or have a poor sense of direction get a room near to reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corky100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Have been working away in Oxford and staying in a budget hotel, couldn't get in there for one night so checked out the late availability - what a find, I felt relaxed as soon as I walked into reception to a warm welcome. Room was really nice, well laid out and for me the most important bit - well lit and not too hot! It looked like it had a fantastic views - shame I was there in the dark. Had a lovely and very reasonably priced meal in the restaurant. Would thoroughly recommend for either business or leisure - its nice and close to the city centre too. What a shame it's normallly outside my budget!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Somuchstill2see
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

When booking in we thought wow!, what a beautiful hotel, in wonderful landscape grounds. How disappointed we were by the next morning. The hotel, in a good location, about 10 minutes walk to the centre of Oxford, turned out to be sterile, totally lacking in any atmosphere.The reception staff were polite and helpful. Unfortunately, the bedroom was on a par with Premier Inns and certainly nothing special. There were coffee and tea making facilities, with biscuits, a safe, tv, hair dryer and iron. Breakfast was just over £6 when booked but over £12 if not booked. Not knowing how we would feel in the morning we did not book breakfast. Instead we walked up to a lovely cafe on the Folly Bridge and had breakfast for £3!
The rooms cost £130 on a Friday night and £150 on a Saturday, but after our first night we decided to move to another hotel and paid far less for a much better hotel. The bed was so uncomfortable we hardly got any sleep at all, the sink in the bathroom was badly cracked, in fact from so long ago, the cracks had faded the colour of the sink ... not something you would expect from this class of hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edgewood48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
2.1 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
747 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#8 of 44 in Oxford
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Spires Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Spires Hotel

Address: Abingdon Road, Oxford OX1 4PS, England (Formerly Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#7 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: $120 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oxford Spires Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oxford Spires Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Spires 4 Pillars Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing