We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing to complain about here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Oxford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oxford
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Nothing to complain about here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed here one night for my partners christmas works bash, check in was good room was perfectly adequate clean and tidy and quiet, which i found rather unusual as there were 3 separate parties going on in the hotel that night so this was a plus.
Shower was very good again bathroom clean and tidy
Bed comfort is always a bit subjective, for me the matress was a tad hard but my partner was more than happy with it.
The food at the party was a bit "conveyer belt" mass produced, but for 90+ people this was not a bad effort drinks were the standard hotel price e.g. expensive
The breakfast that was included in the price was the help yourself buffet type and was really quite good.
I am relatively local to this hotel (within 12 miles) so am quite familar with the area i can see why this is quite a handy place to stay if visiting Oxford as it right next to the park and ride.
So all in all i was quite happy with my short stay here and could not find anything much to whinge about ....well done

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind & positive review following your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Oxford. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and liked the Hotel and location.
I do hope that you visit us again in the future, when we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    457
    210
    45
    30
See reviews for
211
345
44
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed (my wife and I) whilst my son was being interviewed at the University and I have to say that the rate charged for what we were provided with was very, very steep. The room and bathroom were basic, although clean and the bed was tiny.Beyond that there is nothing I can add. Had I paid £60-£80 it would have been fine but at over £160 a night (because presumably it was interview week) it left us feeling very dissatisfied. As a comparison, two nights later my wife and I stayed at the Waldorf Astoria in Edinburgh in a deluxe double room for only £25 more and it was simply superb. If you check out my reviews (of which there are nearly 100 as a top trip advisor contributor) you will note moaning and griping is not my objective but we did not enjoy our stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear David
Thank you for including the Holiday Inn Oxford in your latest review. I am sorry to read you didn’t particularly enjoy your stay with us mainly, as I understand it, due to the price you paid. Whilst I obviously appreciate your feedback I would like to make you aware that we offer a wide range of different rates and options throughout the year, including Book Early Advance Saver Rates. In addition to this I would like to reassure you that we will always make sure our rooms are competitively priced when comparing with other Full Service Hotels in the Oxford area.
I do hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, you will choose to stay with us again at some future date, especially if your son has an opportunity to study in Oxford, when I hope you will be able to secure a more favourable rate.
Kind regards
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Can't fault the hotel, staff or cleanliness, however there must have been a party or stag do in the hotel as we were woken up to a group of lads in the hallway on their way in after a night in town. I appreciate this can happen in any hotel, overall a good stay and would use again, lots of parking and close to main transport link too

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannahJacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for posting your review of the Holiday Inn Oxford on Trip Advisor. I am pleased that you liked the Hotel and sorry that you were woken by noisy guests arriving back late to their rooms - for that I do apologise.
I am pleased that you would choose to stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards,
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

I stay in Holiday Inn Oxford regularly due to the business, liked the hotel since it's a ideal business hotel and the staff are friendly.

But the recent 3 stay made me really want to complain about the house keeping. I don't know what's happening, but the house keeping has been really poor. One day I came back to the room, the pillow was on the floor, and the bed looked liek not even finished. I was shocked since I never had any experience like this with any hotel before. another time, a towl was left on the table for 3 days! this time, on day one, I had two bottles of water in the room, one still and one sparking (like it always do), but from 2nd day, there was one sparking water, since I don't drink sparking water, so I ended up drinking the water from the tab. ok, maybe they forgot, I thought, but 3rd day, only 1 sparking water again, 4th day, only 1 sparking water again. This really made me angry, since I also paid attention when I passed the clearning trolly in the morning, they do have still water there.
I don't know what's happying to the house keeping team in this hotel, but it certainly appear very poor service!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zhenhui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent feedback of the Holiday Inn Oxford following one of your regular visits to the Hotel. I am very sorry that you have felt let down on your 3 recent stays with us due to Housekeeping issues. This is certainly not indicative of our usual high level of service and for this I do apologise. I would be happy to have the opportunity to discuss this matter with you further on your next visit if you wish to make contact.
My apologies once again,
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Having stayed at a number of hotels in Oxford over the year we decided to try the holiday inn and wished we had tried in sooner. We had booked an executive room but on arrival needed to find some accommodation for our so. The desk soon arranged for a z bed to be put into the room at a very reasonable additional cost. By the time we arrived upstairs the bed was being put up. The ten pound cost of a taxi to the city centre was reasonable. Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: For a touch of luxury go for an executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much indeed for your kind & positive feedback following your Graduation Celebration in Oxford. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope very much to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Oxford again in the future.
Regards,
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
293 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We arrived by rental car at night and the peartree roundabout area was a bit confusing at night and the hotel was not marked on any signs. After finding the park and ride exit, finally saw the hotel. Shop, KFC, gas station and Starbucks opposite the hotel. And of course, the bus at the park and ride which conveniently takes you to the centre of Oxford (about 12 minutes bus ride). Free car parking at the hotel.

Room was clean and decent but beds were so-so. Staff was friendly and helpful. Wifi and Internet were very expensive at GBP5 per hour (and you had to use the whole hour at once). Didn't try the breakfast as the price was too expensive. Got our breakfast at the shop/Starbucks instead.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you liked the Hotel and found the staff helpful & friendly. I do hope that you visit again and book a bed & breakfast rate to try our Full English buffet breakfast.
Thank you again for your feedback.
Regards,
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed one night at the hotel while visiting Oxford. Although the hotel is not located in a walking distance to the city there is a bus which takes you in 15min to the city centre (2.4GBP for a return ticket for adults, children free of charge), which we found very convenient as we did not have to search for parking. Although there are a lot of nice restaurants in Oxford, we chose to have dinner at the hotel. The food was nice but the service very slow (maybe because we went there after 21:00). Breakfast was very nice (typical english buffet with eggs and sausages, but with an excellent fruit salad)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorgosY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am glad that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Oxford and very pleased that you liked the Hotel and took advantage of the Park & Ride bus service which saves parking fees in the City.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your meals in our Restaurant and apologise for the slow service at dinner.
I hope that you visit again soon, when we look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards,
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
6.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
5.3 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel
3.0 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#20 of 44 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
4.0 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#11 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
6.2 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oxford

Property: Holiday Inn Oxford
Address: Peartree Roundabout | Woodstock Road, Oxford OX2 8JD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#6 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#13 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oxford is situated on the leafy north side of this historic University City. The hotel is ideally located next to the A34 with easy access to the M40, Silverstone F1 Race Track, M4 motorway and Oxford Parkway Station. Holiday Inn Oxford is situated in an ideal location for travel into Oxford offering a modern, relaxing environment for either a business or leisure stay in Oxford with ample free parking. The city offers a priority Park and Ride bus service which is located next to the hotel. Our family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children and they are all supplied with a double bed and a sofa bed - sofa beds suitable for children of 12 years or younger. Don't forget that in Holiday Inn Oxford kids Eat & Stay Free(Terms & conditions apply). The extensive Spirit Health Club is also available to our guests, offering a large gym & large indoor heated swimming pool complimented by Spa & Beauty therapists. For the benefit of our business guests the Holiday Inn Oxford boasts the purpose built, self contained, Academy Conference & Training Suites, with dedicated Reception, Business and Stewarding team. Discover the enchanting history of Oxford including the world famous University of Oxford, along with the Cotswolds and Blenheim Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oxford Hotel Oxford
Oxford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing