We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stop over”
Review of Holiday Inn Oxford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oxford
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A good stop over”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We spent three nights at this hotel as we were visiting oxford university college. the rooms are clean and spacious with fridge.staff were pleasant and efficient. on arrival we asked for an iron and ironing board this was brought to the room with in minutes. it has a pool area which was good after travelling. hotel is approx a15min bus journey from the Center of oxford. Bus stop park and ride a short walk.
Only complaint wifi charges.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olliegr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your recent review following your visit to the Holiday Inn Oxford. It is always a pleasure to receive great feedback regarding the staff and their friendly and efficient service.
Thank you once again and I hope that we can welcome you back to the Hotel in the future.
Regards,
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    481
    222
    48
    33
See reviews for
222
366
46
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stoke on trent
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

My company booked me in to this hotel. It's about 4 miles outside of Oxford but very easy to get to with the park and ride. Takes about 15 mins by bus to reach the park and ride and then it's a short walk to the hotel which is near a petrol station/ service station.

The staff are really good here. Even though due to a computer crash check in was long winded but not the staffs fault.

Breakfast was included in my company rate and was a fantastic mix of hot and cold buffet.

My only real niggle was that for the price you pay for the room it doesn't include free wifi. Even the smaller sister company holiday inn express offers that.

So if you want to get out of a very busy city then this is the place for you

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review, following your visit to the Holiday Inn Oxford. I am pleased that you liked the Hotel and location and that you found the staff friendly and helpful.
Thank you once again and I hope that you visit us again in the future.
Regards,
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

What a contrast bettween the stunning city of Oxford and this boring hotel. I guess I was a bit disappointed that my business colleague didn't book us anything more interesting, I would never have booked thisn place. My prejudices were born out, it is a boring place to stay. Not that there is anything really wrong with it, but you won't be rushing to return in a hurry, that's for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachaddict60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were disappointed that our Hotel is not central to the city of Oxford and appreciate your feedback.
Regards,
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Convenient location. Good friendly staff. Good selection of breakfasts. Called a week or so in advance of our stay, not sure if they wanted to check we were still coming or not. Can't fault them really.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and do hope that you stay with us again here at the Holiday Inn Oxford in the future.
Regards,
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We chose this hotel as we have stayed in various Holiday Inns in the UK and Europe. The room was up to the usual standard clean and comfortable. However, when we arrived down for Breakfast at 08:15 the scene was of utter shambles. Nobody to check and show us to a table. Tables had not been cleared and we found ourselves competing with other guests when a table was cleared. There were not enough staff to cope! When we finally managed to get a table we found the milk had run out on the cereals table, then the fried eggs weren't ready and after all that the bread basket were empty and the toaster caught fire! We gave up and went into Oxford.
What a difference a day makes! The following day everybody had got their act together. We were greeted and shown to a table immediately. All the various food stations were being replenished on a regular basis. The food was excellent - especially the sausages.

At checkout, we were asked about our stay and I related the above. I was informed that a large wedding party had decided to eat breakfast early and come down together. We were refunded our breakfasts.

The hotel is well situated with the Oxford Bus Pear Tree Park & Ride a couple of hundred yards away- the buses are frequent and take just over 10 minutes. Saves the horrendous parking charges in Oxford and the various road closures to private cars which can incur nasty fines.

Room Tip: Make sure there isn't a large group already booked!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for posting your review following your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Oxford.
I am extremely sorry that breakfast on your first morning was not to our usual high standard, due to a large wedding party dining in the restaurant. However, I am very pleased that you were able to enjoy a more relaxed breakfast on your second morning. I am glad that my reception team acknowledged your poor service and refunded your breakfast charge.
Your positive comments relating to our Hotel, staff and location have been noted and shared with the team,
I do hope that you visit again, when we look forward to welcoming you back to Oxford.
Regards,
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were nice, clean, well specified and comfortable.

Food excellent both for breakfast and room service.

Staff friendly and helpful.

Handy for the park and ride buses, just wish it was in the centre of the city!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your recent review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Oxford and do hope that you visit again in the future.
Regards,
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I liked staying at Holiday Inns as they have a good quality of comfort, atmosphere and food.

We stayed there for a weekend - we are very happy with the hotel and the hot breakfast and clear swimming pool - were all spot on!

All the staff were very friendly and always put a smile on their face.

And it is right next to A34- very accessible!

And if you fancy takeaway - just a couple of min walk to the 'Welcome Break' (KFC)!

:)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review. I am very pleased that you liked the Hotel and facilities and that you had an enjoyable stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Oxford.
Thank you once again,
Regards,
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
332 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
3.0 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#10 of 44 in Oxford
1,759 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Oxford Peartree Hotel
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oxford

Property: Holiday Inn Oxford
Address: Peartree Roundabout | Woodstock Road, Oxford OX2 8JD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#10 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#13 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oxford is situated on the leafy north side of this historic University City. The hotel is ideally located next to the A34 with easy access to the M40, Bicester Designer Outlet Village, Silverstone F1 Race Track, M4 motorway and Oxford Parkway Station. Holiday Inn Oxford is situated in an ideal location for travel into Oxford offering a modern, relaxing environment for either a business or leisure stay in Oxford with ample parking. The city offers a priority Park and Ride bus service which is located next to the hotel. Our family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children and they are all supplied with a double bed and a sofa bed - sofa beds suitable for children of 12 years or younger. Don't forget that in Holiday Inn Oxford kids Eat & Stay Free(Terms & conditions apply). The extensive Spirit Health Club is also available to our guests, offering a large gym & large indoor heated swimming pool complimented by Spa & Beauty therapists. For the benefit of our business guests the Holiday Inn Oxford boasts the purpose built, self contained, Academy Conference & Training Suites, with dedicated Reception, Business and Stewarding team. Discover the enchanting history of Oxford including the world famous University of Oxford, along with the Cotswolds and Blenheim Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oxford Hotel Oxford
Oxford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing