We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean with Great Facilities”
Review of Holiday Inn Oxford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oxford
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We used the hotel as a stop off point before we headed down to the New Forest. The location was fantastic for us as it was just off the motorway. The park and ride is very handy and only approx. £2 per adult (they don't charge for children). The hotel was extremely clean and well kept. We went for the dinner, bed and breakfast package which we thought was a good deal, especially as we weren't familiar with the restaurants in Oxford and was going to be eating out on our stay in the New Forest. The evening meal was a little disappointing, this was advertised as a "3 Course Meal" and upon ordering we were told (only when asked to confirm this) that you had an £18 pp allowance and anything over that you would have to subsidise yourselves!!! There is no way you could get 3 courses for £18, never the less the food we had was ok. The breakfast on the other hand was excellent with plenty of choice and all seemed to be very fresh, you wouldn't go hungry. Cant recommend the breakfast enough!! We would definitely look to stay again. It really does deserve the 4*s and if you get the opportunity to use the gym / swimming pool / sauna they are also to a very high standard.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haroldLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind and positive review of the Holiday Inn Oxford following your recent family stay at the Holiday Inn Oxford. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay - apologies for the confusion over your dinner allowance on your Dinner, Bed & Breakfast package.
I do hope that you had a good visit to the New Forest and hope that you stay with us again in the future, when we look forward to welcoming you back.
Joost van Spengler.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,098)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Oxford
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

717 - 723 of 1,099 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel is highly recommended. The room was spacious and well equipped. The hotel has a swimming pool and health suite onsite and is free for hotel guests.

We had supper in the hotel restaurant, which was OK, but nothing special. However, the breakfast was excellent. Good choice and well cooked.

The hotel also offers guests free tea & coffee at the reception to take away with them.

Children also given free activity packs on arrival.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HVJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for posting your review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Oxford. I am very pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you liked the Hotel and its facilities available to guests.
I hope that you visit us again in the future.
Joost van Spengler.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Large hotel with excellent service, Room very well equipped and spotless, excellent choice of buffet breakfast. Evening meals well cooked and reasonable priced. Attentive service by the friendly staff. Also had a trouser press and was handy for Waitrose. Handy park and ride service next door. The hotel also had a large leisure club for patrons to use at their leisure..

Room Tip: Park and ride to town very near.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Thomas Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much indeed for your complimentary review of the Holiday Inn Oxford. We always strive to offer good service and your comments relating to friendly & helpful staff are very much appreciated and have been shared with the team.
I am very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and do hope that you return and visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel as a very last minute booking and got a very good deal on a hotel booking website. When we were arrived, I was initially concerned with its location in a services stop however once we stepped into the hotel, our holiday begun! We were checked in by a very polite informative friendly man who answered all our queries. Our room was perfect for our needs - the large sofa was a nice addition. The room was clean and well equipped. The bathroom was spotless with everything you would expect. We had breakfast in the hotel - I would agree its overpriced but the continental was delicious especially the pancakes. The staff are super friendly and helpful. The hotel is walking distance to a park and ride and the bus leaves you in the centre of Oxford. We didn't try the leisure facilities but we will return to this hotel when we visit Oxford again. Overall, we had a lovely pleasant stay in this hotel and would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CavanGirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
I was extremely pleased to read your review and glad that you had such an enjoyable stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Oxford.
I am glad that you liked the hotel, staff and facilities and hope that on future visits you can take advantage of the pool and spa.
Thank you once again for your feedback - much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Best option for access to Oxford without all of the traffic hassles. Rooms were clean and tidy, beds comfortable, food nice. The free parking with access via the Park & Ride was so easy. Breakfast was plentiful and varied. I watched a cook making omelets make sure each of the plates was clean and presentable - that sounds like a must, but clean plates are not always a given at quick & easy breakfasts. Every hotel clerk and staff member we spoke to was kind, understanding and knowledgeable. Evening meal service was quick and good. The air conditioning was a welcome relief with the 100 degree heat. We have stayed at 10 Holiday Inns this summer in the US and UK and voted this one the best.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chicagoehc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much indeed for your recent review on Trip Advisor, following your visit to the Holiday Inn Oxford.
It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I have shared your comments with the team here in Oxford. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and do hope that you visit us again in the future, when we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

A nice hotel, It felt like a strange location being in a services and just across from a petrol station and a travel lodge. Once inside though you could be in a holiday inn anywhere. Very clean and tidy, maids were very helping making up an extra bed for our eldest son. There is a swimming pool which was nice for a quick swim before dinner. The food was good and reasonably priced, at the time we stayed children ate free with an adult which was great. The room had good A/C very helpful in the hot weather. In all a good stay, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dannny_boy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your kind and positive feedback following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Oxford.
It is always a pleasure to receive great comments and I have shared these with the team. I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Oxford and took advantage of our pool and spa facilities.
Thank you once again and I hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The room was very clean and that's the most important thing.

It is not cheap, mind. I paid £192 for 2 nights (that were booked a good 6 months in advance - if not more) and that didn't include breakfast. I asked how much breakfast was when we checked in and was told it is £12.95 per person. So for two of us for 2 mornings, it would have cost nearly £52 just for breakfast. We decided to give it a miss. I really don't know how that price is justified.

A big plus is the free parking. We've been told Oxford parking prices are astronomical. A very handy Park and Ride service can be found a 2 minute walk away from this Holiday Inn. It's £2.40 return. We made use of that.

I would stay here again if I got a very good deal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerrieDanielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent review. I am pleased that you liked the hotel and it's location to Oxford city centre via the Park & Ride.
I do hope that you stay with us again on a bed & breakfast package to take advantage of our breakfast which includes,fresh fruit, cereal, juice, pastries, yoghurt, cold meats, cheeses, and of course a full English breakfast buffet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
437 reviews
1.0 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
727 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
6.1 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oxford

Address: Peartree Roundabout | Woodstock Road, Oxford OX2 8JD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#10 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#13 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: $112 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oxford is situated on the leafy north side of this historic University City. The hotel is ideally located next to the A34 with easy access to the M40, Bicester Designer Outlet Village, Silverstone F1 Race Track, M4 motorway and Oxford Parkway Station. Holiday Inn Oxford is situated in an ideal location for travel into Oxford offering a modern, relaxing environment for either a business or leisure stay in Oxford with ample parking. The city offers a priority Park and Ride bus service which is located next to the hotel. Our family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children and they are all supplied with a double bed and a sofa bed - sofa beds suitable for children of 12 years or younger. Don't forget that in Holiday Inn Oxford kids Eat & Stay Free(Terms & conditions apply). The extensive Spirit Health Club is also available to our guests, offering a large gym & large indoor heated swimming pool complimented by Spa & Beauty therapists. For the benefit of our business guests the Holiday Inn Oxford boasts the purpose built, self contained, Academy Conference & Training Suites, with dedicated Reception, Business and Stewarding team. Discover the enchanting history of Oxford including the world famous University of Oxford, along with the Cotswolds and Blenheim Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oxford Hotel Oxford
Oxford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing