We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Holiday Inn Oxford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oxford
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Ripon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel before and been disappointed in the overall impression. I must say however that the hotel has made great strides in addressing their deficencies.

The hotel is very easy to find, being located on a Services Station just on the outskirts of Oxford. Rush hour can present a problem exiting the services, but then again this could be said for every location.

The check in experience was very good, and the staff incredibly polite and courtous. They provided me with all of the details I needed and the general look and feel of this hotel feels perfect for it's location.

The room was clean and contained all of the essentials required (Although it was noted that you will need to call housekeeping for an iron and ironing board - although this came quickly when requested). The room is comfortable with air conditioning and a good selection of channels on the TV. A nice touch was made with a courtesy call to ask if everything was ok with the room and ask if there was anything else I needed

The food was also of good quality, served well and at reasonable prices. There is a wide variety of food available and from the look of other tables (And my own) each was of high quality.

The checkout experience was very good, quick and with enough staff on to meet the demands of the queue.

I'd certainly recommend this hotel for it's location and convenience and also polite and courteous staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth_Saunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your recent comments following your visit to the Holiday Inn Oxford. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found our Hotel and facilities improved from your previous visit. Your comments are most appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    473
    218
    47
    33
See reviews for
220
357
46
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel located just off the Oxford ring rd for many years and for a period of 15 years ,weekly. For visitors to Oxford the location of the Hotel, just off the A34 is perfect as there is within 5 mins walk of the Hotel just around the corner from it,a Park & Ride location(which I would strongly recommend to be used ,as Oxford is a car unfriendly city with many roads in the city centre having no access for cars signs, which can make access to the shops difficult and stressful coupled to city centre sky high car parking charges. The Hotel under the management of Debbie the Gen Manager is well run by a team of highly professional staff in all depts. On making a reservation either Nicola or Emma will attend to your needs when booking,likewise the Front desk staff of Helen, Ray,Angelos & Aggie, who will ensure you and your party on arrival are really warmly welcomed and will ensure your stay is a comfortable and enjoyable experience. All rooms are large and recent refurbishment of many of the rooms mean the standard in them is very good.If you are a light sleeper( I am), I would recommend you ask for a room overlooking the car park, for although all rooms are triple glazed, the A34, which runs close to one side of the hotel is busy all through the night. Whether your visit to Oxford is for business or pleasure, the hotel team in the lounge and restuarant( Jackie or Orsova) will make your relaxing time even better with prompt and good friendly service. The hotel facilities include a reasonable sized pool with a sauna and steam room as well as a gym for thiose who feel energetic ! Again the staff team will make you feel welcome.If you are a regular visitor to Oxford on business,its worth talking to Sue in Client services to negotiate, depending on frequency of stays in the hotel, for a very competitive bedroom or meeting rate quote,again you will this a pleasant experience, as with the rest of the team your needs are what's important to them in trying to deliver what is required. Having stayed in HI all around the world this one figures in my top three for service, cleaniness and above all the warm welcome they offer to all guest alike.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the car park facing side of the Hotel. For those on a bigger budget, the exec rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments left on TripAdvisor following your many visits to the Holiday Inn Oxford.
It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and your compliments have been shared with the whole team.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on a hen weekend. We were made incredibly welcome & were overwhelmed by the wonderful attentiveness of the staff. The wonderful duty manager helped us arrange to be on the same floor, organise endless streams of taxis and tracked down the mother of the bride on a number of occasions!!!

We were well looked after with courtesy, humour and a genuine attention to detail. Your staff convert this from a service station hotel to a wonderful place to stay! I could not praise them enough : )

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anna_lisa55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind & positive comments posted on TripAdvisor following your weekend stay at the Holiday Inn Oxford.
It is always a pleasure to receive such complimentary feedback and I have shared these amongst the whole team here at the Hotel.
I am pleased that you had such an enjoyable visit and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Just returned from a great stay at the holiday inn on the peartree! They couldn't have been more welcoming to us, they remembered me from previous visits and asked how i'd been, the kids really enjoyed the pool and we even received a call to the room to check that everything was okay. Dinner in the restaurant was quick and desserts went down well especially with the kids.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sportynutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you very much for posting your recent review on TripAdvisor following your visit to the Holiday Inn Oxford. It is always a pleasure to receive such complimentary feedback and I have shared your comments with the team.
I am glad that your children enjoyed their time in the pool and their dessert at dinner!
Thank you once again and I hope that you visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here several times before. Service excellent, good breakfast and very clean rooms. Quiet at night and very comfortable beds so good nights sleep.Fridge in room for customer use. Just 5 minutes walk from park and ride to city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Many thanks for your kind and positive comments following your recent visit to us here at the Holiday Inn Oxford.
I am pleased that you liked the Hotel and it's facilities and I do hope that you will visit us again in the future, when we look forward to welcoming you back.
Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

OK - so the checkin was bad - only a single guy checking a coachload of travellers and asking each of them what they wanted for dinner etc etc... Took forever... Room so so - complete with cockeroach in the room I mean really!! Also they managed to charge me twice for for the internet service... once while in the lounge and again in the room!! Cheerfull manager though.. Not that he helped... LOL

Room Tip: Park car at the hotel and use the Park and Ride into Oxford...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrBillTong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor following your visit to the Holiday Inn Oxford.
Your comments have been noted and passed to the relevant departmental Managers for their perusal and will address your concerns.
Thank you once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed one night in a family room with my wife and daughter to visit Oxford. Selected this hotel for it's proximity to the Pear Tree Park & Ride which is accessed via a short walk past the petrol station and service area. The park and ride bus is then a 15min journey into the centre of Oxford (£4.50 return for two adults and children free). Hotel room was clean and tidy with a reasonably comfortable sofa bed. Evening meal in the restaurant was good value and service excellent. So overall a well located and reasonably priced hotel for a short break to Oxford.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neill841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Your recent comments are most appreciated which have been posted on TripAdvisor relating to your stay at the Holiday Inn Oxford.
I have shared your comments amongst the whole team and I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
279 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
4.0 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#9 of 44 in Oxford
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Oxford Peartree Hotel
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oxford

Property: Holiday Inn Oxford
Address: Peartree Roundabout | Woodstock Road, Oxford OX2 8JD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#9 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#13 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oxford is situated on the leafy north side of this historic University City. The hotel is ideally located next to the A34 with easy access to the M40, Bicester Designer Outlet Village, Silverstone F1 Race Track, M4 motorway and Oxford Parkway Station. Holiday Inn Oxford is situated in an ideal location for travel into Oxford offering a modern, relaxing environment for either a business or leisure stay in Oxford with ample parking. The city offers a priority Park and Ride bus service which is located next to the hotel. Our family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children and they are all supplied with a double bed and a sofa bed - sofa beds suitable for children of 12 years or younger. Don't forget that in Holiday Inn Oxford kids Eat & Stay Free(Terms & conditions apply). The extensive Spirit Health Club is also available to our guests, offering a large gym & large indoor heated swimming pool complimented by Spa & Beauty therapists. For the benefit of our business guests the Holiday Inn Oxford boasts the purpose built, self contained, Academy Conference & Training Suites, with dedicated Reception, Business and Stewarding team. Discover the enchanting history of Oxford including the world famous University of Oxford, along with the Cotswolds and Blenheim Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oxford Hotel Oxford
Oxford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing