We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so.... Great Breakfast...”
Review of Holiday Inn Oxford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oxford
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed November 3, 2012

OK - so the checkin was bad - only a single guy checking a coachload of travellers and asking each of them what they wanted for dinner etc etc... Took forever... Room so so - complete with cockeroach in the room I mean really!! Also they managed to charge me twice for for the internet service... once while in the lounge and again in the room!! Cheerfull manager though.. Not that he helped... LOL

Room Tip: Park car at the hotel and use the Park and Ride into Oxford...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrBillTong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor following your visit to the Holiday Inn Oxford.
Your comments have been noted and passed to the relevant departmental Managers for their perusal and will address your concerns.
Thank you once again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

880 - 886 of 1,128 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed one night in a family room with my wife and daughter to visit Oxford. Selected this hotel for it's proximity to the Pear Tree Park & Ride which is accessed via a short walk past the petrol station and service area. The park and ride bus is then a 15min journey into the centre of Oxford (£4.50 return for two adults and children free). Hotel room was clean and tidy with a reasonably comfortable sofa bed. Evening meal in the restaurant was good value and service excellent. So overall a well located and reasonably priced hotel for a short break to Oxford.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neill841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Your recent comments are most appreciated which have been posted on TripAdvisor relating to your stay at the Holiday Inn Oxford.
I have shared your comments amongst the whole team and I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed for 1 night for work.

The hotel is located at a service area. There is a travelodge, costa coffee, KFC, Waitrose - all ideal if you dont want to eat in the hotel or just want to pick up a snack. It is a very busy island to negotiate in peak times.

Check in: Brill! Very polite and customer service excellent. Reception phoned after i had been in the room ifor 10 mins to check all was ok. I asked for some extra milk for the tea and coffee and housekeeping brought it up within 10 mins.

Room: Very clean, bed comfortable. Good choice o channels on the flat screen TV.

Food: I ate in the bar. Good choice of bar food, presented very well and tasty. My only complaint would be the price of the drinks at the bar!!!!!

Check out: Very quick, and i was asked to rate my stay out of 10 - i gave them a 9!

Would definatly visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nettty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you for your comments following your stay at the Holiday Inn Oxford. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable visit and that you liked the Hotel and its facilities.
I hope that you visit us again in the future, when we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed for three nights with my wife to see the sights of Oxford.We had DBB. The food was excellent and the hotel staff friendly and polite. It is convenient for the park and ride into Oxford which was every 10 minutes.Even by a main road the hotel is quiet. Reception is very good on directions and sights to see. We would stay again if in this area.

Room Tip: Ground floor room is very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExcellentCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

I was very pleased to read your review following your stay at the Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive such complimentary feedback and I do hope that you will visit us again in the near future.
I have shared your comments with the team and thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Though there is no separate check in for Priority Club members, I was very happy to find myself upgraded to an executive room - I'm at gold level, so this doesn't always happen. The room is nice (crown plaza quality), on the top floor (level 4). the Gym is generously sized and the pool is clean and very attractive. It costs about 8-10 GBPS to get here from the Center of Oxford in a Taxi, but if you want a nice hotel with a gym and a pool, look no further.

Room Tip: The executive rooms are on the top floor, level 4 - ask to be on this floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HannahHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you very much for your very kind comments posted on TripAdvisor following your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Oxford regarding our Hotel and facilities.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your feedback has been shared with the whole team.
Thank you once again and I hope that you will visit us again in the future, when we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

There's a reason why chains like Holiday Inn do so well and independent hotels struggle. You can be assured of US-style customer service and basic mod-cons in the rooms. No matter where you stay, you know what basic services will be available. You will have a hairdryer, iron, toiletries, a good working shower, TV, decent sized bed and tea/coffee/decaff drinks. The room I had was an Executive room so there was also a safe, fridge, bathrobe and some nice toiletries. Little things but helped make my stay more comfortable.

Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel has a good bar and the football was on without the sound to accommodate everyone's tastes. The Peartree location features a health club which guests have use of and, situated at the Roundabout service station, amenities are close to hand.

Peartree isn't the prettiest location but it's just a Park n ride bus ride away from central Oxford and has ample parking. For me, it was a good choice for business travel and I got exactly what I paid for.

Room Tip: If you can get a exec room, it's worth paying a little extra if you plan to stay more than a few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mermaid109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you very much for your comments following your recent visit. It is always a pleasure to receive complimentary feedback regarding our Hotel, staff and facilities and these have been shared with the team here at the Holiday Inn Oxford.
I hope you will visit us again in the future. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Main reason for staying here was the convenient location, only 10 mins into Oxford on the bus.

Everything you'd expect from a Holiday Inn - rather basic but clean and fairly modern, decent pillows etc. room looked out on the service station but the sound insulation was excellent and we could hardly hear any traffic noise.

Staff were friendly and helpful, except at breakfast where we had to queue for 15 mins despite there being lots of tables available.

12.00 checkout means a lovely long lie-in!

A couple of minor gripes... The shower pressure was poor. Also the internet charges were extortionate - it's archaic to charge for this at all. The coffee at breakfast was undrinkable.

All in all, absolutely fine to use as a base for visiting Oxford, and removes all the stress of driving and parking in the area. Prices in Oxford are sky-high, so we took advantage of using our Airmiles to pay. At upwards of £130 for a standard room, this is about double what you could expect to pay in a similar service station hotel in any other UK city, including London. But you don't expect to find value for money in Oxford!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fi_earthling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you very much for posting your review on TripAdvisor following your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Oxford.
I am pleased that you liked the Hotel, facilities and its location. I have noted your comments regarding your queue for breakfast and shower pressure and passed these to the departmental Managers concerned.
With regard to the internet charges, unfortunately these are set by our Head Office and are out of our control, but your comments have been noted.
Thank you once again for your comments and I hope that you will visit us again here in Oxford, when we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
574 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
1 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#8 of 44 in Oxford
1,862 reviews
6.1 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oxford

Address: Peartree Roundabout | Woodstock Road, Oxford OX2 8JD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#10 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#13 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: $81 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oxford is situated on the leafy north side of this historic University City. The hotel is ideally located next to the A34 with easy access to the M40, Bicester Designer Outlet Village, Silverstone F1 Race Track, M4 motorway and Oxford Parkway Station. Holiday Inn Oxford is situated in an ideal location for travel into Oxford offering a modern, relaxing environment for either a business or leisure stay in Oxford with ample parking. The city offers a priority Park and Ride bus service which is located next to the hotel. Our family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children and they are all supplied with a double bed and a sofa bed - sofa beds suitable for children of 12 years or younger. Don't forget that in Holiday Inn Oxford kids Eat & Stay Free(Terms & conditions apply). The extensive Spirit Health Club is also available to our guests, offering a large gym & large indoor heated swimming pool complimented by Spa & Beauty therapists. For the benefit of our business guests the Holiday Inn Oxford boasts the purpose built, self contained, Academy Conference & Training Suites, with dedicated Reception, Business and Stewarding team. Discover the enchanting history of Oxford including the world famous University of Oxford, along with the Cotswolds and Blenheim Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oxford Hotel Oxford
Oxford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing