We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting castle”
Review of Oxford Castle

Oxford Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$53.01*
and up
Full-Day Tour of Windsor, Eton and Oxford from London
More Info
$20.54*
and up
City Sightseeing Oxford Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
More Info
$53.01*
and up
Oxford Windsor and Eton Tour from Brighton
Ranked #29 of 177 things to do in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Interesting castle”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Enjoyed this half day excursion, very interesting and informative, if a little pricey. The tour guide was very good. Spend the extra £1 to climb the mound.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank japmis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    62
    21
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Crept into the crypt then crept out again!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Live tour host Solomon guided us around the sites including the 101-step tower climb (360 degree cityscape!), the spooky Norman crypt and the D Wing cells and information displays. Both interesting and informative!

Helpful?
Thank spen65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cheesy but interesting and enthusiastic guides”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

O, so it's a bit cheesy having guides dressed up as famous highwaymen but my boyfriend and I enjoyed this. He is always a bit "it looks crap" but I convinced him to go in whilst passing time in Oxford waiting to see a show. And he enjoyed it! The guides are knowledgeable and make it interesting (I think especially for kids, though we don't have any, I imagine it would be). It's more about the stories than the actual things to see, though there's a nice view of Oxford from the top. I hate it when guides are boring and just tell you what happened when, but with our guide it was more like a "horrible histories" tour. We got our picture taken against the line up wall and bought a couple of magnets with them in (I usually refuse to pay the tourist prices for photos but it was £3 or 2 for 5 so not bad really and will make a funny Christmas present).
The staff were friendly. I think they could make more of the place, but it hasn't been open that long, so I'm sure that's in the plans.
Bad points were it's a bit pricey for basically an hour's entertainment, but as something completely different to museums, I'd recommend it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cazzachameleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Well, its ok”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Nothing really exciting about this, but it is historic and it should be seen. What is good and free, cos it is on the outside, it the time-line written into the courtyard floor, showing what and when.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank StephanG147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not very good!”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Despite its history and heritage, the castle has been very poorly restored, so its looks like a shopping mall with a few ruins tacked on. During the summer it is the location for open air concerts, exhibitions and plays.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank nicnewmanoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oxford Castle also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Oxford Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing