We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pubs :)”
Review of Iffley Village

Iffley Village
Book In Advance
More Info
$46.45*
and up
Oxford Bicycle Tour along Thames Path
Ranked #68 of 177 things to do in Oxford
Attraction details
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pubs :)”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Worth a stroll if you like pubs. Better in spring/summer. Despite it's rather far out location its position on the Thames means it is a pleasant walk to this point.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank VB543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    22
    4
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“The Prince of Wales”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The Village is nice for a stroll down to the river. I feel like I have gotten away from the rest of Oxford and are out in the country when I pop down here. The Isis pub over the river is a nice spot for an expensive if simple lunch. For about a fiver you can get a big plate of beans on toast or cheese on toast. For around a tenner there is a limited but tasty menu, if a little on the worthy side sometimes.

Below is a review of the Prince of Wales pub in Iffley village:
I went here when some friends were visiting and our one year old, luckily he was asleep for most of our time there as we had to wait an hour and 45 mins from ordering to getting our food. During this time another table arrived, ordered ate and left. We were also repeatedly told the food would be along in just a few minutes. They did give us some free juice and some money off the bill and were apologetic about it in the end. I had the veggie roast which was the type of thing you can get frozen in iceland, one of the veg in a block type things which wasn't very impressive. The long wait turned the meal from a leisurely one to a stressed one as we were meant to be somewhere else soon after the food arrived.
To be fair, the others did say their meat was nice and they brought a little plate so my little boy could have some of our dinner as he had woken up by then. Its also a nice pub to sit in, especially in the summer with the big garden.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank chemical_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Prince of Wales”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This little pub is a gem and worth straying out of the city for. There's a good selection of beers on tap and the menu is great. The specials board and the main menu offer a good selection of tasty food; vegetarians are well catered for and all portion sizes are generous. Families are welcome and there's a good choice of games, for all ages. The staff were great and the Landlady was a real star.
We thought it was so good that we came back the next day. for the homemade puddings we didn't have room for on our first visit. Smile nicely and you might get extra custard too!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RCTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Prince of Wales”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We were staying in a hotel in Iffley about 5 minutes walk from the Prince of Wales pub which we had passed on a walk throught the village down to the river and having read good reviews we ate there in the evening.

The welcome was very good and we were well looked after by the landlord and the other staff.

The beer on tap was good and the food was very good, tasty and with large quantities and the style was generally British food favourites.

The pricing was just about right, possibly a little on the high side but more than compensated by the service and atmosphere.

Well worth a visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I live here...”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Almost a Cotswold Village tucked away within the city limits.
The 12thc Norman Church of St Mary's is a real treasure.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank RICKTICK66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iffley Village also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Iffley Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing