We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and friendly staff”

everest nepalese restaurant and bar
Ranked #48 of 634 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $16 - $22
Cuisines: Asian, Nepali, Fusion
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and friendly staff”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Very tasty specials, good portions and even got tips for our coming trip to Nepal. A lovely evening dinner and delicious lassi. Easy to find.

Helpful?
1 Thank Thijs V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementteam209, Owner at everest nepalese restaurant and bar, responded to this review, October 6, 2014
thank you very much for you kind visit. we hope to serve you soon
owner
tilak ram
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    55
    18
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Visited Thursday night ,lots of choice and the vegitarian selection was very impressive the rum rum lamb was beautifully cooked lean meat in a very flavoursome sauce, spicy and the rice was perfect, Everest noodles my partner had arrived in large bowl full of prawns and chicken with veg and noodles and very tasty, the naan breads were light and delicious, service was friendly and efficient, on arrival we were a bit apprehensive as it didn't look great and in a residential street, but inside its nice and light and pleasant so glad we found it, excellent value for a great meal, waiter even asked if we would like to take away the unseated food ( the noodle dish was large)
Great evening

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank subi212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementteam209, Owner at everest nepalese restaurant and bar, responded to this review, October 6, 2014
thank you very much for you kind visit. we hope to serve you soon
owner
tilak ram
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Small quantities, awful delivery service”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Ordered our food and set a delivery time for 7pm, allowing for us to give our toddler a bath and get her to bed. We also provided special delivery instructions to knock instead of ringing the bell, as she would be asleep. Well, the food arrived at 6:30pm, and the delivery man rang the bell. We had Lamb Momo as a starter and it had already cooled off by the time it arrived. The rest of the food was all right, nothing spectacular and *definitely* not living up to the hype that everyone gives Everest. Also, the food containers held more sauce than substance, with a lot less meat and vegetables than one would expect compared to other Indian (and similar region) restaurants we've had delivery from. It may have been an off night for Everest but, considering the other options for Indian cuisine in Oxford which we've been much more satisfied with, I doubt we'll make the effort to give them another chance.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thewhitedrewcarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Birthday Dinner”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

9 of us visited the Everest Nepalese restaurant on Saturday night for my Birthday.
The staff were very friendly and accommodating, and served fantastic food - very tasty and varied for all tastes / spice tolerances!
Great evening all round - thank you.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KieranD83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementteam209, Owner at everest nepalese restaurant and bar, responded to this review, October 6, 2014
thank you very much for you kind visit. we hope to serve you soon
owner
tilak ram
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
685 reviews
367 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Excellent all round”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This was our second visit to Everest and we were again really impressed. Other than its a bit out of the way and parking nearby is always going to be a problem, this is as good a restaurant of its type as you will find, up there with Yeti in my view.

Very friendly staff who even gave me a beer glass as I liked it, interesting, tasty and plentiful food (I would recommend the chef's specialities and that you stick to the Nepalese part of the menu) and a decent atmosphere put it towards the top of the pile. Current rating well deserved in my view.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BrushM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementteam209, Owner at everest nepalese restaurant and bar, responded to this review, October 6, 2014
thank you very much for you kind visit. we hope to serve you soon
owner
tilak ram
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed everest nepalese restaurant and bar also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to everest nepalese restaurant and bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing