We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Oxford”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holywell Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 85 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have made multiple visits to Oxford and have finally found a place worth staying at that is more affordable than a hotel. The innkeepers are very friendly and concerned about your welfare. The location is central to anything within downtown Oxford. The breakfast was plentiful. Our room was very comfortable and private but be prepared to share a large bath. We didn't see that on the description. All in all a great stay in a wonderful city. We will stay here again no doubt, if they have availability.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 736JackC736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Owner at Holywell Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to share the experience of your stay with us. Stuart and I are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Oxford and it was a pleasure having you in our home. We hope to host you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 135 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

I've been staying at 14 Holywell Bed & Breakfast for over 20 years and it remains the finest B&B experience in England for me and my family and the many friends whom I've recommended staying here. This charming three-room B&B is presided over by most pleasant and helpful hosts Carrie and Stuart. The fully-cooked breakfasts are fantastic (including Carrie's special blueberry pancakes). The rooms are well furnished and the location is just steps away from the City Centre. And New College is just across the street; don't miss evensong and hearing the world-famous New College Choir during term time. C. S. Lewis's first rooms in a boarding house are just around the corner and J.R.R. Tolkien lived just a few doors away. For a true Oxford experience, this is heaven.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Owner at Holywell Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Thank you so much for your very kind words. It has always been a pleasure welcoming you into our home and having a C.S.Lewis expert at breakfast is always a treat. Stuart, Max, and I hope to host you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Location, location, location ! You really just can't get anywhere more convenient in Oxford than Holywell B&B. I am so glad that we stayed there. Stuart and Carrie make a great team and have done a fantastic job of decorating and creating the old, pretty, gentile atmosphere of the house. Stuart also does a great cooked English breakfast. My friend and I shared the twin room at the top of the stairs with the bathroom next door. One thing that did perplex me is that we were told that this bathroom was for our use only but on a few occasions someone else was in there. Perhaps a sign on the door would address this? Essentially it wasn't too much of a big deal as Carrie keeps the place very clean. Perhaps the two big bonuses of this B&B were the parking and also the wonderful free guided tour given by Stuart ( although Stuart still collected a few pounds from us to use as an entry fees to the Colleges ). Carrie was also very understanding when my friend lost her luggage and needed to use the phone to track things down. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Owner at Holywell Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay with us. We appreciate and welcome your feedback, as it helps us continually improve our hospitality and the experience our guests have during their stay in Oxford.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We were visiting Oxford and decided it was beautiful enough to extend the visit with another day. I sent an email and got a prompt reply from Carrie. We were lucky to be able to jump in on a cancellation.

We stayed in the All Souls Room, which is not the biggest one they have, but it's very tidy and cosy. You'll reach the room through staircases that are creaky, sometimes uneven and a little narrow, just as they should be in an old house. Stuart and Carrie have decorated the house with a lot of attention to detail. The place breathes a brilliant atmosphere.

Stuart made us a nice fry-up breakfast to order. We heard the noises from the kitchen and some classical music while we were awaiting our breakfast, which gave us a feeling of welcome and homeliness.

There is a place to leave your luggage on the check-out day, so you will not have to drag it around until you leave for the railway station. We got the key to this room, so we could pick up our things whenever we wanted.

Both Oxford and the Holywell are highly recommended.

Ingrid & Hans, NL, august '12.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hans D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Owner at Holywell Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Holywell during your time in Oxford and that we could extend your stay in our beautiful city. Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts--and we're glad you didn't mind the creaky stairs of our 500 year old house.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

The most positive point about this B&B is a fantastic location--in the center of Oxford and with parking. It makes it worth visiting despite a very high price for a B&B (but a lot cheaper than central Oxford hotels) especially for someone like my wife and myself who have some mobility problems and Oxford requires lots of walking. The service was somewhat haphazard (but not rude as a couple of reviewers say). A couple of things needed fixing but it didn't happen. (Only one of the proprieters was there, the other was out of town.). We were in the "Merton" room which has two serilous drawbacks. First, it is not a true en-suite. One has to go out the bedroom door to adjacent facilities. (It also appeared that someone else might have used them, but we weren't sure. The second, more serious problem is that the top step (quite steep, but with sturdy handrails) is the door to the room. There is no landing. And, when one goes from the room to the facilites one has to step across the next to top step to a hallway running off to the side. At night I can envision stumbling down the stairs if one is not fully awake. (I don't know if B&Bs have to pass a building safety inspection but if so, the Oxford City standards are extraordinarilly lax.) Perhaps a young person wouldn't worry about it, but we are in our seventies--fortunately we navigated the hazard successfully.

I didn't see the other two rooms, but I suspect they don't have this kind of hazard problem.

I do recommend it for its location (and I've spent two years in Oxford and from personal experience can attest to how great the location is). But avoid the Merton room unless you are very athletic.

P.S. Evensong at New College, just across the street, is a very moving experience--most evenings at about 6pm. Afterward you can tour its lovely garden. Ask Stuart.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Owner at Holywell Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

We appreciate and welcome your feedback, as it helps us continually improve our hospitality and the experience our guests have during their stay with us. We presently do have safety inspections and as this has been a B&B since the early 1980's, it has had many, many safety inspections, and more importantly no one has ever stumbled or fallen on the stairs. We're glad you enjoyed so much of what Oxford has to offer and thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Holywell B&B was a perfect experience! Lovely accommodation, great location, very accommodating hosts. The stairs are a bit daunting, but the charm is worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puzzoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Owner at Holywell Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words and we're very glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed here several nights. Stuart took great care of us and everyone else considering his wife Carrie was out of town. Carrie had been very helpful with every question I had. We needed to come a bit early and she and Stuart were very helpful and accommodating. I loved our room. We stayed in the new college room. It had a lovely little sitting area and a great array of books. The bathrooms were lovely and nicely decorated I must say. Breakfast was great and the dining room was charming. Max (the dog) is a cutie. We enjoyed having him around because we missed our pets. Stuart offers free walking tours for people staying at their Bed and Breakfast. A very kind gesture. Holywell is in the perfect location for anyone wanting to do Oxford. If we every go back we will definitely stay here again. Thanks again for everything Stuart and Carrie!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NatalieKay4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.5 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
727 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
729 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
737 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holywell Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holywell Bed and Breakfast

Address: 14 Holywell Street, Oxford OX1 3SA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range: $80 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, quiet, and traditional bed and breakfast located in the very heart of Oxford. The only traditional B&B in the city centre, Holywell B&B is a Grade II listed building and our home. Located opposite New College, with ample private parking, we are an excellent location for exploring the dreaming spires of Oxford. Ensuite and private baths, WiFi, and full breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing