We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We wish there were more places like this!”
Review of Organic Deli Cafe

Organic Deli Cafe
Ranked #82 of 628 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The Organic Deli Cafe has loyally contributed to the Oxfordshire health food scene for five years. Comprised of a multi-floored restaurant and market in Friars Entry and a local organic convenience store on the Botley Road, the Organic Deli Cafe provides an excellent experience with the finest quality ingredients. The Deli stands ready to accommodate particular dietary needs; gluten-free, vegetarian and vegan diners will find it easy to discover food that’s right for them. The Deli is particularly proud of its bespoke indoor and outdoor catering services.
Formby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“We wish there were more places like this!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We ate here whilst in Oxford and found it it be fantastic. The food was good, the staff very friendly and the portions generous. They also sell an excellent range of organic products and produce. If organic food is on your radar, and it should be, then this place is a must if you are in the Oxford area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobeTrottingChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    89
    35
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I love supporting Organic restaurants, especially if they are good and this one is great!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This small deli offers some terrific meals. The menu is very ecclectic, the portions are generous and very reasonably priced. Try the Greek platter for a taste treat or any of the baked potato, salad or egg dishes. We sampled something different each time and everything was excellent. The restaurant is popular with a wide cross-section of people and of course, also with Oxford University students who obviously appreciate the good value. We were so impressed with the quality of the meals, we ate here four times in our three day stay in Oxford.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KJ_in_the_sand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food but very slow service”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I went for brunch on a Saturday with 2 friends. On arrival there were 2 people working behind the counter whilst 1 more was busy with a large order of sandwiches for a catering event. We ordered 3 smoothies, salmon and eggs, eggs benedict and eggs and chorizo sausage. Upstairs was a family group each having a drink and croissants. So not overly busy or complicated orders. 1 hour later the food arrived, followed, very slowly, by one smoothie and 10mins later by another. The third smoothie did not arrive by the time we finished out meal so we went downstairs to pay when they gave us the third drink to take away. The food itself was great and the deli looked well stocked with lots of nice goodies, however the service really let it down.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quality and tasty food with a fantastic menu”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My partner and I had a fantastic meal at the Organic Deli Cafe. The location is very handy, tucked away down a little street in the middle of town. The shop has a great range of fresh, organic produce and specialty teas. Service at the counter was friendly.
The menu was really impressive. There is a great range on the menu; tasty salads, sandiwches, great looking tarts and all day breakfasts. I can thoroughly recommend the "Croque Tartiflette" and the grilled haloumi chese salad with pesto and roasted vegetables. Both dishes were absolutley delicious and the ingredients tasted homemade and so fresh. The portions are very generous and the cake we took home was also very tasty.
I will definitely visit here again, hopefully many times. I'm really looking forward to a takeaway for a picnic on a nice day!
The only things that stopped me giving the Organic Deli Cafe 5 stars was that I didn't love the decor of the upstairs seating, it felt a little down beat, and whilst the prices of the main dishes was quite reasonable, the cakes were pretty pricey (but very tasty).
I urge you to check this place out!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SG1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent local gem, cozy cafe, organic and gluten free foods”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I had breakfast in this cafe today. I arrived just as they were proudly setting out a fresh delivery of organic fruit and beautiful-looking fresh-baked breads. This is a great place for breakfast - I ordered a porridge with fruit and it was a huge portion with a charming wooden spoon, honey on the side, and a large bowl side serving of freshly cut apple, blueberries, and strawberries. This is a great cafe for those looking for people who care about their food!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AandM2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Organic Deli Cafe also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Organic Deli Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing