We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Organic Deli Cafe

Organic Deli Cafe
Ranked #82 of 622 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The Organic Deli Cafe has loyally contributed to the Oxfordshire health food scene for five years. Comprised of a multi-floored restaurant and market in Friars Entry and a local organic convenience store on the Botley Road, the Organic Deli Cafe provides an excellent experience with the finest quality ingredients. The Deli stands ready to accommodate particular dietary needs; gluten-free, vegetarian and vegan diners will find it easy to discover food that’s right for them. The Deli is particularly proud of its bespoke indoor and outdoor catering services.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A real find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

The Organic Deli is Oxford's best organic and gluten free cafe. Gets pretty busy at lunch time and weekends but the food and friendly service still make a bit of queuing worth it. The new waffles with fresh fruit are fabulous. I've taken fresh bread and eggs home too. Prices are reasonable and the quality always very good. They seem to be expanding their range of deli foods with cheese and olives appearing alongside an incredible range of fried fruit, nuts and seeds as well as various flours. It's rare to find such a friendly, comfortable place that focuses on quality food in a city like this.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Mr B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    86
    35
    23
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

I was recommended the organic deli recently, it didn't sound like my normal eaterie but I was in town with my family and thought I'd give it a try. Extremely glad I did, what an amazing find. The service was friendly and welcoming, while the food was delicious. The waffles were the highlight for me and my wife loved the falafel. We are not generally an organic eating family but it felt good giving my children healthy, organic, gluten free food which they had no problem devouring. Will definitely be returning to the organic deli.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank frank13_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely staff great little shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Purchased some specialist matcha tea.

Well the tea is fantastic. Your helpful guidance about the quantity of tea needed came in handy. A small amount is really all it takes, as this tea is powerful and potent stuff. I have been drinking one cup a day for nearly two weeks now and I’ve noticed the difference in my levels of concentration and focus. The tea has also helped me drink less coffee which must be a good thing. Besides being healthy I have to say the taste of the tea is delicious, and considerably more earthy and thick than other green teas I have tried. I’ll be coming back for more!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank oliver t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great tasting food that's actually good for you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

The Organic Deli has great quality organic foods and it's my favourite place to eat in Oxford. I go there quite often because it's one of the very few places in Oxford that has healthy, organic, and vegan options. The food is fresh, has great taste, and is prepared with care and skill. They're also great at accommodating food allergies, and you must go there if you're vegan. They have a wonderful selection of sandwiches, salads, and delicious cakes. Even my friends who aren't vegan love the vegan cakes. I especially like their freshly baked bread which makes everything from their sandwiches to soups taste delicious. I highly recommend the breakfast options because they make the eggs so well! Also, everyone who works there is very friendly and welcoming.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Msrt8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Whatever you eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Good selection of food for different diets/preferences to eat all together. Omnivore, vegetarian, vegan, gluten free: pancakes, sandwiches, breakfasts, soup, cake. Good range of teas. Well adjust meals for you (I had vegan pancakes).

Comfortable chairs and decent sized tables.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VioletwithaTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Organic Deli Cafe also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Organic Deli Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing