We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent, clean but nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tree Hotel at Iffley
Ranked #30 of 81 Oxford B&B and Inns
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
“Decent, clean but nothing special”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

The B&B was good but nothing amazing. Clean and comfortable but needing updating and a thorough cleaning. The bed was pretty old but comfortable enough and the shower was clean but horribly slow to heat up and could not clean the shampoo out of my hair. The staff was friendly enough and accommodating. The food was good in the evening, I had the Chicken Korma and it was excellent, but the breakfast was nothing special. All in all, a good place to rest, safe, secure and clean-ish, just nothing to write home about. Also, its about a 45 minute walk into the centre of town and about a ten minute walk to the bus stop and hop-on-hop-off station (a pretty nice walk), and the scenery around the hotel is beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 89erins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    123
    51
    46
    34
See reviews for
103
129
34
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I was stuck for some available accommodation at short notice as my wife had been admitted to hospital in Oxford. I stayed here for one night, hoping to return home the following day. However, circumstances dictated that I stayed on a further day. Hence I am able to give my experience of two of the single rooms available.
The first night, upon arrival, I was disappointed not to have been shown the room beforehand and was told that the room was "up the stairs and around the corner" Perhaps as I struggled up the stairs with my suitcase and walking stick some help may have been offered but sadly no. As I entered the room I was aware of one of the staff bounding up the stairs to warn me that the door jambs had recently been painted. Just as well I hadn't lent against them!
Room 4 was small but cozy although the décor was very dated. The furniture had to be out of the 70s and the chrome in the bathroom was extremely rusty and well past its prime.The one pillow on offer had no substance to it whatever and every time I turned during the night the bed would rock and roll. The following morning the TV remote suddenly decided to stop working and with no means of changing channels on the TV itself, I had to switch off at the plug. Breakfast, if choosing the full English, was one egg, one shrivelled-up sausage, one rasher of VERY salty bacon, toast, beans and half a tomato.
Unable to find alternative, suitable accommodation for the second night I reluctantly booked a second night. This time I was allocated a different room (Room 7) and although it had a larger bathroom this was not an advantage as the following morning was cold and with no heating in the room (the radiators appeared to have had their adjustment valves decommissioned and all they would do was turn, turn, turn) I was reluctant to take a shower. I eventually plucked up courage only to find that the shower pressure was so feeble that I had to stand almost against the wall as it little more than dribbled over me. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for a romantic getaway but as budget accommodation it works well enough. If only the owners would update the room interiors.

Room Tip: For solo travellers...Room 4 is small, Room 7 has larger bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfhalliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oxford hotels

Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
504 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The Tree Inn at Iffley is a long taxi ride from Oxford. It is essentially a large pub that seems to serve mainly indian food and therefore we ate in Oxford. The rooms are very poor. The one we had was spacious but tired beyond belief. The kettle was falling apart, the shower nozzle in the bathroom fell off the wall when touched, the corner bath was so ancient its skin was peeling, the door lock did not work properly. The breakfast was parsimonious and not well cooked. And yet, this was the second most expensive place we stayed in on our trip. Not worth the money and would never consider it again

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Had a lovely weekend break at the tree hotel, Iffley, it's true the rooms
could do with quite a bit of modernising but overall it was clean, tidy,and comfy beds.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, we had half board and the food was lovely, we tried the Indian dishes both nights and couldn't fault them at all. The location is excellent just a half hour walk by the river into Oxford, passing two lovely pubs where the food also looked good, the prince of Wales (another friendly owner) and the Isis farmhouse,very rustic but serves the beer out of barrels which my husband loved. Breakfasts were really good, cereals,fruit,yoghurt,then full English if you want I opted for mushroom omelette one morning and scrambled eggs and smoked salmon the next very tasty. Hope to stay again soon.

Room Tip: Just check on their website when you book that they haven,t got any special event on, as on the Satu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaye W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We booked for one night and extended to stay for two, eating dinner at the hotel both nights as well. The Family room was spacious and comfortable. Spotlessly clean linen. Decor was a little tired but overall good. Meals were fresh and interesting, varied menu. Parking was safe. Wi-fi worked well. Staff were warm and welcoming. Lovely quiet location, perfect for overcoming jetlag! Close to Oxford without the hassle of being in the centre of town. Would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The location of the hotel is superb, in a beautiful village and not far from the city centre by bus. However, the hotel is in need of renovation. We stayed in a family room (number 6) and the quality of furnishing is very poor, and dates back to the 1980's or even 1970's? The bathroom is even worse and is in complete need of replacing. The paper on the ceiling was coming off and the window frames are rotten. The standard of breakfast was average, only one rasher of bacon for a cooked breakfast, and they are VERY stringent that breakfast is served between 8.30 and 9.30 only. I heard one couple complain because they arrived just after 9.30. We only stayed one night, but I would not stay here again until a complete renovation of the rooms has taken place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
440 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here for one night: had a large room, which was also quiet. The hotel is located in a residential neighborhood about 3 km from the center of Oxford. Service was very friendly, and the breakfast not bad, but the hotel was relatively run down. On the other hand, it was not expensive...

Room Tip: Hotel has it own car park; great if you arrive by car in congested Oxford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrBrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.1 mi away
Hawkwell House Hotel
Hawkwell House Hotel
#18 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
1.1 mi away
Oxfordbnb
Oxfordbnb
#7 of 81 in Oxford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.6 mi away
Browns
Browns
#55 of 81 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lakeside Guest House
Lakeside Guest House
#22 of 81 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
4.4 mi away
Five Mile View Guest House
2.1 mi away
Red Mullions
Red Mullions
#2 of 81 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tree Hotel at Iffley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tree Hotel at Iffley

Property: The Tree Hotel at Iffley
Address: 63 Church Way | Iffley Village, Oxford OX4 4EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tree Hotel at Iffley 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Tree Hotel at Iffley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing