We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night Stay in Oxford”
Review of Tilbury Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tilbury Lodge
Ranked #23 of 85 Oxford B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had an outstanding stay at Tilbury Lodge. We only stayed one night, but had a great experience. Room was large, clean with a great bed. Stefan was very helpful with information and was a very attentive jovial host. Breakfast was great and they also served us some great biscuits and coffee when we arrived. It is about a 25 minute walk into central Oxford, although the bus route is easily accessible if you don't want to walk. On the flip side it is situated on a beautiful quiet lane outside of the city central, so is very conducive for a restful sleep. We've stayed at many B&B's throughout Europe and U.S. and this is one of the best.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jefocean79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 257 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

How do you change perfection. From the time we arrived nothing was to much trouble. This B&B sets a high standard from the delivered cup of tea and goodies on arrival, the breakfast, home made muffins and the room where everything has been thought of from the fridge, foot spa, wine glasses, home made goodies. Not much else to say except that they have set the bar very high.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 62WAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Oxford is not a good town for autos, and Tilbury Lodge is a very short walk to the stop for S1, 11, and 4C buses---an easy 10-minute ride into town center. The excellent hospitality experienced with Stephan ranges from "cookies home-made with love" upon arrival to friendly conversations during an exceptional full-English breakfast. The room was top line accommodation. We reaffirm all the other excellent reviews---definitely stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobKonecny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed here again (this time for 6 nights) and, from the moment we arrived to the time we left, our time at Tilbury could not be faulted.
From the sparkling clean rooms (with fans and spare sheets provided due to HOT weather) to the "goodies" provided on arrival and the chance to catch up with all the news from Stefan, Melanie and Lorrie - the wonderful breakfasts which set you up for the day - the helpful advice about various eating places to try in Oxford, the team at Tilbury really go the extra mile - and then some !!

We were down for my son's graduation (yes, the lad made it !!- thanks, Arthur for being our personal Graduation photographer !) but, although his time at Oxford has ended we will be back - as I have said on previous postings the Tourist Board should snap Stefan up to write the manual on how things should be done. Just perfect in every way.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laudermum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Tilbury Lodge. The owners are absolutely fabulous and it shows in the details. They have homemade cookies in the room along with meringues. They offered us tea when we got there and were very quick with directions on how to get into town. It is just a short walk to the bus stop. We told Stefan a couple of days before we got there that my wife has a gluten allergy and they were ready for us. From gluten free cookies in the room, to gluten free bread in the morning as part of breakfast. There were a couple of vegetarians also staying there and they got a special breakfast also. Clearly Stefan and his wife enjoy doing this and it is possibly the best place we have ever stayed at on vacation around the world. I would highly recommend this to anyone that needs to stay anywhere close to Oxford.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

In Stefan, the owner and his wife, you have the perfect combination of passion about customer service and attention to detail.

We were welcomed on arrival and made to feel at home immediately. The B&B is immaculate, spotlessly clean, with all the facilities one would want. The room was large and very comfortable.

This is a first class business offering first class service. I would recommend it on the basis as being one of the best we have ever stayed in............

Room Tip: We were in room 7 overlooking the garden. It was very quiet, large with great amenities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gorseinonboy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here for three nights whilst visiting Oxford. The owners were very friendly and helpful. We got a free upgrade to a larger room. Breakfast was great, every day slightly different things on offer, including many homemade things like banana bread:-) ! The rooms were very clean and modern and there were homemade biscuits and sweets in the room. The location is quiet and peaceful but the bus stop is very close and there is a regular bus into the city it takes about 15 mins. One improvement to the breakfast.... add English marmelade. Would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
3.4 mi away
Oxfordbnb
Oxfordbnb
#8 of 85 in Oxford
108 reviews
1.9 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
4.1 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
3 mi away
Hill Farm B&B
Hill Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Marston
56 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lane House B&B
Lane House B&B
#1 of 1 in Farmoor
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tilbury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilbury Lodge

Address: 5 Tilbury Lane, Oxford OX2 9NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range: $104 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Tilbury Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tilbury Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing