We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home B&B - recommended”
Review of Tilbury Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tilbury Lodge
Ranked #21 of 85 Oxford B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 21, 2013

For the location and price this is a pretty good bed and breakfast, not a 5 star amongst the best we have stayed at but a very good 4 at that.

Converted and extended family home on outskirts of Oxford, 10 minutes to city centre and sights, parking to front.

Very genial and friendly helpful hosts who obviously go that extra mile to keep their clients happy, loads of little touches that make the difference and rooms larger than most, much better VFM than a Premier or similar chain hotel in the area. Lots of litle freebied, home made cakes, sweets etc.

Breakfast pretty typical of most and only minor gripe is soundproofing or lack of it butgiven nature of conversion perhaps not surprising - doesn't detract from fact however that this is a well above average B&B with good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thedragon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 257 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

If you're looking for a great place to stay whilst visiting Oxford then look no further than Tilbury Lodge.
We stayed over the Easter weekend and having spent hours searching the web for accommodation, decided to book because of all the fantastic reviews. Tilbury Lodge far exceeded our expectations!
From the minute we arrived to the minute we left we were made to feel extremely welcome. There were far too many nice little touches to mention them all but the homemade (by Stefan) cakes on arrival, the delicious breakfasts (which included homemade hot cross buns!) and finding little Easter eggs in our rooms on Saturday night were the highlights.
Tilbury Lodge is in a really great location for getting in to Oxford. It is a 5 minute walk to a bus stop where the buses run every 15 minutes in to the centre of town (a journey which takes 15 minutes at most). Close enough to make the most of your visit to Oxford but far enough out that you won't get woken by drunken students in the early hours.
The rooms themselves were very clean with enormous beds and great ensuite facilities. The tea & coffee making facilities included homemade (yes - by Stefan again) biscuits, a lovely treat and change from the usual branded ones you get in hotel rooms.
A big thank you to Stefan & Laurie for a fantastic stay. We hope to return and won't hesitate to recommend Tilbury Lodge to others.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Samantha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We have just returned from a short break to Oxford.We stayed with Stefan and Laurie at Tilbury Lodge and can only say one thing, fantastic. We wre welcomed with tea and cake. Lovely room with lots of little extras. Very helpful and knowledgable about things to see. Breakfasts were excellent and we were only sorry we hadn't booked to stay longer, but we will definitely return this year for longer stay.

Room Tip: We were at the back but it is situated in a private road so there are no issues with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeenM_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We booked this based on people's comments on here and I can say I concur with all the 5 star ones. Definitely the best B&B we've stayed in. The owners, Stefan and Laurie couldn't do enough. We were up graded and had coffee and homemade cakes waiting for us. The room was immaculate and had all you needed. Inc a foot spa! Breakfast was superb with homemade muffins and flapjacks on the menu. Great quiet location and we walked into Oxford every day. It's only about a mile. Very friendly and lots of advice on places to see and go. Thanks for a wonderful few days. I'm sure we'll return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gazcap666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is best B&B we stayed in during our 5 week trip to the UK. A friendly welcome with afternoon tea when we arrived, a lovely room stocked with lots of goodies and a great breakfast the next day. We couldn't fault it in any way.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nigel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We were greeted by the owners with a cup of tea and home baked cup cake. The room had every luxury you could imagine, including a bath tub with bubble bath and a shower with great water pressure. Breakfast included home baked muffins which were great. One of the best bed and breakfast places that my husband and I ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellenjdlmsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I think this b+b has become my favourite overnight, a lovely welcome with too many special touches to mention, Stefan is a great host and Laurie kindly attended to us also so many thanks too. The b+b is located in a handy spot on a good bus route just a short distance from Oxford, Stefan had a map to hand which was appreciated-we can't wait to visit again in the future-we had room 1 which was a huge kingsize room with everything you need. The large carpark is also a bonus.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PINKPRINCESS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
2.8 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
730 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gables Guest House
Gables Guest House
#15 of 85 in Oxford
179 reviews
0.1 mi away
High Hedges
High Hedges
#37 of 85 in Oxford
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Oxford Osney Arms
The Oxford Osney Arms
#18 of 85 in Oxford
168 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sabine Barn B&B
Sabine Barn B&B
#5 of 85 in Oxford
140 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sandfield Guest House
Sandfield Guest House
#6 of 85 in Oxford
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tilbury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilbury Lodge

Address: 5 Tilbury Lane, Oxford OX2 9NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range: $104 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Tilbury Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing