We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous atmosphere”
Review of Wadham College

Wadham College
Ranked #26 of 145 things to do in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Forming part of Oxford University, Wadham is a co-educational, medium-size undergraduate and graduate College located in the heart of Oxford near the Sheldonian Theater and Bodleian Library.
Reviewed July 20, 2018

My association with Wadham College goes back many years to when I first arrived in Oxford over 40 years ago. It is a beautiful old college with a wonderful chapel in which I have attended many Christmas services. In later years I became a member of convocation and ate in the college refectory regularly. However, the food in the past was far better than it is nowadays. I can still remember the wonderful dishes from the seventies and eighties and the lovely helpful staff at the college. It is a marvelous experience to sit in the refectory surrounded by wonderful art works eating a meal. Visiting Wadham is one of the highlights of my regular visits to Oxford. As it is one of Oxford's oldest colleges it is well worth a visit.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank aecmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"twin room"
in 4 reviews
"excellent breakfast"
in 3 reviews
"facing the road"
in 2 reviews
"shakespeare company"
in 2 reviews
"gay rights"
in 2 reviews
"breakfast is served"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful chapel"
in 4 reviews
"main hall"
in 3 reviews
"oxford city centre"
in 2 reviews
"bodleian library"
in 3 reviews
"visiting oxford"
in 3 reviews
"dining hall"
in 3 reviews
"walking tour"
in 2 reviews
"harry potter"
in 2 reviews
"quad"
in 19 reviews
"college"
in 58 reviews
"ensuite"
in 4 reviews
Filter

13 - 17 of 115 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2018

went here to see a performance of a play in the beautiful grounds of the college but did find time to have a wander around the gardens & buildings of this beautiful old college, well worth a visit if you have time to spare whilst on your Morse weekend

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank wayne250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2018 via mobile

Beautiful place. Unfortunately we could see that place from outside. It is near Oxford city centre. Worth to see.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank somas260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2018

It's a miracle to find a college when you can go inside without paying - and this one is really lovely! It's located near the city center, so if you would like to see how a college looks like, I would advise everyone to go there - skip the line and save your money!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank leuveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2018

We managed to get a little peak in here whilst on our Inspector Morse, Lewis and Endeavour walking tour. Beautiful place. The church on the grounds was magnificent. Very picturesque.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Keirah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wadham College also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Wadham College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing