We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely College”
Review of Wadham College

Wadham College
Ranked #40 of 177 things to do in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Forming part of Oxford University, Wadham is a co-educational, medium-size undergraduate and graduate College located in the heart of Oxford near the Sheldonian Theater and Bodleian Library.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely College”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Underrated gem in the heart of the university town. The main quad is the central highlight and the rest is really idyllic as well - definitely worth a wonder round!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    18
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
318 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“The most beautiful place in the world”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Of course I am biased. I was a student there in the early to mid 50s. However, see for yourselves. The front quad is exquisite. It is a perfect quadrangle. The Hall has to be with, admittedly that of Christ Church, the most beautiful and impressive in the whole University. The chapel is lovely, the architecture magnificent, and even if you are not religious, a wonderful place to go and just meditate. The gardens too are simply lovely, take a seat there and just admire all that is around you. Also, please do not forget the statue of Sir Maurice Bowra. He was Warden of Wadham during my time and, even after 60 years, I still haven't met a more interesting man. Have a look around - tell them that Feff sent you!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Feff35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Spent one night here.
The college is very central and clean.
The rooms were spacious and towels and toiletries were provided. Our ensuite room had a fantastic shower and plenty of storage space.
Breakfast in the hall was great. The food was good and the hall reminded me of a Harry Potter film with long tables and benches.
Staff were helpful with suggestions for what to do in Oxford and friendly.
Would recommend the guided tourist walk around Oxford.
Also walk by the river

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Fabulous College Accomodation Centrally Located”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Very nice room in Wadham College. Breakfast was excellent. Of course, Wadham is right in the centre and very convenient to visit other Oxford colleges. The lodge was open to take left luggage. It was nice to revisit Oxford again by staying in a college

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oxon93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wish I had been a student in Oxford”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights B&B. Great atmosphere, free reign in the college including student bar! Breakfast food very good, served in the Great Hall and the service was better than any hotel we have been in.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank magsmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wadham College also viewed

 

Been to Wadham College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing