We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a look”
Review of Oxford Town Hall

Oxford Town Hall
Ranked #49 of 181 things to do in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This magnificent Victorian building continue to play a key role in the management, social and cultural life of residents and visitors but is also a versatile venue and home of the Museum of Oxford.With stunning architecture, Oxford Town Hall is the perfect venue for:civil and partnership ceremonies, wedding receptions and social events, meetings and conferences, corporate dinners and Christmas parties.exhibitions and fairs, orchestral and popular concerts Located in the centre of Oxford this multi purpose venue is an ideal location to host your event or start your visit in Oxford.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Came across the Town Hall on a recent visit to Oxford. It's worth a look for the small museum area with interesting artifacts and things to learn about the city. There is a small well-stocked shop and a cafe also. Free entry.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank helenh462016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxfordTownHall1, Events Team at Oxford Town Hall, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our venue - we're glad you enjoyed your visit. Next time we recommend booking on a Town Hall tour so you get to view the fabulous historic rooms on the first floor and find out a little more about the Town Hall's history.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    31
    10
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Six join a Wedding reception at Oxford Town Hall”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

First trip to Oxford, for a wedding at Oriel College, drinks reception at Botanic Garden and then Wedding Breakfast at Town Hall. Beautiful day and Town Hall was a lovely setting for wedding meal. Children were a bit worried the food would match the "Head on a Platter" painting but fortunately all was well! Food was fine and all staff very helpful. Very convenient for 400 Park and Ride.

Good end to great day. Only had brief chance to take in some of the Town Hall but happy memories.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxfordTownHall1, Events Team at Oxford Town Hall, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review - we're so glad you enjoyed our venue. Next time you're in Oxford book in for a Town Hall tour so you get to see all the other fabulous rooms and find out a little more about it's history.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Grand staircase in impressive old building”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Very easy access, just off the centre crossroads at Carfax, in St Akldate's. A lot of panelled rooms with imposing oil paintings on the walls. they hold civil wedding ceremonies and receptions there. The toilets are on the ground floor and serve as public conveniences open to all. There is a small archive or museum in a room on the right of the entrance and displays of the Mayoral Silver in the hall. Try and wander around and look into the chambers, with wooden raised benches. The café in the basement is a very hit and miss affair - sometimes open, sometimes not and quite expensive with limited offerings.
The Town Hall has been used for numerous tv programmes - Morse, Lewis, Midsomer Murders and so on. It is definitely worth a visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxfordTownHall1, Oxford Town Hall Events Team at Oxford Town Hall, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for your informative review. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and would recommend us to others. I have passed on your comments to the cafe manager so they will take a look at this for you.
We also recommend our Town Hall tours runs by the Museum of Oxford for full access to the building and historical stories about the various paintings and ornamentation, you can buy tickets for the tours in the Museum of Oxford gift shop. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Hidden away cafe”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Its the cafe I'm reviewing. Lovely little place and not pricey and the staff are very friendly. Nice and relaxing compared to the busy high street coffee shops. Good coffee and tasty cakes. I went in on a Saturday and just a few in there then which I preferred so it was more relaxing. Well worth a visit

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank alyecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxfordTownHall1, Oxford Town Hall Events Team at Oxford Town Hall, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our on-site cafe, I have passed on your kind comments to the cafe team who will be delighted by your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful visit”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had a tour of the Town hall, costing £4 each and saw the Crypt, the Assembly room, the Court room and the magnificent Hall. The architecture was wonderful and being able to visit the Court room and the Crypt were bonuses.The guide was very informative and we did not feel we were being hustled from room to room. All in all a very enjoyable visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Valwheretogonext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxfordTownHall1, Oxford Town Hall Events Team at Oxford Town Hall, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Town Hall Tours - we are really pleased you had such a great experience. The Museum of Oxford have some excellent volunteers who work really hard to educate themselves on the history of not only the Town Hall but the city of Oxford as well. We will pass on your kind comments to the hard working team. We hope you enjoy the rest of your stay in Oxford!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oxford Town Hall also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Oxford Town Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing