We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Oxford Town Hall

Oxford Town Hall
Ranked #49 of 177 things to do in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This magnificent Victorian building continue to play a key role in the management, social and cultural life of residents and visitors but is also a versatile venue and home of the Museum of Oxford.With stunning architecture, Oxford Town Hall is the perfect venue for:civil and partnership ceremonies, wedding receptions and social events, meetings and conferences, corporate dinners and Christmas parties.exhibitions and fairs, orchestral and popular concerts Located in the centre of Oxford this multi purpose venue is an ideal location to host your event or start your visit in Oxford.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Walking along Cornmarket Street on the way back to Trinity College, we decided to take a quick look into the Town Hall building. What a find! Gerry, one of the security staff, kindly gave us a private tour of the building even though it was officially closed. We saw the Assembly room where the mayor sits. We visited chambers that the public never sees. And then he took us to the music auditorium. Oh my! Magnificent. As the attached picture confirms.

Don't miss this.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank skip15000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxfordTownHall1, Oxford Town Hall Events Team at Oxford Town Hall, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review - we're so glad you enjoyed your visit and are as fond of the Town Hall as we are!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    30
    10
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Amazing place, Thank you Gary!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were walking off dinner and came to this beautiful building with a sign out front for an Organ Recital with a picture of the most amazing room. I went in to inquiry if we could look at it but it was in the evening and it was closed. While inside you can look up the staircase and see the amazing carved ceilings and stained glass windows. I asked if we could go and take pictures, while we were in the Hall a very nice gentlemen came to greet us, Gary from Fairfield Connecticut, where I once lived. We hit it off and he took us on a private tour of the building and the Recital Hall. It is still the Town Hall and is also used for special events and weddings. Gary took us to the Recital hall, the walls and ceilings are covered with fretwork and coats of arms and a huge Organ. The now famous Rolling Stones performed there in 1964.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxfordTownHall1, Oxford Town Hall Events Team at Oxford Town Hall, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review Rosanne - we will pass on your thanks to Gary and hope you can return to enjoy one of the organ recitals another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice venue for gigs and beer festivals”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Saw a number of bands here, including popular local band Stornoway. Nice venue to host bands, especially when they go acoustic and use the massive organ available to them. Otherwise the highlight of the year is the Oxford Beer Festival that is hosted here - lots of beer to be tried and tested over the weekend!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank AirwavesFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxfordTownHall1, Oxford Town Hall Events Team at Oxford Town Hall, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Oxford Town Hall - we are very proud of the Town Hall as a venue and its ability to host a whole range of events and musical concerts. The Oxford Beer Festival is also a favourite of ours - roll on October, we look forward to seeing you there!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden gem Oxford town hall cafe”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I visited Oxford last week with my kiddies and found this gem by chance (black board on steps of the Oxford town hall entrance). It is tucked away behind the museum shop and down some stairs but well worth making the effort. Clean, friendly staff, high chair for my little one and great coffee delivered to our table. We had a scone and chocolate brownie, kids had carton juice and sausage roll, all nice and good value.. Would recommend if you want to get away from the busy high street.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxfordTownHall1, Oxford Town Hall Events Team at Oxford Town Hall, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your review Natalie!
We are pleased you enjoyed the cafe - the team have been working hard to make it a success.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Well worth doing”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This building is amazing and well worth doing the tour for a small fee you also get to go down in the crypt .....if you do not do the tour you can not see the big hall upstairs and what great architecture it has..

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxfordTownHall, Events Team at Oxford Town Hall, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your review - we are very proud of our tours and knowledgeable volunteers who help run these. They are an excellent way to see the hidden wonders of the building and find out more about its incredible history. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oxford Town Hall also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Oxford Town Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing