We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An interesting collection of stuff”

Museum of the History of Science
Book In Advance
More Info
$52.39*
and up
Full-Day Tour of Windsor, Eton and Oxford from London
More Info
$74.66*
and up
Oxford, Stratford and the Cotswold Villages Day Trip from London
Ranked #23 of 181 things to do in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum boasts an unrivalled collection of more than 10,000 scientific instruments ranging from the time of antiquity to the early twentieth century.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
415 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“An interesting collection of stuff”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Arrived just before a free 20-minute tour which made it much better than just looking around on your own. Lots to see but a bit repetitive in places, as in lots of the same type of instrument in one area.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank cngj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    173
    56
    11
    12
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Visited the museum in May 2014 with my husband and 2 daughters, 8 and 6. As soon as we entered the museum we were followed by a security guard. Do not know why unless they took a dislike to my husbands shaved head, as when he walked in the guard could not stop following him. My children were doing the activity sheets which they always do in museums and luckily did not know what was going on. Made me and my husband feel very uncomfortable and I have never experienced this in my life. It was a shame as we would have loved to stay longer and taken a better look round but didn't feel welcome.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank fuller37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Intriguing contraptions”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Cool little place to pass half an hour in a lovely part of the City.
Friendly staff - especially the man downstairs who knows everything about everything and is very entertaining!

Must see Albert's Blackboard in the Basement.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SeaLordSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Highly interesting for boys of all age, unusual collection of scientific tools”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I liked it, my wife slightly less, but I am afraid it is quite typical. Beautiful collection of historical science toys - sorry - science tools. In a historical building with old wooden creaking stairs, from astronomy, to navigation, chemistry etc etc I like it very much.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ivantomek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

A beautiful collection of scientific instruments. Orrerys, microscopes, telescopes and much more. And it's all free. (but please leave a donation)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank theFloyd67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of the History of Science also viewed

 

Been to Museum of the History of Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing