We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, value for money hotel.”
Review of River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
River Hotel
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly, value for money hotel.”
Reviewed November 7, 2010

The River Hotel is a very friendly and comfortable hotel with a slightly old-fashioned charm. The quiet riverside location makes for a quiet night but the hotel is only fifteen minutes stroll from the centre of Oxford. The service and breakfast were really good and the post-checkout left luggage service was greatly appreciated. As our son is studying in Oxford, we look forward to return visits to the riverside Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoyo186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wsm, Owner at River Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2010
Having returned to the Hotel and breaking the anonymous cover on departure, we can now say thank you to Mr and Mrs 'yoyo' for your review - from all at the River Hotel, Oxford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    118
    57
    26
    31
See reviews for
50
101
35
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Linden
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2010

The River was recommended to me by the staff at the Royal Oxford hotel. I returned to Oxford two weeks after my first visit, and again stayed at The River...right off of the River Thames. I understand it was a 19th Century captains house/now converted to a B&B...
The hotel is 2 minutes from the train station and is perfect for making my travel plans less stressful...It is only a 10 minute walk to Cornmarket/downtown and "close enough" to get the flavour of the inner city, but far enough to be away from all the "hootin' and hollering" of the party croud.
The staff is lead by the hotel owner and competant staff. An English breakfast is included in the room rate and if you tell them you've got to leave quite early, they will even set you up with iced milk, cereal and fresh fruit so you'll be ready for the new day. Next time to Oxford, I'll be staying at the River.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robertstravelingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

only stopped one night thank god, the smell of the hotel was of damp and dust throughout,from the top floor all the way down to the bottom floor. we stayed in room 18, on the top floor, and as soon as we entered the room we realised how bad it was. i dont think it had been cleaned in months the dust was awful, the carpets were filthy, with marks all over them. tried to open the window, took over 15 mins as must have been the only thing in the house that had been repainted.the bathroom was no better, huge stains on the lino, awful shower curtain that was way too big,gripper strips in the bath which made it so uncomfortable to lie down on.plus the fact if you have a full half hour to run a bath as the water was trickling out, between boiling hot, to freezing cold, in between the banging of the pipes.REALLY BAD. stopped for breakfast , but wasnt worth it, waited 25 mins for a cup of tea, then when the full english came it was laughable, you could have 1 slice of toast either with your breakfast or before with jam,etc. not both. 1 sausage,1 egg, i slice of burnt bacon, oh and the biggest tomato ponked on your plate that was completely ungrilled. also if you come back after 11 pm, you have to walk up behind the house through garages, with no lights,to come in the back entrance.and just to top it off, we woke up with the biggest spider next to our heads ,good job we spent 15 mins the previous day opening the window.naff hotel, and i still have no idea who the proprietors were, so , not even friendly.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aicajaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wsm, Owner at River Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2011
Time has passed since this review was posted, now that the lease has eventually been finalised for a few more years, nearly all of the bedrooms have been decorated and re-carpetted, as well as ongoing major work compliant with needs which will include
the spasmodic water pressure problem in your room, unfortunately common in the area.

As someone seems to take delight in leaving your review on the front page, it is time to address your comments, some of which are unfounded as our recent postings will affirm,
for example:
dust, lack of cleaning - rooms etc. are serviced on a daily basis.
bath strips, instructed to be in place to prevent slips and falls.
secondary double glazing has a spring catch lock, with a notice to request assistance if preferred.
Breakfast is cooked to order, we aim to give prompt service, in your case you followed a group
which may have caused some delay, you only had to say if you were in a hurry, which is not usual on a leisurely Sunday.
There is a self-service starter buffet offering, fruit juice, yogurts, cereals, fresh fruit, soft fruits, chilled milk, various teas and preserves.
At the table we take your choice from the menu which is cooked to order, there is no restriction for hot drinks or 'more toast'

Every room is issued with a swipe card to allow entry in and out of the Hotel during closedown,
no guest is locked in or out. When the main door is closed overnight, the garden path leads to the river lawn, car park and back door for the swipe card entry, adequate dusk to dawn and a movement halogen lighting is installed.

The only access by car is the Hotel's right of way into the lane approached from Mill street, behind adjoining properties, no garages in the area.

It is unfortunate that the Hotel did not meet with your expectations, we trust that your next
visit to Oxford affords you with a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oxford hotels

Monterey, California
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2010

The River View Hotel has a great location right on the Thames - a leisurely and interesting 20 minute stroll along the river to reach the city centre (away from busy traffic).
It's an old hotel but the owners made us feel welcome and we enjoyed our stay.
Mary and Wayne Christensen, Monterey, California

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marychristensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

For £65 a night I wasn't expecting much, but I would have liked a room that was in this century -Everything was old, yellowed, and dingy (old carpets, towels, curtains - holes in walls and broken lights) and just terrible. If the owner reads this, you need to seriously ungrade your business if you want to stay in business. They charged a £20 deposit, and now I know why - Definitely one for the "Hotel Inspector" TV programme!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank businesstraveller52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2010

After a 5-6 week cycle/camping holiday, I was pretty easy going about accommodation, but my wife's expectations were higher. Eighty pounds per night may be good value in Oxford, but the expectation from someone booking via the internet is that such a figure entitles one to facilities/cleanliness that were just not delivered in this case.

I do understand the background here - that the operators are unlikely to invest much in refurbishment because the owner has other intentions for the property...but I suspect that the key issue here is that the online description portrays the property in a more favourable light than is justified. As a result, folks don't discover what is actually provided until they arrive onsite - and I can well understand the emotional comments involved. I know my wife was quite angry at the time!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff_London_200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

The staff is really friendly and helpful, The location is perfect next to the train station and within walking distance to the center of Oxford. Full breakfast included in price with view of the Thames canal - very pleasing in the morning. On the down side: irregular hot water when showering. Overall: excellent value.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoralBeachAparthotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#13 of 44 in Oxford
662 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
690 reviews
0.7 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ethos Hotel & Caffe
Ethos Hotel & Caffe
#22 of 44 in Oxford
501 reviews
1.2 mi away
Old Black Horse
Old Black Horse
#39 of 44 in Oxford
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oxford Osney Arms
The Oxford Osney Arms
#17 of 82 in Oxford
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Hotel

Property: River Hotel
Address: 17 Botley Road | Oxford City by River Thames, Oxford OX2 0AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — River Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long established local business in a good location by the River Thames at Osney bridge. Walking distance to city, colleges and venues, Oxford rail and bus stations, one of nearest to Said Business School and Kings Centre. Small hotel friendly service and value, all rooms with own bath with shower head and toilet, digital TV, radio and free tea/coffee tray. Residents bar/lounge, Free car park on site, Free wifi. VisitBritain **Metro grading awarded since 2007, free breakfast service with buffet and main meal cooked to order. 24-hour access with key. Oxford college owned property, originally 1870s master-builder's home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing