We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
River Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$299
$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$313
$305
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$152
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$368
$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$111
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Oxford(Oxford)(Great Value!)
$96
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$233
$227
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$126
$99
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveler rating
57
127
60
28
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
127
60
28
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationcity centrebreakfast traybubble bathrooms are basiccar parka bit tiredlocation is idealpriced hotelfew minutes walkvisit oxfordsmall hoteldouble bedplenty of hot waterold buildingyogurtthames
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 303 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2014

The room was cold with old furniture and the carpet had stains. The reception area was like going back to the 1960's. Absolutely unacceptable standard for the amount of money that was paid for booking this dump.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SARABJIT S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This hotel is fantastic. I have stayed here several times whilst working in Oxford. It's very clean and comfortable if a bit dated in decor, but I just love that... makes me really feel like i'm at home. The landlady is charming and very helpful also the "pièce de résistance" is the breakfast....best English going...order as much as you want how you want it, great, just what I need. Hat's off to the River hotel for making my stay so easy!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This hotel is really more like a large B&B. However there is a bar and they do bar snacks, though we didn't try them. Notable in the bar area were the magazines and board games that you could use, and I noticed books to borrow elsewhere. So no arid surroundings. The breakfast was good and cooked dishes made to order. The staff are friendly and helpful, and I was particularly impressed by the website. The centre of Oxford is no distance but a bus can be had nearby. As a family group we were all together on the top floor, where some of the services don't reach. The cold water in room 18 was sparse and the television reception terrible.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Rowanberry22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The River Hotel in Oxford was probably the worst hotel we stayed at during our trip through the British Isles. The lady at the front desk was extremely crotchety, the bathroom had pubes on the floor (even after we asked for the bathroom to be cleaned again-it didn't appear to be cleaned after the previous occupants), an inch of dust covered everything, and the beds were awful. Oh, and so much street noise. However, it is affordable and very close to the train station. If you don't mind a little dust, genital hairs, and rude old desk ladies, it's not too bad!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyGodiva30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The hotel is very convenient for the station and has free parking, which is difficult to find this close in to the town centre. Its easily walkable into town and close to a variety of good looking restaurants. The room was basic but fine. Breakfast was great and the owner was very pleasant. We left some stuff in the room which the owner very kindly sent on to us. I'd recommend this place if you are driving and want a functional overnight stay in Oxford without paying for frills.

Room Tip: we had a room facing the back - the car park. It was quiet. Didn't really go here for the view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 58Andyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews