We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy hotel”
Review of River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
River Hotel
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Diest, Brabant, Belgium
2 reviews
“Cozy hotel”
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed one night in this hotel, to conclude our trip to the Cotswolds and visit Oxford. We chose the hotel because it was close to the city centre and had parking space behind the hotel. The hotel is older but cozy and we had a nice, clean room (3 adults). Very nice breakfast! The only thing that bothered us was the noise from the traffic outside, but then again, we live very quiet and are not used to it. I would certainly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    115
    56
    26
    29
See reviews for
46
99
35
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Im the sort of person who has difficulty sleeping if im not in a place i consider 'home'. Be that my actual home, or my university dorm room. I dont go on holiday and i dont sleep in hotels usually because i simply cannot rest in them. This hotel was different to everything i have experienced before. I have stayed a total of three times so far, due to a problem with my second year uni accomodation, and each time has been a pleasure. The rooms are warm, clean and well supplied. The staff simply could not do enough for me, and i felt welcome and looked after. The bathrooms were excellent, even having bathtubs which is something less common in hotels these days. I really cannot recommend this place enough, whether you're in Oxford for a holiday or just passing through, you will be welcome here. I was sad to see an extremely negative review about the first room i stayed in. I can say i had none of the problems that reviewer seemed to have. Once again, my highest recommendations for the River Hotel. Warm, friendly and a delight to stay in, with great views of the river thrown in.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexanderLW13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We came from Australia and had a 3 week stay in the River Hotel and enjoyed it very much. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful.The hotel does a very good breakfast. A good feature is the location. It is located on the river, close to the railway station and buses, also a short walk to the city centre. The rates are low by Oxford standards. If you are looking for a hotel with older character and charm, I would highly recommend the River Hotel.

Room Tip: lower rooms avoid stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank collin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Oxford has expensive hotels, but that’s not an excuse to rip people off, which I’m afraid the River Hotel does. I was expecting much more for my money. If it were half the price I'd reconsider, but £77 per night is just crazy.

The shower was possibly the worst part as the water was either scalding hot or freezing cold and had very low pressure. I ended up washing my hair under the tap! The bed was really uncomfortable (mushy with wear) and when my friend opened the wardrobe a moth flew out! My bathroom hadn’t been cleaned in the day (quite a big thing to miss) and the staff were consistently unfriendly (I was ordered to leave my room while the extra cleaning took place – not what I wanted after a whole day of walking around).

The breakfast was good though, as it was plentiful and tasty. The location was good too, being next to the station and a short walk to the centre. But, sadly, these are the only good points. This could be such a great place, but sadly there doesn’t seem to be (and hasn’t been in the past 30 years) any interest in renovation. Some day, someone could do wonders with it. It may be one of the cheaper places to stay in Oxford, but I’m not staying there again.

Likes
Breakfast
Location

Dislikes
Very poor value for money, and feel ripped off!
Dated room
Not very clean

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jesse1551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oxford hotels

B.C. Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Very comfortable stay here. 3 of us . My son-in-law, my grandson and myself. No prior booking. We got the last two rooms, in the Annexe across the street, as the hotel was hosting a large family wedding party. We were grateful that they found us room quite late in the evening. The trip acroos to the rooms was not a challenge, and rooms were very well appointed and comfortable. Excellent advice provided on dining possibilities which we followed up on.
Breakfast was comprehensive and very tasty, and as almost always in th U.K., included in he price. The dining room overlooked the Thames, my grandson's first view of that river, with its swans and barges and joggers and cyclists. He was fascinated, as was I, having lived in Oxford briefly as a very young child myself. Good value for money; it was high season after all. Would stay here again when I can afford to return to the U.K.

Room Tip: Only experienced the Annexe, but i would guess that some rooms in the main hotel would overlook the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midastaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2011

I lived in Oxford for 18 months in 2007-08 and occasionally return for business. My stays vary from a few days to a few weeks and I always stay at The River Hotel. The location is great and I've always found the rooms to be clean and neat.

This is not your standard cookie-cutter Holiday Inn, Ibis, or Novotel. It is an old building with that quaint feel of years gone by and it is staffed by people that provide the kind of outstanding old-fashioned service that has long since disappeared at most establishments.

For example, I returned to the hotel after midnight last Saturday, just as the owner was leaving. She had already locked up and was walking out the door. She inquired about my depature the next morning and as soon as she realized it would be too early for breakfast, she re-opened everything to check me out and to prepare breakfast for me! Try to imagine this happening anywhere else for only £77/night.

I fly ~90K miles/year and have stayed in hotels all over Europe, Asia, and the U.S. Most of the time, you get what you pay for. I find The River Hotel to be an exceptional value.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreqSpaceTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otaki Beach, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

The River hotel was a great place to stay, clean room with lovely atmosphere of old world, and right next to the river for taking a relaxing walk. Friendy staff and helpful, we were able to leave a bags in a locked area while we shopped on our last day. We traveled by train. The breakfast was both continental and cooked with a good range of choice, well prsented. Over all a comfortable clean hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annas67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#15 of 44 in Oxford
641 reviews
0.4 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#38 of 44 in Oxford
97 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newton House
Newton House
#29 of 44 in Oxford
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
WestGate Hotel
WestGate Hotel
#62 of 80 in Oxford
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oxford Osney Arms
The Oxford Osney Arms
#17 of 80 in Oxford
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Becket Guest House
Becket Guest House
#57 of 80 in Oxford
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Hotel

Property: River Hotel
Address: 17 Botley Road | Oxford City by River Thames, Oxford OX2 0AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — River Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long established local business in a good location by the River Thames at Osney bridge. Walking distance to city, colleges and venues, Oxford rail and bus stations, one of nearest to Said Business School and Kings Centre. Small hotel friendly service and value, all rooms with own bath with shower head and toilet, digital TV, radio and free tea/coffee tray. Residents bar/lounge, Free car park on site, Free wifi. VisitBritain **Metro grading awarded since 2007, free breakfast service with buffet and main meal cooked to order. 24-hour access with key. Oxford college owned property, originally 1870s master-builder's home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing