We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
River Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Royal Oxford Hotel(Oxford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Euro Bar(Oxford)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveler rating
57
125
60
28
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
125
60
28
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationcity centrebreakfast traybubble bathrooms are basiccar parka bit tiredlocation is idealpriced hotelfew minutes walkvisit oxfordsmall hoteldouble bedplenty of hot waterold buildingyogurtthames
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
199 - 204 of 301 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2011

A one night business trip. Clean comfortable room with all usual facilities.
Pleasant helpful staff. An excellent breakfast. Very well placed for access to the town and with adequate private parking.

I am staying again in a few days.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MisplacedMariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wsm, owner of business, not property at River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2011

Hello Misplaced, Haslemere. Just to say thank you for finding the time to post your review, we trust
that we can look forward to your valued custom again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Booked for 2 nights only stayed the 1. Soiled torn mattresses, holes in blankets, flees in carpets and flies buzzing around ceiling. I appreciate the hotel is dated but that is no excuse for uncleanliness. The hotel is a disgrace and reeks on entering. One broken seat to use in neglected garden and the owner failed to accept the unacceptable state of her establishment. Stayed in rooms 6 and 9 as number 2 was even worse.
The manner in which this hotel is advertised is misrepresentation. AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BALLERINA41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wsm, owner of business, not property at River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2011

To Ballerina 41 Oxford - (postal address Chester . . . )

In this industry, with experience, front of house are attuned to predict situations, to assess
the acceptable and unacceptable.

From the moment your hurly-burlied your lunchtime check-in on behalf of a senior lady and a son, it was obvious that you were on a mission.

You were offered the return of your forty pound deposit cheque and find alternative accommodation.

Certain of your comments are unfounded, it is regrettable that you found the Hotel so
undesirable; as our reviews prove - not all of the same opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed in rooms 8&9 which were worn,shabby and airless, in need of a total makeover. We paid £72.00 per person per night B&B and expected much better accommodation for that amount of money. Outside of the hotel was run down and uninviting and the lounge was dark and dreary.
Only plus points were the breakfast and position of hotel - convenient for the station

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
5  Thank pegSouthendonSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wsm, owner of business, not property at River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2011

Hello Peg, Southend-on-Sea and friend
It is unfortunate you rate us as you do, it is apparent, from far and wide we have a good track record, including from those who stay and do not subscribe to this site.

In response: Bedrooms and public areas are serviced and aired daily, most bedrooms have sash windows and secondary double glazing which facilitates this. We have to comply with fire doors closed which can be restrictive.

This year, decorating exterior and interior is current and ongoing. Issues with the freeholder's lease has prevented long-term investment for some years.

Our small lounge area, as is common nowadays, is mainly used to log onto free WiFi. There is adequate wall and ceiling lighting, facing South the room gains morning sun-shine.

All bedrooms have bath, shower-head and toilet with regular in-room facilities, the rate includes English breakfast, free car-parking on site, VAT @ 20%, in your case, £12.00 per room per day, this is mandatory

It is your choice not to return, we trust your next trip gives you the experience and expectations you prefer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We arrived by train fairly late - 8.45pm - it's 5 mins walk from the station, so we were able to check in - which was quick and efficient - and have time to find a restaurant for supper in nearby Walton St. Although our room was on the ground floor adjacent to the road, the traffic noise was minimal, because of effective double glazing. The Hotel is modest, good value, and really well run. Good breakfast too - in the diningroom overlooking the river.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulietB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wsm, owner of business, not property at River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2011

Hello Juliet B-just to say thank you for finding the time to post your review, it is encouraging for all at at a busy time. Do make yourself known when next visiting Oxford, from all at the River Hotel, Oxford, UK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

The staff is helpfull and friendly and the hotel is very clean. The breakfast is excellent. It is a very good opcion for stay

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wsm, owner of business, not property at River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2011

Hello Carlo 2307, all at the River Hotel, Oxford UK, wish to say thank you for finding the time
to post your review since your May visit at the Hotel, we trust that we may have the pleasure of
accommodating you when you next visit Europe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews