We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, relaxing house”
Review of Parklands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parklands
Ranked #12 of 82 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Pleasant, relaxing house”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

The Parklands is a lovely old North Oxford house in a good location, a short distance out of the city centre; the welcome is unobtrusive (never anyone in reception anytime I came in and out, which was fine as it meant that it felt a bit like walking into your own house - there's a bell to press if you need attention). Our room was a good size, with a lovely wide and comfortable bed, and nice view of the quiet back garden. The room was decorated attractively, with only a few small drawbacks: the shower cubicle was very small, and there was a strange unidentified sticky substance on the bedside table which I had to clean off. But these were small things which did not substantially affect our enjoyment of a very nice room. (We went for a more expensive room deliberately for the extra space.)
The breakfast was substantial and pretty good. Although we came down right at the end of the allotted breakfast time, the staff did not quibble, and when we were a bit late checking out they were also very relaxed about this, which was appreciated. Would have been nice to have butter in a dish at breakfast rather than individual portions placed on the table. If individual portions then could they not b served on a saucer or something?
The house is really very pleasant and in general very clean; the only advice I would give them on décor is that having decorated with an eye on quality, why go for cheap, nasty art on the walls? It works against the effect of calmness and quality and Victorian charm. The pictures are photographs of Oxford views, digitally altered to make them more 'arty', blown up and printed on unframed canvases - the sort of thing you can buy in a supermarket or downmarket department store. They're awful. And the house has such nice architectural features like the stained glass at the front, so the tacky art choices are a bit out of place.
I would certainly stay here again - the house and the room and the location were all very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GOM51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    117
    29
    11
    3
See reviews for
28
142
32
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This hotel / B&B is a little bit worn down if you look “in the corners”, especially outside, but it is spotlessly clean and with a good atmosphere. Staff is attentive, especially in the breakfast restaurant.
It is very easy to find, and it is within walking distance of Oxford’s city centre, which is very nice.
Beware: There is no lift, and the stairs become a little bit narrow, as you get to the third floor.
Also: If you do need an open window during the night you must be prepared to disregard some traffic noise, especially early in the morning. It did not bother us, but some are more sensible to this.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AarhusHenning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We were lucky to find a room available at short notice when we spent a Friday night in Oxford, rather than drive home to Herefordshire after the theatre. It was our first visit to Parklands, and we were very impressed. A compact room, but very comfortable and bright, with a great bed and ample storage. Only one strange feature - the space above the dressing table was occupied by an enormous flat screen TV rather than a mirror. Every reviewer mentions breakfast at Parklands, and we agree - it's superb, whatever your taste and requirements. And the staff were so nice: we arrived three hours before check-in time, and I popped in to ask if we could leave our car while we walked the mile or so into the centre. I was told that was no problem, and, as the room was ready, we could check in early. Nothing was too much bother.

Foot access to Oxford centre is easy (just twenty minutes or so), and the bus service is excellent - frequent and fast. After the theatre we had drinks with friends and finally took a cab back at a cost of just £7, which we thought was very reasonable.

Parklands isn't cheap, but it's got a lot to recommend it. We liked it and will use it again, probably frequently.

Room Tip: We had room 20, just at the top of the stairs on the first floor. It has good views to the front an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Everything that I have praised in the past remains true. But there were new events worth reporting. I needed to go shopping but had arrived in early evening. I asked if the owner knew when M&S closed. While I unpacked he found out and told me within a few minutes. At breakfast a visiting American asked if there was a charger he could borrow for his phone. One arrived promptly. The eggs Benedict were superb.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlandeWalden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Parklands B&B is a beautiful grand house just a 15 minute stroll from Oxford city center. Our room was clean and very comfortable, but the heating in the bathroom seemed to be set to sauna, even the floor was hot, not just warm!!
Breakfast on the first day was dissapointint with solid poached eggs and dry bacon. Thankfully this was all forgotten the next day as the breakfast was perfect!
Overall a very pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna37X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The room was really comfortable. The bathroom was a bit small, but since it's a house that was refit as a hotel, it's understandable. Be prepared that there are a lot of stairs, so if you have trouble with that, this is not the hotel for you.

The breakfast was really good - and the coffee was amazing. I didn't expect it in England. The location was perfect for me. I was really happy with this choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Easy bus ride into town centre and a fair price for its location. Had been nicely modernised and was all very clean
Met 2 reception staff, both very helpful. Gave us free parking permit to go into town even after we checked out which we weren't expecting

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jjasper3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
#11 of 44 in Oxford
751 reviews
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
692 reviews
1.3 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
1.1 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parklands

Property: Parklands
Address: 100 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 6JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parklands 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tree-lined residential area of North Oxford (just 15-20 minutes walk from the City Centre), Parklands offers bed and breakfast accommodation in the late Victorian former home of an Oxford Don. In addition to our 15 well-appointed en-suite rooms, we also offer a comfortable guest lounge (we are licensed to serve drinks) and a private walled garden for unwinding after a long day's work or play. We have various office facilities available for guests needing to catch up on correspondence or meet that important deadline as well as FREE wireless broadband throughout the premises. We are easily reached from an excellent network of major roads (ample car parking is provided on-site) or via public transport, with Oxford's railway and bus stations just 1½ miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Parklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parklands Bed And Breakfast
Parklands Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing