We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sound proofing needed.”
Review of Parklands B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parklands B&B
Ranked #14 of 81 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Sound proofing needed.”
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We rented two rooms when traveling as a family last week. Our son had the pleasure of listening to neighbors for most of the night. In our room, it sounded like the cast of Stomp were staying above us. It's a lovely location and they have tried really hard making rooms comfortable ... great bed and bathroom was nice. Towels and linens soft and comfy. Breakfast room spacious, however, it would be nice to have a few more healthy options on menu.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nursingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    114
    29
    11
    3
See reviews for
26
139
31
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louth
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights last week. First impressions are excellent. The standard of decoration throughout is excellent and the staff are all very friendly. The room we stayed in (Room 32) was lovely, with an exceptionally comfortable bed and lovely bedding. The shower room was fitted with all the best equipment, although the shower is a little on the tight side. Good tea tray and some nice touches in the room. Room 32 is on the side of the house and you do hear a lot of noise from the Banbury Road for most of the night - just about bearable, although I would ask for a room further back next time. The breakfast room is very spacious and breakfast itself is a feast in terms of choice and quantity. The only reason I am not giving it 5 stars is that the radiator wasn't working in the room when we arrived. We reported it when we went out but when we came back late it still wasn't working, so the room was VERY cold. There was no message left and nobody to contact. We reported it again in the morning (after we found a fan heater in the wardrobe - is this a common problem???) and it was fixed. Also, the second night an alarm clock was going off for an hour in the next door room - again, nobody around to contact. Both these are niggles, but make a big difference to a comfortable stay - there should be more thorough checking of rooms. At £100 per night you shouldn't be cold or kept awake by noise from inside the building - annoying as this is the best B&B we have stayed in so far in Oxford.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back! Make sure all problems are sorted before reception closes at 10pm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AB42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel/guest house for two nights on a bitterly cold weekend in March. We were very pleased with the warm, cosy room and with the marvelous big bed, loads of pillows and covers, very tasteful and clean. Endless hot water in the shower, big towels and a good makeup mirror too. The breakfast was very good too, plenty of choice and great porridge! Very friendly staff who could not have been more helpful and polite. Altogether a delightful experience and if we go to Oxford again we'd almost certainly stay here. (One tiny criticism is the breakfast croissant which was a bit disappointing, but mentioning it when we left we were assured they will find a different supplier). Highly recommended overall.

Room Tip: We went for the bigger bed, more expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1madeline36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have stayed in many B&B's over the years, however; Parklands is more than entitled to be described as one of the best hotels we have ever experienced. The attention to service, quality of the rooms, beds, and suburb food, are all to be commended. Parklands is also situated within excellent (walking) proximity to Oxford's town centre. In our opinion it ticks all the boxes, provides an example of what makes a good hotel into an excellent hotel. We extend our thanks to all the staff at Parklands in Oxford, for making our stay a very enjoyable one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverBullet96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I would definitely recommend this hotel and we would stay here again. The only minus would be that the bed wasnt very comfortable but as we stayed for one night this wasn't a major problem.

The breakfast was excellent; the service was very good the staff were very nice and helpful. Its a lovely place and if we stay in Oxford again I will definitely try and stay here again.

I had read reports that Internet access and heating weren't great, but I disagree. The internet access was very fast and I was able to put the heating on easily.

There was tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits and water on offer in the room as well. There was shampoo and shower gel available, towels and a hair dryer.

The hotel is within walking distance of Oxford centre and if you don't fancy the walk buses are available at regular intervals.

All in all this was a very good hotel and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was at the side and quiet. Room 21 was a bit tight in the bathroom. The room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We got a very warm welcome and was given coffee and biscuits on the house as our room was not ready (we were early). The room was small with only one single wardrobe and so the bathroom . There are different grades of rooms. Although near the main road we it did not disturbed us. The breakfast was good and the staff friendly. We would be happy to go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debsk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolleston on Dove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've been to a few hotels around Oxford over the years and I found Parklands to be a complete surprise. The superior double room was great, well decorated, clean and better equipped than hotels asking a lot more for a stay. All I would say is possibly avoid the classic double rooms if you can, quite small apparently but still better than some places. All the public areas are spotless and well looked after too, giving this place a top boutique hotel feel to it rather than B&B.

It's quiet relaxed atmosphere makes you feel that you are the only people there, only coming across others guests at breakfast. Speaking of which, breakfast was well presented with plenty of choice served quickly and by pleasant staff.
I know some people have complained about parking - it wasn't an issue at all. If you want to complain over parking, stay in hotels right in the middle of Oxford such as the Vanbrugh house. You'll be parking in another street or on NCP car parks. Take your pick.
Leave your car at parklands and catch the frequent buses that pass directly outside I would suggest.
If you're concerned over where to eat in the evening, go either right down to Summertown or left into Oxford.
Absolutely no excuse as there's plenty of eateries around and it's a change of scenery.
The staff will give you good advise should you need it.

Would I go back? Yes I would and we plan to.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lordflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.7 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
1.3 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
#15 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel
1.2 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parklands B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parklands B&B

Property: Parklands B&B
Address: 100 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 6JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parklands B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tree-lined residential area of North Oxford (just 15-20 minutes walk from the City Centre), Parklands offers bed and breakfast accommodation in the late Victorian former home of an Oxford Don. In addition to our 15 well-appointed en-suite rooms, we also offer a comfortable guest lounge (we are licensed to serve drinks) and a private walled garden for unwinding after a long day's work or play. We have various office facilities available for guests needing to catch up on correspondence or meet that important deadline as well as FREE wireless broadband throughout the premises. We are easily reached from an excellent network of major roads (ample car parking is provided on-site) or via public transport, with Oxford's railway and bus stations just 1½ miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Parklands B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parklands Bed And Breakfast
Parklands Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing