We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, good access to town”
Review of Galaxie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Galaxie Hotel
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Enjoyed this very good boutique hotel in Oxford.
Good access by bus to and from town, great breakfast, rooms large and beautiful bathrooms.
Staff very pleasant and helpful.
Please ensure you ask for a room away from the road, the road is very busy,
Would stay here again.

Room Tip: choose a room away from the road
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank saffy55151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
There are newer reviews for Galaxie Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 443 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2014

From checking in to checking out staff were welcoming and friendly. After check out we asked staff and left the car in the car park while we walked into Oxford the next day, (20 min pleasant walk straight into Oxford), again the friendliness of staff when we asked was lovely.

Our room was modern and very clean, we had a kitchenette with a large fridge. The public areas are bright and clean with clever use of glass walls. Breakfast was nice, and again the breakfast room was well decorated and had an airy, small outdoor courtyard area too.

We had a walk down Banbury Road, a few shops, restaurants and a costa coffee. Granted, the hot summer weather made a difference but I Would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jaynewoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Great breakfast and lovely breakfast room/conservatory, very nice staff but no air con so on a very hot July day my room was so warm and faced Banbury Road so very noisy. Nice decor, clean and comfortable, wifi OK In my room and for Oxford for the price it was fine. Can walk into Oxford if you like walking or plenty of buses right outside.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DisneyNorwich_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is a very good bed and breakfast. We stayed here for one night. The room was modern, stylish and cosy room which we adored. The staff was really friendly.

This place is not in the city centre but is well connected by local bus.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank S-KR-RAJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I stayed here with my son visiting the university. The hotel/guest house is conveniently situated on the main Banbury Rd into Oxford centre - about a 30 min walk or quick bus ride (pricy though). There's a pleasant walk in along the Charwell if you find the right turning off the main road. The reception staff are friendly and helpful and in view of the silly prices for central Oxford hotels this is very good value. The room on the ground floor was adequate though a bit cramped and not very light. If you are spending most of your time in the city then this isn't really a problem. There is a very pleasant garden and spacious breakfast room. The breakfast is good - a wide choice of the usual cooked food, croissants, cereals and fruit. My only complaint here is that it is served only 7:30-9:00 which doesn't allow for either an early or late start. In all though I definitely recommend this for short visits.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

My daughter is living in Oxford for the summer and was able to check out several lodging options before I came to visit. Some had very steep staircases, some tight quarters, some way over priced, and some just plain nasty. She chose well! The Galaxies Hotel had it al: reasonably priced, lovely staff, good breakfast in a lovely setting, quiet, modern bathroom, comfy bed, and wifi that actually works in the room. I came from London where I am staying in a 4-star hotel that has much tight quarters and a much higher price tag!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank JinaRapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights just for a break. The hotel is clean and the reception staff were helpful. Our double room, facing the main road, was equipped, for some reason, with a kitchenette. We knew that it would be noisy from the traffic but I need to be cool. As there was no air conditioning, I had to leave the windows open. The noise was unbearable so We closed them. Trouble is, the single glazed windows offer no resistance to the noise, so we had a couple of near sleepless nights as students and families came back in at all hours.

Bathroom was okay but we were only given 2 small shower towels: no hand towels or mat to stand on. Fair enough, we asked the manager for extra towels and duly received them the next day. Another issue is the glass, swing bathroom door. Twice I walked into it and it offers little privacy if you see what I'm getting at! Oh, and the wifi connection was only reliable by the door entrance!

Breakfast was in a pleasant conservatory but the staff in there were so miserable, as they were throughout the hotel (except receptionist and manager), that the atmosphere was really poor. The choice of food available for an 'English' breakfast was poor and the bacon was the cheap stuff. On the second morning, there was virtually no fruit or fresh cereal to be had - very disappointing.

So, in all, we both felt that the hotel let itself down with the basics although it wasn't bad enough to ruin a great weekend!

Room Tip: Get a room to the rear of the building
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oliastu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.7 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
727 reviews
1.4 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
1.6 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
438 reviews
4.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#12 of 44 in Oxford
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxie Hotel

Address: 180 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 7BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Oxford
#14 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: $128 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Galaxie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Galaxie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galaxie Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing