We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and convenient” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galaxie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Galaxie Hotel
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean and convenient”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Galaxie is conveniently located to Summertown with easy access into the Oxford city center. The check in process was a bit lengthy with the receptionist taking her time to firstly locate our reservation and then show us to our room. The rooms are fairly basic but are kept clean and tidy. The restaurant area was nice, light and airy with a good breakfast selection. Overall it was very functional, value for money and I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOMLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    146
    64
    32
    23
See reviews for
53
136
40
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Reasonable small hotel on a very central road. It is clean and quiet (in the evening as during day its on a main road to oxford town centre) and very convenient location for oxford. Feels like its family run and the breakfast was pretty good which was a nice different from most hotels I stay in for work.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dakism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Level Contributor
111 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here in September and chose this hotel mainly due to its location on Banbury Road. Easy to find and easy to get out of Oxford again.
Stayed on a Sunday night and as stated by another reviewer, no paperwork to complete, simply shown to our room. The elderly lady on reception just managed a "hello" to my partner only, but that was the end of the conversation.
From the outside it is a traditional brick building - use Google Streetview - but our room on the second floor at the front was a complete contrast. Suspended ceiling, concealed surround lighting, granite worktops and an ultra modern bathroom with a glass panel serving as a door, so no privacy which may be a problem for some - do you really want to hear your other half at the toilet? This was a huge room with a breakfast bar, sink, microwave and fridge which we assume is normally for self catering guests. The room was clean and comfortable except for the microwave with the remnants of the last occupant's food.
The windows are original sash type, single glazed and the road noise is horrendous. Passing buses - frequent on this road - do not allow for any relaxation and people walking past are clearly audible well after midnight.
As others have said, plenty of eating places within a couple of minutes walk in the Summertown area which is a pleasant area.
After a sleepless night we went down for breakfast at 8.50am. Not having been told that breakfast finishes at 9am we were instantly shown a table and by the time we had a quick look at the marine aquarium in the dining area, then the buffet to see what there was, our tea and coffee was waiting for us. The fastest service ever! For the next 10 minutes the staff raced around clearing, cleaning and resetting the tables around us ready for the next day's breakfasts. Just not what you need for a relaxing start to the day on holiday.
Check out was in the same vein, rushed and chaotic.
In summary - Bad points: no welcome; no information; terrible road noise; no bathroom door; rushed service.
Good points - large comfortable room; location very convenient.

Room Tip: Unless you are deaf, do not take a front room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WakefieldYorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

The hotel is a good base for a stay in Oxford. Rooms are comfortable if small (though traffic is noisy - take earplugs or ask for a room at the back!) Staff helpful and pleasant - lovely conservatory area for breakfast for which they provide a variety of good food and a beautiful garden to sit in. Restaurants in Summertown within walking distance and a bus stop just outside from which frequent buses go into Oxford centre so you can leave your car in the hotel carpark avoiding traffic and hefty parking charges.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 222LRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights on business, whilst working nearby. Overall, it was more than satisfactory; good points include:
* The location in Summertown is great. On the main road (Banbury Rd) so it's easy to get into Oxford by bus (or in my case, out in the other direction by bus). There are lots of nice restaurants within 5-10 minutes walk, at least one pub and plenty of shops.
* The garden out the back is delightful. Me and my colleagues bought a bottle of wine from the (very nearby) supermarket and sat in the garden on a sunny evening for a pre-dinner 'meeting'. Very civilised.
* The room I had was nicely decorated in a fresh, modern style, and the shower room was large, clean and well lit with a big mirror and good toiletries.
The not-so-good:
* When I arrived, there was no-one at reception but I could see a young woman sitting through the doorway to the rear of the desk. She looked at me and carried on talking to someone else inside the room. I tried to attract her attention and she just looked at me and pointed back into the room (presumably at her colleague). A few moments passed and her colleague eventually came out and 'checked me in' - asked me my name, gave me a key and pointed me towards the lift. No paperwork was exchanged, I didn't sign anything or hand over a credit card or payment of any kind. Very odd and all rather offhand.
* The room itself was very small - the double bed took up most of the floor space, with just enough room to walk around it. The 'desk' (which I needed as I was there on business) was shelf along one wall. As a 5ft/152cm woman, I could actually function ok in there, but a six foot rugby player would definitely struggle!
* My room (on the 2nd floor) was to the side, with a view of walls and car park. Looking out of window allowed me to look directly into the room at right angles! If I had needed the windows (i.e. in warmer weather) it would have been very noisy - both from traffic noise and people entering/leaving the hotel car park below.
This could be a really nice place to stay, but the staff need to be a little more on-the-ball and I recommend ensuring you get a large room at the rear.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back avoid road noise and look over the lovely garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KLCatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel invested lots of money on renovating some of the rooms and the breakfast area but we wished they had just installed double glazing. Our two rooms were on the busy Banbury road and the noise was unbearable. We stayed during a very hot weekend in August and couldn't get any sleep. This hotel should be avoided at all cost.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernekind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nuneaton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We recently stayed at the hotel along with several other guests to a friends wedding. It is a nice hotel with a smallish but beautiful garden area which was lovely to sit and chat to friends after breakfast in. The dining area is lovely and consists of a a large room with 2 conservatories. There was a buffet style continental and English breakfast included which was very tasty. Unfortunately none of our group were very happy that the breakfast was only served till 9am on a Sunday which does seem very early especially as we had all been out late the night before!

The rooms were on the small side but were very clean. However, our room perhaps could have done with a fresh lick of paint as there were quite a lot of marks on the walls and a large dent in the wooden head board! The ensuite shower room was modern and again clean. The only real negative that we found was the close proximity of our room and the rooms opposite. As it was very hot we had to open all of the windows but this did cause a very noisy night as we could literally join in conversations with people opposite! A few of our friends also found sleep difficult as the noise from the main road was also quite loud.

All in all though the staff were friendly and welcoming however I'm not entirely sure I would stay here again unless the rooms got air conditioning as it was just too noisy to sleep with windows open.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms overlooking the road and other rooms as they are just too noisy if you have to open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmumNuneaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
1.6 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
1.6 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
1.4 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
1.1 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxie Hotel

Property: Galaxie Hotel
Address: 180 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 7BT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Oxford
#12 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Galaxie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Galaxie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galaxie Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing