We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant overnight stay”
Review of Cotswold House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cotswold House
Ranked #44 of 80 Oxford B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant overnight stay”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Clean and comfortable. Our room was upstairs at the side, and though rather small, was quiet with a comfortable bed and a small but functional ensuite (the bathroom floor was incredibly slippery though, even when dry!) About 2 miles out of Oxford, but good bus service takes you right to the centre. Easy walk to the shops and restaurants in Summertown. Breakfast was good and plentiful and service very friendly and attentive. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allabouteast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    22
    23
    10
    1
See reviews for
26
28
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed here on a visit to see our son who is a studying in Oxford. The location was great as we were able to use the excellent bus service that runs along the main road outside the guest house to go in to the city centre without having the difficulty associated with parking our car in Oxford. The accomodation was clean, spacious and very quiet although perhaps it is time for an upgrade to what is a dated en suite bathroom in the room we stayed in on the ground floor. Checking in was very friendly and efficient and the breakfast provided a good choice of food and friendly and attentive service. Overall an excellent experience and recommended as a good place to stay in Oxford.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glasgowmartinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lewes
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

All in all this is quite a nice guest house. As is normal with guest houses the owner was a bit ott with the friendly reception. This is not to everyone's taste so be warned.

I stayed in the deluxe suite on my own. It's a bit big for one person but accommodation in Oxford was limited at the time of booking. That said the suite has some great facilities including a sauna which I was assured was working.

The bed was very comfortable and the room was basically clean although the decor was dated.

The breakfast was nice if a bit greasy. I was told that the cook could prepare breakfasts very quickly. I did think that she might benefit from taking a little more time.

If you appreciate good wifi connectivity then this is not the best place to stay

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank frank1eb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my girlfriend at the end of January for two nights. My first time in Oxford (she was at uni there). We stayed in the suite room that had it's own sitting room, a whirlpool bath and a sauna. Perfect room with great complimentary hot drinks, water, biscuits and milk in the fridge. Definitely worth the extra money for the special room!

Breakfast was a wide selection of fruits, cereals and a wide array of hot food to cater to my own carnivorous tendencies and my girlfriend's vegetarian preferences.

All in a tidy, clean and friendly environment with extra friendly and accommodating staff! Thanks for being cheerful, helpful and providing a second to none service!

Great location, only a ten minute bus ride into city centre, with regular buses (we waited no longer than 5 minutes) and bus stops right outside! Much better than large, impersonal city centre chains for a trip to Oxford!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

What a lovely stay! We were greeted warmly by the owner, Hilary, who showed us to our room. Everything was comfy & clean. There was a little fridge & she brought up fresh milk to go with the tea and cookies provided, as well as lovely china to have them in. Breakfast was a wonderful full menu affair including fresh fruit and lively conversation from other guests. We spent Christmas morning tucked in our cozy beds before wandering down for more good food and fun. Cotswold House is a great place to stay while visiting Oxford, I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryManya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Down in Oxford for our Granddaughters graduation. Cotswold House is a comfortable friendly B&B, which seeks to make your stay welcoming. They gave us access to our room much earlier than advertised and provided keys to the house and room so that we could come and go as we pleased. Breakfast was excellent, good selection of fruit and full English, although plenty of alternatives.
Only minor gripe from my wife, no tissues in the room.

Room Tip: Room 1 is a family room, 1 double plus 1 single
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

A nice B&B for a night or two. Rooms neat and tidy, met at door on arrival just after 1300 and showed around. We had room 7 on ground floor, double bed, small fridge in room with 2 bottles of water, tea and coffee and some biscuits. Full English breakfast in the morning with fruit and cereal too. Bus ride into the City Centre is easy £3.30 return with buses every 10 minutes. Our only gripe is that the people upstairs might as well have been in the room with us, could make out almost every word, and when they were walking around it was like a heard of elephants up there which slightly tarnished an otherwise pleasant weekend away

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules_Jules2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.7 mi away
Galaxie Hotel
Galaxie Hotel
#20 of 44 in Oxford
428 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Westwood Hotel
The Westwood Hotel
#26 of 44 in Oxford
319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diana's Bed & Breakfast
Diana's Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 80 in Oxford
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marlborough House Hotel
Marlborough House Hotel
#33 of 80 in Oxford
328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lina Guest House
Lina Guest House
#56 of 80 in Oxford
64 reviews
0.5 mi away
Five Mile View Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold House

Property: Cotswold House
Address: 363 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 7PL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Cotswold House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold House Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing