We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brown, brown, brown”
Review of Cotswold House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cotswold House
Ranked #44 of 82 Oxford B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Brown, brown, brown”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Bedroom has all the amenities and the breakfast was good with attentive service but the decor is from the 80's; everything is brown with fabric flowers.
Does the job but not a destination in its own right and therefore expensive.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slmuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    22
    23
    10
    1
See reviews for
26
28
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I was accidentally booked into this hotel in March (instead of the Cotswold Lodge, closer to Oxford University.) Less a hotel and more a B&B, the home is quaint and the rooms are adequate.

Staff was really pleasant and friendly. And numerous, considering the small size of the place.

My bed wasn't the most comfortable in the world. The bathroom was a little small. Room spacious. But it promises to be a proper B&B and that it is--including the breakfast. Very much enjoyed the "Full Monty"--eggs, toast, jam, sausage, bacon, fried tomatoes, and mushrooms.

My biggest complaint about the hotel is its location--but that was my fault for the wrong booking. If you're planning on spending your time in Oxford's old city, near and about the University, you should probably look elsewhere. You can cab your way back and forth, as I did, or take a bus, which stops outside of the hotel. But it wasn't terribly convenient for me, as I was there on business.

Bottom line: Adequate English B&B. Friendly. Better breakfast than bed. Location a minus--if you'll be spending your days at or near the University.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EternalVagabond25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

Our first trip to UK and last b&b before flying home. Compared to other experiences this trip , overpriced for the one night stay with poor shower flow, heaters not working properly The upside is there is a car park out front of building and a good location. J & B

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed in the ground floor double suite for two nights - B&B was clean and staff friendly. Strange set up with the room though in that the sitting room was near to the kitchen and had no lock - my teenage son slept in here on a sofa bed and complained of being woken by the lights being switched on in the next room. Would stay again but would book two rooms - they also need to put a lock on the sitting room door and invest in blackout curtains.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOLTON_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The people made this guest house enjoyable. They are very pleasant. The rooms are clean and the bed was quite comfortable. It's on Banbury road which has great bus transportation direct to downtown. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelchick05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

One of the nice things about this place is the very friendly welcome you get. I think I booked the cheapest room, which was small, but it was very clean, had a shower room and had a nice view of the garden. There was parking space outside which was great and free wireless which was very useful. The breakfast was particularly nice with lots of choice. I would recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Wonderful service at breakfast, which was of excellent quality - surely the main priority of a B & B ?
All the staff team worked hard to ensure a comfortable stay. Although quite expensive, this was a good place to stay with easy access to the centre of Oxford.

Room Tip: No problem being at the front of the property - double glazing very efficient!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank headteacherhils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.7 mi away
Galaxie Hotel
Galaxie Hotel
#17 of 44 in Oxford
433 reviews
3.0 mi away
Newton House
Newton House
#28 of 44 in Oxford
213 reviews
0.0 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lina Guest House
Lina Guest House
#56 of 82 in Oxford
64 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lakeside Guest House
Lakeside Guest House
#20 of 82 in Oxford
209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marlborough House Hotel
Marlborough House Hotel
#33 of 82 in Oxford
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold House

Property: Cotswold House
Address: 363 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 7PL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cotswold House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold House Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing