We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jurys Inn Oxford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jurys Inn Oxford
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Weekend away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Booked for my first wedding anniversary. Staff were very polite and although they had forgotten to put the celebratory champagne in the room that my husband thought he would surprise me with, they quickly rectified the problem and champagne and chocolates were of very good quality.

Tasty and plentiful buffet breakfast, bar service was quick and not too expensive and we were both very impressed with the evening meal. The only downside was the waiting staff not communicating with each other, therefore they had no idea of we had had our starters until they asked us!

Our room was clean and had tea/coffee making facilities and the usual bathroom toiletries. Comfy bed although being used to a kingsize, I know that there were a few moments were I nearly fell out of bed!

A short walk down the road to Wolvercote village was lovely - would definitely recommend, and about 20-30 mins drive away from the Cotswold Wildlife Park. Very close to the Pear Tree park and ride into Oxford City Centre.
I would book this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aurora_299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel H, Manager at Jurys Inn Oxford, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your comments on your stay with us, I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience here at The Oxford Hotel.

Nigel Hadfield
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    507
    349
    159
    85
See reviews for
177
651
35
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Excellent friendly service. Lovely room. Top class food. Wasn't too keen on the canteen-like restaurant decor, but that is just a personal preference. Brilliant location - bus just around corner - 10 mins into Oxford. Village of Wolvercote is a very pleasant 10 minute walk away, with 2 pubs. Further 5 minute walk away is The Trout Inn with fab vues over the Thames.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Maggie156k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel H, Manager at Jurys Inn Oxford, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for your comments on your stay with us, I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience here at The Oxford Hotel.

Nigel Hadfield
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

I have stayed at the Oxford hotel and have been a leisurebreak member for many years. Hotel 1st class but spoilt by the regimented restaurant. When requested a slice of bread told that I would be charged extra

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Derek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel H, Manager at Jurys Inn Oxford, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for your review, we acknowledge your comments although in the Brasserie Restaurant, our fresh bread selection with virgin olive oil and balsamic dip is an additional charge. If the team have misunderstood your request for a simple slice of bread please accept our apologies as this was not intentional.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

My partner and I wanted to make the whole weekend special this year for valentines, so had decided to come to Oxford. The reason being not just to look around the city but for an extra little treat for my partner as I took him on a super car drive experience near Chipping Norton where he was able to do 3 laps each in 4 different supercars! The Oxford hotel however was in the perfect location for this being only 30mins away and was an excellent choice of hotel. The staff were all friendly and professional at check in/out, breakfast and dinner. The food was amazing especially dinner on the 2nd night we were there! It was a set menu for valentine and was reasonably priced for the quality of food delivered, the service was professional but a little slow although we weren't in any rush so this didn't matter to us. The bedroom and bathroom was clean, comfortable and modern although the shower could have done with updating.
Would still recommend this chain of hotels and would definitely stay here again, but next time take advantage of the spa treatments and pool facilities.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat-Touch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel H, Manager at Jurys Inn Oxford, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for your comments on your stay with us, I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable Valentine's experience here at The Oxford Hotel.

Nigel Hadfield
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

A pleasant enough one night stay in a hotel which looks smarter on the website than it is in reality.

A nice welcome from a helpful receptionist, followed by a rather long walk until eventually you open your door into a very cold room… there was nothing ‘wrong’ with it (apart from the temperature), but it felt tired an unloved.

Free Wi-Fi was a plus, but your iPhone 3g will be 5 times faster. Not having a power socket near the bed was a pain though.

Breakfast is pretty typical, but allow time to get yourself a coffee from the rather slow machine. A nice touch would be chocolate to sprinkle on your cappuccino. If you order poached eggs you might find that you need to remind them several times, even on a quite morning.

It’s not a place to rush back to, but decent enough.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ConsumerJournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel H, Manager at Jurys Inn Oxford, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for your constructive feedback, we acknowledge your comments and will review these in detail to help us further improve the hotel and services.

Nigel Hadfield
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

I booked and paid for a twin room in advance but upon arrival was told there were no twin rooms available! We were asked to take a seat in reception and it took 30 minutes of waiting (and at one point I had to chase) until a decision was made and we were given two rooms.

Our rooms were sited down some very long corridors which took quite a bit of walking to get to. Both were nice enough although more 3* than 4* and not overly big. The TV remote control was missing from mine and the air conditioning didn't appear to be working properly as it struggled to cool the room which was extremely warm when we arrived. My friend's room was nice and cool so clearly their air conditioning was more effective! The bathrooms were good.

Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and being a weekend went on quite late into the morning.

There's a Park & Ride down the road which doesn't take long to get you into the city centre. Wolvercote is nearby too with a lovely pub by the river.

There was no "did you enjoy your stay?" or other pleasantries when checking out.

We got a discounted rate through Superbreak so for the money it was a pretty good deal, but if I'd paid the full asking price I would've been disappointed as the twin rooms shouldn't have been overbooked and it took too long to get resolved.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel H, Manager at Jurys Inn Oxford, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we acknowledge your comments and will review these in detail to make improvements for the future.

Nigel Hadfield
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

stayed here for one night on a two night break in oxford(stayed at another hotel the previous day).
Arrived at 2:15 to check in(check in is from 2:00) , room was not ready,could we take a seat,yes we waited over an hour for someone to come and get us, no one came , we went back to reception and funnily(not) our room was ready.- very poor start. But at least they confirmed that we were booked in for dinner at the restaurant........
room -pokey but ok but not 4 star.
gym/spa - disappointing, tiny pool, steam room seen better days, did not use the gym but it was being used by a few people. massage booked and was ok.
Turned up for our confirmed booking at the restaurant, we were not on their printed list! The waiter to be fair found us a table after we explained we had booked but this does not give the impression the hotel cares about the customer if you can book in advance and be left off.
Food - pretty good.
Bar- had three drinks, chose cocktails off the menu, but we were overcharged as the barman priced up the drinks based on the individual ingredients rather than the quoted menu price. complained and put right but how difficult can it be to provide and produce a receipt for a drink you are advertising on a printed menu.
in all, disappointing, i was asked to complete an e-mail feedback which i did saying that i felt the service was poor and that i was happy to be contacted to discuss. Hotel was that interested that i have had no contact to discuss my service feedback but 2 e-mails advertising puma hotels. Would I stay here again? No

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel H, Manager at Jurys Inn Oxford, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we acknowledge your comments and will review these in detail to make improvements for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oxford hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
5.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#9 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Oxford

Property: Jurys Inn Oxford
Address: Godstow Road, Oxford OX2 8AL, England (Formerly The Oxford Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jurys Inn Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Oxford Hotel and Conference Venue has undergone a fantastic £10.8 million transformation in 2016. Enhancements to the property include 240 brand new bedrooms with DREAM bed by Jurys Inn, including Executive Bedrooms with added perks. The hotel's conference facilities have also been refurbished now accommodating up to 350 people in 20 meeting and function rooms across the property. The hotel also boasts an all-day Costa Coffee bar, a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill and 250 complimentary parking spaces. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel, which is conveniently located just 3 miles outside Oxford city centre with excellent transport links to London. Please note that the final phase of the refurbishment to our Juvenate Health and Leisure club will take place in February. To accommodate this work, the pool area will be closed from the 7th February for approx. 3 weeks. All other facilities within our new Health and Leisure club will be open and available as normal. We apologise for any inconvenience caused. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Jurys Inn Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Oxford Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing