We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel was fine, but room was SO dark” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jurys Inn Oxford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jurys Inn Oxford
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Hotel was fine, but room was SO dark”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

In essence the room was as expected, but the lighting was absolutely terrible. So difficult to apply make up. The cable for the hairdryer was not long enough to reach the mirror.
We were there to also attend a Christmas party and the food was good. Breakfast was generally okay but the eggs were rubbery and there was a shortage of Danish pastries. Sausages and bacon were good.
Problems at check in and checkout as they got my tariff wrong both times. The matter was corrected but annoying nonetheless.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordgm1, Manager at Jurys Inn Oxford, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we acknowledge your comments and will review these in detail to make improvements where possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    507
    349
    159
    85
See reviews for
177
651
35
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newbury
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

Arrived having booked two rooms. One for me, another for a friend. When checking in, they only had one room booked... upon producing my confirmation e-mail, I was given the other room, but with no offer of an apology.

The room was clean, but really warm - opening the window was fine but there was a loud Christmas party going on close by within the hotel, so you couldn't keep the window open.

Bed was comfortable with extra pillows available.

Breakfast was very nice... buffet style with hot and cold options. Waiting staff were a bit eager to take your plate away, even when you hadn't finished, but they did look a bit bored...

Apart from the mix-up with the booking, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martynuk2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordgm1, Manager at Jurys Inn Oxford, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we acknowledge your comments and will review these in detail to make improvements for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

I booked a spa weekend through a third party website.

At arrival they couldn't find my booking, then the duty manager managed to find us. Got to the room and we found the room to be an average sized room, double bed. It was slightly old looking but it had everything we pretty much needed over the weekend. The package promised robes and slippers which were not in the room initially so I had to call reception to order a pack.

The deal included dinner and breakfast which we thought was absolutely amazing! On the first night I found hair in my food, so I thought to let a staff member know so they kindly gave us free drinks.

The spa massages were amazing... Really friendly staff although they gave us the wrong booking times over the phone and actually had us booked on the system for an hour after on both days. This was a spa for two and I was disappointed that I had to wait an hour for my other half before I could go get my massage. I would have liked for us to be together as this is a couples spa weekend! ... Again the staff were really friendly.

In conclusion... The restaurant and the spa staff were amazing.. The hotel itself I would say is an average 3 star and not 4 ... But we had an amazing weekend overall but if your going with your other half I would recommend a hotel or spa which treats you together at the same time.






Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nitu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordgm1, Manager at Jurys Inn Oxford, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us, I am pleased that overall you had an enjoyable experience here at The Oxford Hotel. The team were delighted to receive your recognition of their service. We are grateful for the critique and will act upon the points raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Just came back from a weekend there & overall we found that the room was clean, good facilities, the breakfast that was included in the package was good & offered a good variety, but the customer service at reception was poor and unhelpful. No guides were provided upon arrival and most of the reception staff looked bored. Plus there was a strange smell around the reception area.

Apart from that, I would recommend staying at this hotel as it was clean and only 10 minutes by bus from the city centre.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank italiangirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordgm1, Manager at Jurys Inn Oxford, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we acknowledge your comments and will review these in detail to make improvements where possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

This hotel really has the potential to be a good place to stay, however, like many other hotels that I have used within the Puma Hotels Group I found it to be lacking on the small details that make a big dfifference.
Firstly; the staff were all excellent, no complaints as to the level of service received. The room I had was nice enough, however, the cleanliness was poor with thick dust lingering on the skirting boards and on the carpet edges, cobwebs hanging from the ceilings and stuck to the walls and dust covering some of the surfaces in the room too.
I used the gym and the room service and both have to be commended; the gym was well eqwuipped and checking in and out was easy; although having to walk through a busy bar area when dripping in sweat to exit the gym was a bit strange, I wasn't bothered by it... the occupants in the bar may have had other thoughts!! The room service was prompt, the food good if a little expensive, what room service isn't?
The breakfast was very poor the next day with the cooked option being of particularly poor quality, the dining room felt like something from a Premier Inn; it was lifeless and dimly lit and not what I expected from a hotel touting 4 stars. Even the cold buffet at breakfast was unimaginative and basic, I really expected more given the cost.
Overall, good, however, small things let it down. I would, however, give it a second chance if I have to stay in the area again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lemonasterix1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordgm1, Manager at Jurys Inn Oxford, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we acknowledge your comments and will review these in detail to make improvements for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Couldn't sleep as a Christmas do was on until 1am which would have been fine had our room not been right by it. We were not advised of this and when it reached midnight and the music didn't turn off ( which most hotels restrict loud music till) I rang reception to find out when it would be, I got a response of 1am but nothing more, I at least expected an (is everything ok?) or some concern over how a guests stay was as clearly the music was affecting us but nothing.

I stay in a lot of hotels for work and when I later asked for a small bottle of tap water to take to my room this wasn't possible, you have to purchase overpriced water from the bar. I also asked for fresh milk but this seemed like a chore. Usually a can-do, no ask is to big, attitude is the way, even in holiday inns which this is v.comparable to.

We got this on a deal but it wasn't even worth that.

We were celebrating our engagement too and it wasn't the best place to stay for this is hindsight.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice19863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordgm1, Manager at Jurys Inn Oxford, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we acknowledge your comments and will review these in detail to make improvements where possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oxford hotels

Suffolk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this Hotel on 19th & 20th December room 269. What a lovely place. Room was lovely & clean & in a very quiet area, bed very comfortable and had free Internet. Breakfast was very good. All self service and plenty of choice. Had an evening meal on the Friday which was very nice. Staff where amazing so helpful and went out of their way to help us a few times. Enjoyed the leisure facilities too. I even got asked went I went swimming by the staff if I would like an extra towel for my hair. I have stayed in a lot of Hotels with a pool & have never been asked that before. Went into the City Center which was very enjoyable. Got a taxi both ways which was very easy. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanad9294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordgm1, Manager at Jurys Inn Oxford, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us, I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience here at The Oxford Hotel. The team were delighted to receive your recognition of their service, and pleased to be able to make your stay a memorable one.

Nigel Hadfield
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
5.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#9 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Oxford

Property: Jurys Inn Oxford
Address: Godstow Road, Oxford OX2 8AL, England (Formerly The Oxford Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jurys Inn Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Oxford Hotel and Conference Venue has undergone a fantastic £10.8 million transformation in 2016. Enhancements to the property include 240 brand new bedrooms with DREAM bed by Jurys Inn, including Executive Bedrooms with added perks. The hotel's conference facilities have also been refurbished now accommodating up to 350 people in 20 meeting and function rooms across the property. The hotel also boasts an all-day Costa Coffee bar, a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill and 250 complimentary parking spaces. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel, which is conveniently located just 3 miles outside Oxford city centre with excellent transport links to London. Please note that the final phase of the refurbishment to our Juvenate Health and Leisure club will take place in February. To accommodate this work, the pool area will be closed from the 7th February for approx. 3 weeks. All other facilities within our new Health and Leisure club will be open and available as normal. We apologise for any inconvenience caused. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Jurys Inn Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Oxford Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing