We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time with the children”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oxford City Stars

Oxford City Stars
Ranked #93 of 174 things to do in Oxford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Oxford City Stars, Oxford's Premier Ice Hockey team playing in the NIHL1. Take a look at our website for the next home game and come and see the fastest team sport in the world take place in the heart of Oxford. Guaranteed to leave you impressed and catch the hockey bug which is currently winning the hearts of Oxford. Sunday night in Oxford is now "Hockey night in Oxford".
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great time with the children”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Never too busy, ice staff are always quick to help. Children had a great time, plenty of seats to rest & take time out. Car parking close by.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Koll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    15
    13
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“DONT BUY ON GROUPON”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Utter rubbish. Dont book on Groupon, it says that its available for any session but its not, 10am only!!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cheap few hours out, great fun, staff very friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Me and and my family go to the rink at least once a month, great value for the money, cafe overlooking the rink to see all that is going on however a little pricey. If you fall over on the ice the stewards are straight over to see if you are ok and to help you back up. The skates are free to hire or you can bring your own. But for some odd reason they wont allow ice hockey skates on a Tuesday! Only down side is if you just want to watch you have to pay a full skaters admission, however if you have children under 16 then adults who dont want to skate have to pay £1.75 to enter the premises. Overall great few hours out the house!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ThemeParkMad12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Too Busy!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

A group of 6 of us went there last weekend, we got there for 1pm and it was so busy meaning it was hard to skate, once people started to leave it was better. Would probably go to Milton Keynes next time as we are based in the middle and from what i remember Milton Keynes is bigger!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HT1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Some thing different to do in Oxford”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Went to Oxford Ice rink with my sons and a friend and her son, who hadn't been skating before.
We all had a dodgy first circle holding on to the side of the rink, then gradually one by one we built up our confidence and let go . The boys enjoyed the music , and as they became more confident it helped them with their movements.
There were stewards there to help people who had fallen so no one was on the ice for long, younger children had plastic penguins to push , a bit like a plastic ice zimmer frame.
The cost to get in for two adults and three children was £25.80 which I thought was good value for money and cheaper than going for a swim locally. We took refreshments with us , but there was a cafe. Lockers were 20 pence and easy to use. The session was 2 hours long but we were worn out after an hour and half

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oxford City Stars also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Oxford City Stars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing