We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“looks like British Museum but excellent on its own way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashmolean Museum of Art and Archaeology

Ashmolean Museum of Art and Archaeology
Book In Advance
More Info
$190.68*
and up
Private guided walking tour of Oxford
Ranked #1 of 172 things to do in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Owner description: Oxford University's Ashmolean Museum of Art and Archaeology, established in 1683, is Britain’s oldest public museum and one of the oldest museums in the world.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“looks like British Museum but excellent on its own way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

This museum resembles British museum in London, but still you can find many gems in here even though you have been to the British museum lots. It has a good collection from all over te world including a selection of mummies. Everything is well signposted and satisfactory information is given for every single item. Anyone who is interested about the ancient and middle age world history can find lots here

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank mnrbllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,805 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,653
    957
    154
    28
    13
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Outstaing and free entry!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

You need a day or more to do this place justice; floor after florr of outstanding art works and collections; food in the basement cafe very good and the resturant on the top floor looked very good although we didnt eat there.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank fatbird78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
283 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Modern and interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

I enjoyed the short visit to this museum (about an hour and a half) and like most museums certain item interested me and others didn't. I did like the history of money - we never seem to have enough . . . .

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Beautiful museum with informative displays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Ashmolean Museum has so many exhibits of note that it's worth scheduling two visits to take everything in. The interpretive material around the displays helps put the objects in context.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank HarperMKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Place to get lost in.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Where does the time go? We walked into the Ashmolean in the morning and didn't surface until late afternoon when we thought it was about time we had something to eat! So much to see within the walls of this museum that you can't possibly so it in one day. Plus it's free entry, something not to be sniffed at. Plenty of information regarding the material on display, gave me a brain overload. Very enjoyable day spent here thanks.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mrsadc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ashmolean Museum of Art and Archaeology also viewed

 

Been to Ashmolean Museum of Art and Archaeology? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing