We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for pre-theatre meal”
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Ranked #132 of 634 Restaurants in Oxford
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: This restaurant is just opening. They have spent a lot of money transforming a cheap pub into a restaurant. It is a sister restaurant to The Trout. We enjoyed a lovely meal there with pleasant service.
Witney, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great for pre-theatre meal”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

On a very wet and windy day we needed to have a light lunch before going to the New Theatre. Our choice turned out to be a good on. Although it was busy we were quickly seated. Our sharing anti-pasti platter and drinks arrived quickly, served by very pleasant staff. Although a simple meal it was well presented and very tasty and was plenty for 2 people for a light lunch. It would be good to come in the evening for a longer stay.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    168
    70
    37
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Rude Server Ruined Experience”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I had the Whole Food salad and it was very good. My husband ordered the pork belly and found it "edible." The atmosphere seemed lively but our waitress was downright rude, which left us with an overall bad impression.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank heyjudej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tasty..but what a shame about the dessert !!!”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

If your looking to have a good relaxing drink or meal , pop into the red lion Gloucester st, it's tucked away off George street,
Since its renovation we had not been in so on Saturday 7/12 we went in A quick lunch,But we were greeted warmly at the door and shown to our table we found that it was pleasantly quiet and relaxing most of the tables were full .we ordered an entree of breads olives and oil it was lovely the service was very quick . Wine and beer all very well priced also .
we ordered steak sandwich and
Duck salad . The meals were absolutely fab, very tasty ,the piece of steak was very tender , the duck was cooked to perfection . Thoroughly enjoyed it and highly recommend .
We were asked if we would like dessert and coffee , considering we were now not in a hurry , we ordered lemon & almond cake served with ice cream and two black coffees. All I can say at this moment .when it arrived I was slightly shocked it was to be shared but as you will see it was ridiculously small and for £5.75 I don't think it was worth it .. coffee was good but as far as the cake .... STAY AWAY FROM THE DESSERTS .. The cake tasted like scrambled eggs , it bounced like my dish washing sponge, it tasted awful, the ice -cream was icy and bland .. What a shame .... The waitress took it away and said to us they buy them in they are not home made ... Well I think they need to change that .!!!! Apart from that the food was good great service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amboi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food and good beer”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Went here for a drink in the evening and then returned the following day for lunch. Two local real ales on draught and a good atmosphere and friendly staff in a well renovated pub. Having enjoyed couple of beers on the Saturday night we returned the following day for lunch - probably the best burger that I have had in a long time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,203 reviews
841 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 482 helpful votes
“just in”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

i was just in from paddington on a day visit ,this was my first pub for a drink,they were getting ready for lunch,nice looking pub from the outside but even better inside also a great garden good beers and a good menu,friendly staff did not eat it was to early but next time i am in oxford i will ,well worth the visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesthewedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing