We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still one of their best”

Ask Italian - Oxford
Ranked #100 of 628 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: ASK Italian in Oxford is a place for great food and warm service. Think fresh bread made to tear and share. A glass of fine wine worth deserving of your time. Delicious main dishes prepared the traditional way. Everything we know and love about Italian food is served straight to your table. Take a look at our Oxford menu and, if you like what you see, book a table.
Worcester
Level Contributor
178 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Still one of their best”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Prior to a group outing to Oxford last Sunday, and bearing in mind that there are often queues out of the door at many cafes and restaurants at lunchtime, we decided to take a chance and book for 3 of us at Ask (which has impressed us on previous trips - but, for reason of circumstances, none in the last couple of years) - particularly as it is right in the centre, convenient for shops, museums and colleges. Fortunately all was much as before, with a reserved table close to the door (for 4, which was just as well because we had added a latecomer), pleasant surroundings (if a bit warm), good service and good food (both pizza & pasta as main courses; ice cream, sorbet and crumble as sweets). The only (slight) let down was that we had to point out that their discount voucher (which made it even better value) had not been applied in accordance with their rules - but this was settled quickly and amicably - & I have not deducted any score for this. We will definitely go back again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MAH3862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    112
    52
    26
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
109 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good italian”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Great service, good location and very pleasant staff. Theybran out of prose co which was strange, but rose was ok. Reasonable price.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Khiajosina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good value and very nice food”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Booked a table here for 5.30 pm prior to going to the theatre. Were served quickly and very friendly waiting staff. We had two mains, the meat calzone and the seafood risotto and shared them, no problem with sharing. Two glasses of extremly nice Prosecco. We used Tesco Ask vouchers which meant that our meal came to about £10.00. Excellent value. Would definately go again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison3860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
369 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“OK but could be much better”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

A day in Oxford in winter sunshine. What better place to be? Christmas lights, street musicians, the city bathed in gentle light, and the need to find a place to eat. 'Ask', being part of a National chain has a menu that can be relied on. It makes a stab at being Italian, and has quite a good variety of dishes. Such a pity that the staff seem generally disinterested, and also the food was not as hot as it might have been, well the pasta wasn't, although in fairness the Lasagne, served in pie dishes was. It all felt as if it was too much effort for them. Maybe dealing with tourists every day, or students, takes the edge of their enthusiasm, but it detracted somewhat from what might have been a more pleasurable experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frankart_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place to go for a meal”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We visited this Italian restaurant last Saturday. The food was delicious (pasta with seafood). The service was quite slow but it was also very busy. Guests were waiting outside so the restaurant seems to be very popular.
I would definitely visit this restaurant again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lydiavv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ask Italian - Oxford also viewed

 

Been to Ask Italian - Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing