We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well kept secret”

Christ Church Picture Gallery
Ranked #77 of 177 things to do in Oxford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Art gallery based at Christ Church College, Oxford University, contains an impressive collection of Old Masters paintings and drawing, with an emphasis on Italian art from the 14th to the 18th century.The internationally renowned drawings collection in the Picture Gallery at Christ Church is regarded as one of the most important private collections of Old Master drawings in the country and includes work by the masters; Leonardo, Michelangelo, Dürer, Raphael and Rubens. For reasons of conservation the entire drawings collection cannot be permanently on show, but a selection of drawings is always on view. These small in-house exhibitions are changed about every three months to enable the public to see a varied selection from this part of the collection.Please refer to website for opening hours.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well kept secret”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

A really interesting art collection, little known and visited.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank LSM416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
oxford
Level Contributor
115 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Lesser known but fascinating”
Reviewed December 5, 2011

A wonderful collection - a mini National Gallery from Icons to Contemporary well worth finding time for and you get a peep at some of Christ Church too

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank OxfordWaxlyrical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york england
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Understated but great to see”
Reviewed December 5, 2011

A quiet, reflective picture gallery - masses to see and kind helpful staff

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank yorkrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great works of art”
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We we visited, a transition of exhibits was occurring, so we didn't see some of there more famous pictures. None the less, very much a bargain for the few schillings entrance fee.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank SouthBay_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Worth seeing”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We enjoyed our visit here. It was an extra charge once we were in Christ Church College, but worth it to see their collection. We stayed about 30 minutes. I don't have any pictures to post because you cannot take pictures in the gallery. There was a very small gift shop with cards.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank haveticketwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christ Church Picture Gallery also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Christ Church Picture Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing